Copying ML to the flashcard...

Started by JosRi, May 28, 2013, 12:34:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JosRi

Hi,
I'm new to ML, and I have this question:
Since my computer has NO slot for my ScanDisk card (in my D60), I would like to know if it is harmful to copy the ML software directly onto the card while it sits in my camera.
When I hook up the camera to my computer thru the USB cable, I can see the ScanDisk as an external drive, complete with all the folders taht are on it (i.e. DCIM and MISC), so I can copy any software directly from my computer to the card.
But is this allowed for the correct installation of ML at all?

Thanks,
Jos Richters

Stedda

You need a card reader. It's not a good idea to transfer that way.

Take a minute to read any one of the many best practices/how to threads or the wiki guide.
5D Mark III -- 7D   SOLD -- EOS M 22mm 18-55mm STM -- Fuji X-T1 18-55 F2.8-F4 & 35 F1.4
Canon Glass   100L F2.8 IS -- 70-200L F4 -- 135L F2 -- 85 F1.8 -- 17-40L --  40 F2.8 -- 35 F2 IS  Sigma Glass  120-300 F2.8 OS -- 50 F1.4 -- 85 F1.4  Tamron Glass   24-70 2.8 VC   600EX-RT X3

JosRi

So what does the cardreader that the copy-paste doesn't do?

As far as I can tell the only thing to do is to copy the installation files onto the card in order to get the installation process in the camera running. Am I right?

Thanks,
Jos

JosRi

Yeah..... I figured that out ;)
But why can't I use the ordinary Windows copy->paste way?

Other question:
Canon has an EOS function that enables me to upgrade the firmware thru the USB connection. I just did that sucessfully.

Can I install ML the same way?

Thanks,
Jos

Audionut

http://wiki.magiclantern.fm/install

QuoteFormat the card in the camera (low-level format).
    Unzip all of the files from Magic Lantern zip archive to the root of your card.
    Launch the Firmware Update process.