Author Topic: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!  (Read 1034210 times)

bjacklee

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #875 on: August 12, 2013, 01:37:32 PM »
Dual iso, it's hardware related, dual amp only on 5DmarkIII and 7D. Read the PDF alex made.

Ohh I see... thanks for the info.. :)

mcnys

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #876 on: August 12, 2013, 01:56:52 PM »
today i'm going to try record some raw video on 60d, so i need some information...

i will use my fastest card that i have for this, will install ml on it (which version is best for 60d raw at the moment?).
i will set my camera to s3, global draw off, and choose resolution (which one is the best?), i will then expose my image slightly to the right (ettr)...and that should do it?

From China

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #877 on: August 12, 2013, 06:24:56 PM »
To try´╝îmore and more
then you`ll find it

PaulC

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • 60D
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #878 on: August 13, 2013, 11:03:37 PM »
Hey guys,

So I've been following the development of raw video on the 60D for quite a while now. It looks like things are really starting to look good!

I was just wondering (and I hope this is the right place) how close we are to seeing an official stable release of raw video for the 60D? I realise that it takes a lot of time to perfect something like this.

Thanks, and keep up the awesome work you are all doing!
Canon EOS 60D - (Canon 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6, Helios 44M 58mm f/2)

tool

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #879 on: August 14, 2013, 12:53:04 AM »
Pink frames ruined many shots:
https://app.box.com/s/k1xm5g6w2unserhygqrr

Direct Sunlight and no IS.

iamoui

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #880 on: August 14, 2013, 01:37:48 AM »
Pink frames ruined many shots:
https://app.box.com/s/k1xm5g6w2unserhygqrr

Direct Sunlight and no IS.

Yep, I've been getting more random pink frames than with earlier builds, too...

Other than that (and minus the shake) the footage looks great! What lens were you using? Any filtration? Raw settings? What was your post workflow?

iamoui

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #881 on: August 14, 2013, 01:39:35 AM »
Hey guys,

So I've been following the development of raw video on the 60D for quite a while now. It looks like things are really starting to look good!

I was just wondering (and I hope this is the right place) how close we are to seeing an official stable release of raw video for the 60D? I realise that it takes a lot of time to perfect something like this.

Thanks, and keep up the awesome work you are all doing!

What do you mean by "really starting to look good?"

I wouldn't get your hopes up for a stable release of the 60D any time soon. It has a hardware limitation of 20.6 MB/s (or something like that) so full HD recording is not possible.

filmkid1080

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #882 on: August 14, 2013, 02:33:37 AM »
ok so I dont understand how you change the resolution of the frame... all I get is 69 frames(maybe its my card). I downloaded a nightly build from a month ago and the raw module. Did I download the wrong one?

tool

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #883 on: August 14, 2013, 07:46:42 PM »
Yep, I've been getting more random pink frames than with earlier builds, too...

Other than that (and minus the shake) the footage looks great! What lens were you using? Any filtration? Raw settings? What was your post workflow?

Shot above heads with Manfrotto 190XPROB + Triopo B3 ballhead, with the 3 legs and central column extended and acting like a monopod (3 legs bad decission, one leg would be better)  Canon 60D + Canon 70-200 F4L Without filters (no UV, nothing, bare lanse), lense hood on, Facing sun. ISO 100 (I think), f11, shutter 1/1000 25fps. I'm not used to shoot fast action on video mode, later at iso 100 and 1/50 too much blur for motocross freestyle.

Workflow --- RawMagic -- AfterEffects-- ProRes 4.2.2 ---> HandBrake 20mbit x264. I'm used to edit raw on Lightroom, don't like Camera raw. Just a few corrections at camera raw, shadows highlighs and contrast.

PaulC

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • 60D
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #884 on: August 14, 2013, 08:10:16 PM »
What do you mean by "really starting to look good?"

I wouldn't get your hopes up for a stable release of the 60D any time soon. It has a hardware limitation of 20.6 MB/s (or something like that) so full HD recording is not possible.

I just mean that the resolutions people are squeezing out are good enough to work with. Each little improvement is nice to see.

I'm aware that we'll not get full HD recording, but even lower resoultions, when up-scaled, are far better than H.264.
Canon EOS 60D - (Canon 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6, Helios 44M 58mm f/2)

Aeryk

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #885 on: August 16, 2013, 04:52:38 PM »
Does everyone on this thread use a Mac?

Can

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #886 on: August 16, 2013, 05:46:41 PM »
Does everyone on this thread use a Mac?

I use a PC - why do you ask?

Aeryk

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #887 on: August 16, 2013, 05:59:54 PM »
I use a PC - why do you ask?

because with Rawmagic and such it seems like the Mac workflow is only getting easier and more streamline. I asked if there was such a thing for Windows/PC and wasn't even acknowledged. I was just wondering if I was the only Windows user in a land of Mac.

filmkid1080

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #888 on: August 16, 2013, 06:19:59 PM »
ok can someone do a tutorial on how to put the right firmware on the 60d? please? Im pretty positive I have the wrong firmeware on it and I dont understand how I can even shoot a few seconds of raw video.

superkvas

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #889 on: August 16, 2013, 06:28:36 PM »
Hi everyone!
This is my RAW video.
All footage created via raw2dng ProRess


Bioskop.Inc

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #890 on: August 16, 2013, 07:03:31 PM »
I asked if there was such a thing for Windows/PC and wasn't even acknowledged. I was just wondering if I was the only Windows user in a land of Mac.
It does help if you try & look through the forum, but I think you should be looking here:
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5557.0

ok can someone do a tutorial on how to put the right firmware on the 60d? please? Im pretty positive I have the wrong firmeware on it and I dont understand how I can even shoot a few seconds of raw video.
Right, you basically install the unified ML build v2.3.
Then you can download the latest Nightly Build or go through this thread to find a custom build by Marekk (there's one with LV_AF_RAW which will cut out the hot pixels).
You replace the AUTOEXEC.BIN in the root of the card & then the ML folder (if the RAW version only has a MODULE folder then put this in the ML folder).
Once you put the SD card back into the camera, go into ML & go to the MODULES section & Load the modules.
In video mode change the Pic Quality (in Canon Menu) to S2.
Go to MOVIE menu in ML & turn on RAW VIDEO - go into the sub-menu & choose a resolution (max starts with 1728x?)
When recording, turn off GLOBAL DRAW.

Aeryk

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #891 on: August 16, 2013, 07:07:39 PM »
It does help if you try & look through the forum

I've looked through just about every thread that seemed even remotely relevant. But I'll keep looking, thanks.

filmkid1080

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #892 on: August 17, 2013, 01:36:13 AM »
d

filmkid1080

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #893 on: August 17, 2013, 04:21:23 AM »
so how do you get rid of the dead pixel looking things...and the frame skipping?

raffal92

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #894 on: August 20, 2013, 01:28:26 AM »
i have a lot of bad pixels.... they are always the same, but they dont appear always... is there a solution?


vovaja

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #895 on: August 20, 2013, 06:04:22 AM »
the use of raw video, spoiled whether the matrix camera? raw video makes hot pixels?
canon 60D, hellios-44-2,canon 28-135mm

Bioskop.Inc

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #896 on: August 20, 2013, 10:24:05 AM »
so how do you get rid of the dead pixel looking things...and the frame skipping?
i have a lot of bad pixels.... they are always the same, but they dont appear always... is there a solution?

Use this build by Marekk & in the RAW sub-menu turn on LV_AF_RAW - it does get rid of them, but is not ideal.
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B-HdscXfsKpgbTJiT18tcS1ldjA/edit?usp=sharing

However, you can get rid of them if you use Photoshop's raw converter & there are other Free programs out there like RPP or RAWTherapee that can do this too.

raffal92

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #897 on: August 20, 2013, 04:53:35 PM »
Wow this build solved my problem.... i'll do some other test but it really solves the problem...
This is one of the first test i did with the last release i used, in some shoots you can see bad pixel
 
I'm really impressed how ml raw manages shadows, no compression artifacts only the shadow... it's very awesome...

i can get 8s 208f with sandisk 45mbs the same with 95mbs version

Burni_

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #898 on: August 21, 2013, 02:19:05 AM »
Wow this build solved my problem.... i'll do some other test but it really solves the problem...
This is one of the first test i did with the last release i used, in some shoots you can see bad pixel
 
I'm really impressed how ml raw manages shadows, no compression artifacts only the shadow... it's very awesome...

i can get 8s 208f with sandisk 45mbs the same with 95mbs version

You get 208 frames in 1728 x 972? Can you say more about how did you achieve that? it's like 8 seconds and something and so far I haven't heard of anyone getting more than 4.3 seconds on a 60D? Good job btw! :)

larrycafe

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #899 on: August 21, 2013, 10:55:26 AM »
You get 208 frames in 1728 x 972? Can you say more about how did you achieve that? it's like 8 seconds and something and so far I haven't heard of anyone getting more than 4.3 seconds on a 60D? Good job btw! :)

From the youtube description, it is 1728 X 736 (2.35:1)