Author Topic: RAW VIDEO 5D MARK III + Monitoring HDMI  (Read 8151 times)

info@actionstudio.re

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
RAW VIDEO 5D MARK III + Monitoring HDMI
« on: May 31, 2013, 06:43:57 AM »
Equipement & Config :
EOS 5D MARK III with Magic Lantern May 30th(1729277)

When i record RAW video with an HDMI monitoring, the white area who limit the RAW isn't center on the screen ... But, when i play the RAW, the record is OK ...

Someone have the same problem ?

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1250
Re: RAW VIDEO 5D MARK III + Monitoring HDMI
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2013, 07:09:12 AM »
I'm using the MkII and I have the same problem.

Question for you, can you play or review raw video with HDMI cable and monitor attached to your camera?

On the mkII with a SWIT hd monitor the camera hangs with ERR 70.
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

siebenmorgen

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: RAW VIDEO 5D MARK III + Monitoring HDMI
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2013, 10:50:32 AM »
Same as here on the Canon 5D Mark II and the Zacuto viewfinder.

info@actionstudio.re

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: RAW VIDEO 5D MARK III + Monitoring HDMI
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2013, 03:26:01 PM »
I can't play RAW with HDMI monitor. I should unplug the monitor & play on the 5D screen ...

When i play RAW, the DSLR freeze ...

Sometimes, the liveview freeze when i use HDMI monitor, but audiometer etc (globaldraw) still OK ...

There is something wrong with magic lantern & HDMI monitoring ... I should use my LCD viewfinder !!!

avasarin

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: RAW VIDEO 5D MARK III + Monitoring HDMI
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2013, 10:55:25 AM »
Same problem here. I have to test it, because I don't know if just the EVF image is on the left of the screen but the record area still remain on the center of the sensor or not. Because if this happens you can't monitoring it properly!
5dmk2 - Nikkor set(20-28-35-50-105mm), Vivitar 85-105 - BMPCC
http://www.frabiatofilm.com
https://www.facebook.com/stringssenzatempo

guentergunter

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • 5D2
Re: RAW VIDEO 5D MARK III + Monitoring HDMI
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2013, 11:11:55 PM »
Everyone experiencing wrong framing on HDMI can now vote for this issue to be solved:
https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/issue/1582/crop-bars-for-external-smallhd-oled-7-7
5D2 ML RAW + VAF-5D2b:

gybra

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: RAW VIDEO 5D MARK III + Monitoring HDMI
« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2013, 11:47:01 AM »
Question about when recording with an external monitor on the 5d mark 3.

1) When you press the record button does the monitor turn off and on and then show the image being recorded on the external monitor? Kind of like a delay.

2) Also, is there a way to turn off the LCD on the 5D Mark 3 and just use the external monitor to prevent the camera from heating up?

_DK_

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: RAW VIDEO 5D MARK III + Monitoring HDMI
« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2013, 10:06:27 PM »
I can't properly record RAW video with a monitor on my 650d due to wrong framing, just like 5D users. But there is no problem with playback, for me.

Question to the people with the problem: Can you use focus peaking properly? I get weird issues with a Monitor and this feature too.


@gybra: The first thing also happens on my 650d.
EOS 650D, 17-50 2.8, Nifty Fifty, Tamron 70-300mm
Sorry if my English is a little bad as I am not a native speaker

alcet

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: RAW VIDEO 5D MARK III + Monitoring HDMI
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2019, 09:18:33 PM »
I have Canon 5D mark 3.
I  use downgrade 1.1.3 Firmware version.
I have installed Magic Lantern.
No display on the screen of camera when I plug in the HDMI cable
what are the settings for HDMI out for  raw video?  It may be 1080p or else resolution out
is it possible?
thank you for your sharing information

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7013
Re: RAW VIDEO 5D MARK III + Monitoring HDMI
« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2020, 03:38:49 AM »
No display on the screen of camera when I plug in the HDMI cable
Dual monitor support introduced with firmware 1.2.3 (or 1.2.1).

what are the settings for HDMI out for  raw video?
? Please specify your request.

It may be 1080p or else resolution out
1080 it is.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

tomcarrolls

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: RAW VIDEO 5D MARK III + Monitoring HDMI
« Reply #10 on: February 09, 2020, 07:21:18 PM »
I get screen tearing purple artifacts (whatever it's called) when I record using a live external monitor: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ijDakNgj66t5jPWaaaI2wCg5DEqXyoaF/view?usp=sharing

tomcarrolls

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: RAW VIDEO 5D MARK III + Monitoring HDMI
« Reply #11 on: February 09, 2020, 08:14:17 PM »
Okay so I figured out three solutions. You can turn off Global Draw altogether, then it records fine with an external monitor. You can also turn off Focus Peaking on the monitor, but leave on global draw. You can also leave on global draw AND focus peaking, as long as focus peaking is set to Low, and not High. Basically focus peaking being set to High seems to have been the problem for me.

I have a Desview external monitor btw. And I'm recording 10 bit 1080p rewire RAW. Hope this helps someone!

tomcarrolls

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: RAW VIDEO 5D MARK III + Monitoring HDMI
« Reply #12 on: February 09, 2020, 08:23:43 PM »
Actually scratch that last post. It seems like turning off Global Draw in ML is the only way to get smooth video on my external monitor. (Desview brand).

tomcarrolls

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: RAW VIDEO 5D MARK III + Monitoring HDMI
« Reply #13 on: February 09, 2020, 09:20:16 PM »
Alright, actually what got it to work for me was switching in camera Canon menu FPS to 24.