Author Topic: Canon 700D / T5i  (Read 948260 times)

ItsMeLenny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 928
  • 550D
Re: 180 degree Shutter Question
« Reply #200 on: February 23, 2014, 05:28:41 AM »
Are you using FPS override?

ThankMeLater

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: 180 degree Shutter Question
« Reply #201 on: February 23, 2014, 10:20:08 AM »
Hey,

thanks for your reply.
No im not using fps-override. Im right now using the ML Defaults. Havent changed anything.

Should i use it ?

sarotaz

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: 180 degree Shutter Question
« Reply #202 on: February 23, 2014, 11:04:22 AM »
It's strange. The correct shutter angle with 1/25 frame interval (25 fps) and 1/50 exposure is 180° according this:

Shutter Angle = (exposure Time/frame interval) * 360

BASSPRO

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #203 on: February 23, 2014, 11:20:25 AM »
Help me please ! Is this a 700D ML bug or am i just too dumb to understand it ?
I got 25fps pal video mode. Then i go to Magic lantern Menu. I adjust the shutter to 1/50 and get 162 degree shutter.

-> I adjust the shutter to 1/45 and get 179 degree shutter.

How is this possible ? i thought 2 * fps is the 180 degree shutter.

Pictures :



I just dont know what to choose now. 1/50 because people say this should be the 180 degree shuter, or 1/45 because ML tells me its 180 degree.

thanks in advance and best wishes,
thankmelater


ThankMeLater

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: 180 degree Shutter Question
« Reply #204 on: February 23, 2014, 11:31:38 AM »
thats what i thought.
now im wondering if the shutter angle is not displayed correctly or the shutter speed is displayed wrong.

in my position, would you still choose the 1/50 exposure ( even though it shows a wrong angle )
or choose the 1/45 ( as it shows almost 180 )

In first place id like to find a solution of course but i have to film something today and have to decide right now.


a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: 180 degree Shutter Question
« Reply #205 on: February 23, 2014, 11:35:32 AM »
What camera?

On 5D3 it prints 1/50, 180.

ThankMeLater

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: 180 degree Shutter Question
« Reply #206 on: February 23, 2014, 11:39:38 AM »
Hey Alex,

its a T5i / 700D

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: 180 degree Shutter Question
« Reply #207 on: February 23, 2014, 11:47:18 AM »
1) does it recognize Canon FPS?

If you select 24 it should print 23.976, if you select 25 it should print 25.000, 30 should be 29.970, 60 should be 59.940 and 50 should be 50.000. Check all of them.

2) does it recognize Canon shutter speed?

In PAL 1/50 it should be 1/50.00. In PAL 1/30 it should be 1/33.333. Check the exact values Movie -> Image Finetuning -> Shutter fine-tuning.

This being a new port, I doubt anybody checked these things (and I don't remember anyone else reporting them).

ThankMeLater

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #208 on: February 24, 2014, 02:09:24 AM »
Hey Alex,
thanks for your help and sorry for writing back that late.

Quote
Check the exact values Movie -> Image Finetuning -> Shutter fine-tuning.

Here a picture of what I see, opening this window :



If this is not where the canon fps and the canon shutter are suppose to be printed, i dont know where else to check this ?
I checked every single menu point and did not find anything.



Utzelbrutz

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #209 on: February 25, 2014, 09:16:25 AM »
I would like to change the code to 700D.113 by myself but there are so many files and versions.
Which data/files do i exactly need?
The upgrade from 111 to 113 was only a bugfix. Nothing else has changed.
I can't believe that it's such a big deal to upgrade ML aswell.
Maybe one of the devs? Please?

dmilligan

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3218
  • 60Da / 1100D / EOSM
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #210 on: February 25, 2014, 01:55:57 PM »
I would like to change the code to 700D.113 by myself but there are so many files and versions.
Which data/files do i exactly need?
It's more complicated than you think. Do you have the compiler setup already?

The upgrade from 111 to 113 was only a bugfix. Nothing else has changed.
I can't believe that it's such a big deal to upgrade ML aswell.
ML works by calling Canon code, which is code we know nothing about. Basically we find a bunch of memory addresses that appear to be functions and appear to work a certain way based on reverse engineering analysis. These addresses are then hardcoded into ML for each and every camera/fw version and given names based on what we think they do. Even something as small as Canon changing one character in one string literal in the fw could cause all of these function addresses to be shifted around and not where we expect (which would mean ML would completely fail to work correctly and probably brick the camera).

mk11174 has already more or less completed the process of finding the new function stubs, so it sounds like it won't be long, so just sit tight and wait for this to be finished
I ported all the stubs for it, but that are being checked first to make sure there correct. I don't exactly know who creates the bootloader FIR file though, I can compile and get the autoexec.bin when all is tested and ready for compiling, but will be useless with out the bootloader, so I hope I don't have to do that part because I am not sure how this is created. Hopefully the stubs are correct so at least you guys with the newer FW will be able to make use of ML. I still have the 1.1.1 FW so I am using ML already but don't want to upgrade to 1.1.3 till ML is able to load on it because theres no FW I can use to go back to 1.1.1. So good thing there was a volunteer to send his dump out to get things going. Best of luck, I will be glad to help out in any way to keep this 1.1.3 port moving forward.

Utzelbrutz

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #211 on: February 25, 2014, 02:51:17 PM »
Oh, ok. Thanks for the info. Didn't know that it is so hard.
I think i'll wait for the pros to fix it  8)
Again. Thank you for your amazing work. Really nice "project".

ThankMeLater

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #212 on: February 25, 2014, 02:58:44 PM »
Can nobody help me with my shutter problem ?   :(
I just downloaded older alpha builds but still the same problem.
Using 50 fps magic lantern tells me, the 180 degree angle is at 1/88 shutter speed  >:( whereas 1/96 is 162 degree .

How is it possible that I´m the only one having this problem. I did not change anything in my settings. I even reseted the canon settings to default.


Is it possible that my camera is broken ? its pretty new, though.

I uploaded a video of my problem on youtube [ USING 1080 25 FPS ] :

TAB

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #213 on: February 25, 2014, 05:38:44 PM »
Ok, after trial and error debugging with Glassescreditsroll, I came up with a good temp solution for fulltime meters that works exactly the same on the 650d and 700d https://bitbucket.org/mk11174/t5i/downloads/ML_700D_Meters_Jan_30_2014.zip


The primary feature I need is the audio meters. Should I use this version mk11174 linked above, or are audio meters available yet on the general nightly build here: http://builds.magiclantern.fm/#/

It would be really great if there was a file attached to the nightly builds that listed which features are fully operational, and which are still in progress (or is there, and I just don't know where to look?).

Thanks guys, you are wizards for making this possible.

dmilligan

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3218
  • 60Da / 1100D / EOSM
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #214 on: February 25, 2014, 05:40:52 PM »
Perhaps try clicking on the word Features in that link you posted

TAB

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #215 on: February 25, 2014, 05:52:42 PM »
Perhaps try clicking on the word Features in that link you posted

Derp, thank you.

krisdeak

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #216 on: February 26, 2014, 12:30:55 AM »
Thanks guys for the amazing developments.

I'm currently torn between buying a 700D or a 600D and I need to ask you guys a few quick questions:
The arguments for the 600D would be the fantastic Tragic Lantern bitrate control features (ALL-I etc) and the built in 3x crop mode for video.

Is it possible to have the same advanced bitrate control features on the 700D as well? If not, what's available and what's likely to be ported at some point?
Is the 'crop mode hack' similar to the 600D & delivering the same moire-free quality in a stable manner, in h.264 recording too?

Your advice is hugely appreciated.

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #217 on: February 26, 2014, 01:30:27 PM »
Can nobody help me with my shutter problem ?   :(
I just downloaded older alpha builds but still the same problem.
Using 50 fps magic lantern tells me, the 180 degree angle is at 1/88 shutter speed  >:( whereas 1/96 is 162 degree .

How is it possible that I´m the only one having this problem. I did not change anything in my settings. I even reseted the canon settings to default.


Is it possible that my camera is broken ? its pretty new, though.

I uploaded a video of my problem on youtube [ USING 1080 25 FPS ] :
Not sure what is up, something with fps is off too at least just with ML.
If I set to 60P in Canon, FPS Override shows for Exact FPS
60p Canon = Desired from 54 and Actual FPS 54.993
24p Canon = Desired from 22 and Actual FPS 21.993
30p Canon = Desired from 27 and Actual FPS 27.496

As for shutter speeds, certain ones are correct. In Photo Mode no Live view, just to give an idea, probably not needed for me to give all this data, but just to be detailed.
30" Canon = 32" ML
25" Canon = 25" ML
20" Canon = 21" ML
15" Canon = 16" ML
13" Canon = 13" ML
10" Canon = 11" ML
8" Canon = 8" ML
6" Canon = 6" ML
5" Canon = 5" ML
4" Canon = 4" ML
3"2 Canon = 3.2" ML
2"5 Canon = 2.7" ML
2" Canon = 2" ML
1"6 Canon = 1.6" ML
1"3 Canon = 1.3" ML
1" Canon = 1" ML
0"8 Canon = 0.8" ML
0"6 Canon = 0.7" ML
0"5 Canon = 0.5" ML
0"4 Canon = 0.4" ML
0"3 Canon = 1/3 ML
1/4 Canon = 1/4 ML
1/5 Canon = 1/5 ML
1/6 Canon = 1/6 ML
1/8 Canon = 1/8 ML
1/10 Canon = 1/10 ML
1/13 Canon = 1/12 ML
1/15 Canon = 1/16 ML
1/20 Canon = 1/20 ML
1/25 Canon = 1/24 ML
1/30 Canon = 1/31 ML
1/40 Canon = 1/41 ML
1/50 Canon = 1/48 ML
1/60 Canon = 1/63 ML
1/80 Canon = 1/81 ML
1/100 Canon = 1/96 ML
1/125 Canon = 1/130 ML
1/160 Canon = 1/160 ML
1/200 Canon = 1/190 ML
1/250 Canon = 1/250 ML
1/320 Canon = 1/320 ML
1/400 Canon = 1/390 ML
1/500 Canon = 1/500 ML
1/640 Canon = 1/650 ML
1/800 Canon = 1/770 ML
1/1000 Canon = 1/1000 ML
1/1250 Canon = 1/1300 ML
1/1600 Canon = 1/1500 ML
1/2000 Canon = 1/2000 ML
1/2500 Canon = 1/2600 ML
1/3200 Canon = 1/3100 ML
1/4000 Canon = 1/4000 ML
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #218 on: February 26, 2014, 01:41:21 PM »
Okay, so TG_FREQ_BASE from fps-engio.c is wrong. Tell me the raw values (timer A and timer B) for all LiveView modes (photo, x5 zoom, all video modes and whatever else you may find).

In photo mode, shutter speed is not computed from video timers (so obviously it's correct). I'm interested in shutter speeds from video mode.

The other constants are found mostly by trial and error (TG_FREQ_*_SHUTTER are for displaying the correct shutter speed; FPS_TIMER_A_MIN and FPS_TIMER_B_MIN are safety limits, that is, make sure you get correct image when you ask for 70fps in all possible modes).

dmilligan

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3218
  • 60Da / 1100D / EOSM
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #219 on: February 26, 2014, 01:52:01 PM »
As for shutter speeds, certain ones are correct. In Photo Mode no Live view, just to give an idea, probably not needed for me to give all this data, but just to be detailed.
http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/10333997

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #220 on: February 26, 2014, 02:08:13 PM »
Okay, so TG_FREQ_BASE from fps-engio.c is wrong. Tell me the raw values (timer A and timer B) for all LiveView modes (photo, x5 zoom, all video modes and whatever else you may find).

In photo mode, shutter speed is not computed from video timers (so obviously it's correct). I'm interested in shutter speeds from video mode.

The other constants are found mostly by trial and error (TG_FREQ_*_SHUTTER are for displaying the correct shutter speed; FPS_TIMER_A_MIN and FPS_TIMER_B_MIN are safety limits, that is, make sure you get correct image when you ask for 70fps in all possible modes).
Photo Mode Live View
Timer A 528(+0)
Timer B 1011(+0)
Actual 53.951

Photo Mode Live View Zoom
Timer A 716(+0)
Timer B 1492(+0)
Actual 26.959

1280x720@60P
Timer A 528(+0)
Timer B 1011(+0)
Actual 53.951

1280x720@60P Zoom
Timer A 716(+0)
Timer B 1492(+0)
Actual 26.959

1920x1080@30P
Timer A 528(+0)
Timer B 2022(+0)
Actual 26.975

1920x1080@30P Zoom
Timer A 716(+0)
Timer B 1492(+0)
Actual 26.959

1920x1080@24P
Timer A 528(+0)
Timer B 2528(+0)
Actual 21.576

1920x1080@24P Zoom
Timer A 716(+0)
Timer B 1492(+0)
Actual 26.959

640x480@30P
Timer A 528(+0)
Timer B 2022(+0)
Actual 26.975

640x480@30P Zoom
Timer A 716(+0)
Timer B 1492(+0)
Actual 26.959


500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #221 on: February 26, 2014, 02:11:25 PM »
These values were with FPS override enabled, right? Can you post the values without any override? (I'm interested in the default timer values, not modified ones).

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #222 on: February 26, 2014, 02:17:13 PM »
These values were with FPS override enabled, right? Can you post the values without any override? (I'm interested in the default timer values, not modified ones).
Ah, ok, sorry, and by the way, I noticed there is no define for 700D in fps_engio, so I used the define for 650D and FPS reads correctly. But I can still get the readings if needed?
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #223 on: February 26, 2014, 02:24:44 PM »
If I set to 60P in Canon, FPS Override shows for Exact FPS
60p Canon = Desired from 54 and Actual FPS 54.993
24p Canon = Desired from 22 and Actual FPS 21.993
30p Canon = Desired from 27 and Actual FPS 27.496

If you select 24 it should print 23.976, if you select 25 it should print 25.000, 30 should be 29.970, 60 should be 59.940 and 50 should be 50.000.

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #224 on: February 26, 2014, 02:28:30 PM »
These values were with FPS override enabled, right? Can you post the values without any override? (I'm interested in the default timer values, not modified ones).
I updated my post above with non modified FPS and dont worry, I was not using the 650D define in fps_engio, I set it back to the way it was with no define for 700D
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i