Author Topic: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!  (Read 815298 times)

payne

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #50 on: May 25, 2013, 10:02:12 AM »
My results from tonight's test:

60D from 2011. Nightly Build. Transcend Class 10 card.

I am getting 1720x968p for 2.66 seconds. (occasionally some test files will not open in after effects (after raw2dng). Most have.
I am getting 1600x900p for 3.12 seconds. (Note: no real aliasing found on 1600x900p. I may use this mode more if tests prove this. Still WAAAY more resolution that the H264 1080p in camera file.

1720x968 is very close to 1080p quality but there is a lot of aliasing. 1600x900p seems to be more stable. I will shoot some home movie tests tomorrow.

HUGE HUGE improvement over in-camera quality. Hopefully they can find ways to keep improving. I'm off to bed. I'll shoot more tests tomorrow.

JamesPemberton

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #51 on: May 25, 2013, 11:33:35 AM »
OK so I've been messing about with this today this is what I got.

Sandisk Extreme 16GB Class 10 45 MB/s writes at 20.1/20.9 MB/s

1734x976 - 23.976 FPS - 91 Frames proximately 3.7 seconds @ 20.1 MB/s - Ratio 16:9
1280x720 - 23.976 FPS - 227 Frames proximately 9.4 seconds @ 20.7 MB/s - Ratio 16:9
1280x544 - 23.976 FPS - 525 Frames proximately 21.8 seconds @ 20.1 MB/s - Ratio 2.35:1

Highest FPS of three tests of each resolution in a row.

Ran through raw2dng.exe, Imported into Adobe Afte Effects

1734x976 - Couldn't parse file into AE
1280x720 - Could parse file into AE
1280x544 - Could parse file into AE

Here's a short video of the 1280x544 RAW at work just so you know it works, kangaroo plant. Interesting subject I tell you ;).


So yeah, exciting stuff, we'll see if this goes any where.

Awesome work :D

marekk

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • www.oddajmisie.com
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #52 on: May 25, 2013, 11:49:24 AM »
James, could you run normal nightly build, go to 1080p movie mode and run silent burst ? I would like to see size of your memory..

cobyalon

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #53 on: May 25, 2013, 12:14:28 PM »
hi there, i have a question..

when you rendering your raw in AE you compress the video to h.264? or something else?

thanks

JamesPemberton

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #54 on: May 25, 2013, 12:20:06 PM »
James, could you run normal nightly build, go to 1080p movie mode and run silent burst ? I would like to see size of your memory..

Can do, think I've done it correctly (first time doing this) I got 52 Images at 1734x1156 before it stopped. If you need any more info just let me know and with a little guidance I can do it.

JamesPemberton

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #55 on: May 25, 2013, 12:23:33 PM »
hi there, i have a question..

when you rendering your raw in AE you compress the video to h.264? or something else?

thanks

Yeah just H.264 with a VBR of 10, I just shot the RAW into AE then out to H.264 and straight onto Youtube.

marekk

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • www.oddajmisie.com
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #56 on: May 25, 2013, 12:36:14 PM »
Thanks !

It looks like your sd card is much faster than my sandisk ultra 64GB.. I've got only 199 frames on 1280x544.


Can do, think I've done it correctly (first time doing this) I got 52 Images at 1734x1156 before it stopped. If you need any more info just let me know and with a little guidance I can do it.

JamesPemberton

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #57 on: May 25, 2013, 12:43:14 PM »
Glad I could be of help!

Got them for about $25 ea from eBay if my memory serves me correctly, SD cards seem to be very unruly in terms of read and write speeds. Would having a smaller card size have anything to do with it? Just out of curiosity.

Thanks !

It looks like your sd card is much faster than my sandisk ultra 64GB.. I've got only 199 frames on 1280x544.

Bioskop.Inc

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #58 on: May 25, 2013, 12:54:00 PM »
So this is what i'm getting - i kept everything the same from last night.
Recorded @ 1080p using 3:2 (for Anamorphic testing):

1734x1156=95(94) frames
1720x1146=95(94)
1600x1066=113(112)
1440x960=160
1320x880=212
1280x854=226
960x640=1140
720x480=It kept going & i stopped recording @2741.

For each recording it said that it dropped/skipped 1 Frame.

Everything unpacked nicely last night, so don't see any problems for today.
Will post footage later.

marekk

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • www.oddajmisie.com
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #59 on: May 25, 2013, 12:59:07 PM »
What type of sd card are you using ?

So this is what i'm getting - i kept everything the same from last night.
Recorded @ 1080p using 3:2 (for Anamorphic testing):

1734x1156=95 frames
1720x1146=95
1600x1066=113
1440x960=160
1320x880=212
1280x854=226
960x640=1140
720x480=It kept going & i stopped recording.

For each recording it said that it dropped/skipped 1 Frame.
And when unpacking with Raw2DNG it also skips another frame (so subtract 1 from numbers above).

Everything unpacked nicely last night, so don't see any problems for today.
Will post footage later.

marekk

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • www.oddajmisie.com
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #60 on: May 25, 2013, 01:01:16 PM »
I think so..

Would having a smaller card size have anything to do with it? Just out of curiosity.

Bioskop.Inc

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #61 on: May 25, 2013, 01:04:11 PM »
I'm using a Sandisk Extreme Pro 8GB SDHC 1 45MB/s (the new ones are 95MB/s i think).

I'll also try with some of my Transcend 16GB SDHC class 10 cards to see if there's a difference.

Bioskop.Inc

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #62 on: May 25, 2013, 01:20:24 PM »
Can't unpack the 1734x1156 frames - but this wasn't a surprise as in the ML RAW menu it actually stated that it was @1880x?

WARNING!
My camera just bricked!
Luckily, i had another card with a stable version of ML on it & that brought it back to life.

Make sure that you have a spare card with a stable version of ML on it just in case!

marekk

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • www.oddajmisie.com
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #63 on: May 25, 2013, 01:31:27 PM »
change to 1720 or 1600 and it works.

1734x976 - Couldn't parse file into AE

marekk

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • www.oddajmisie.com
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #64 on: May 25, 2013, 01:32:28 PM »
Are you using first version of autoexec.bin or second (with more features enabled) ?

WARNING!
My camera just bricked!
Luckily, i had another card with a stable version of ML on it & that brought it back to life.
Make sure that you have a spare card with a stable version of ML on it just in case!

Bioskop.Inc

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #65 on: May 25, 2013, 01:38:44 PM »
The second, but all is fine now - for the moment.

I came back from downloading the files off the SD card, put it back in & nothing.
I changed the battery & nothing.
I changed the SD card with a stable version of ML & it went back to normal.
Put the RAW record card back in & no problems so far.

bhursey

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #66 on: May 25, 2013, 01:56:44 PM »
You should to use Silent Picture (DNG) feature with intervalomenter for timelapses. Pls download latest nigthly and try it.

What resolution could you get from this?? Also. I guess since its dng it would be raw correct?  Since i need a niggtly build i take it dng is new... I remember reading that fps overide was recomended over silent picture in 2.3.

cobyalon

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #67 on: May 25, 2013, 02:15:53 PM »
i've been trying this a lil bit and i got:

1280x544 - 481 frames @ 23.976fps
1440x810 - 196 frames @23.976fps
1280x720 - 287 frames @23.976fps

all files parsed into AE.
im using a 32GB Delkin Devices class 10 card

good work guys, this is amazing, what a great quality ... i'll post the footage soon 

martareis

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #68 on: May 25, 2013, 03:39:29 PM »
dng. files corrupted could you please confirm which autoexec.bin version are you guys running?

NickRamey

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #69 on: May 25, 2013, 03:42:36 PM »
Hi all 60D users :)

I prepared special version of autoexec.bin like 550D user mk11174 and RAW video works now on 60D :) This ML version has only few options enabled. I've got no skills to fix 60D's boot problems with full ML package with modules and tcc enabled so I removed everything except ability to record raw videos and load modules.

So..

- install latest Magic Lantern nightly build and check whether ML is working.

then
1. please download this zip file.
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B-HdscXfsKpgY1J4b1MyLUxzMFU/edit?usp=sharing
2. put autoexec.bin on your sd card and modules directory in ML folded on sd card.
3. start 60D
4. go to ML
5. go to M tab
6. run "load modules now"
7. go to movie tab
8. enable "raw video"
9. have fun :)

How do I get to the M tab? I'm in the Magic lantern menu (When I press the trash icon)_ But where is the M tab?

dubarry

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #70 on: May 25, 2013, 05:25:26 PM »
MareKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK!!!!!!!!!!!!!

THANK YOU.  I'm surprised this thread isn't 100 pages already. What happened to all those "what about us 60D owners"

1280X720 OLD 16gb Panasonic class 10 sd card
267 frames
raw2dng YES
After effects YES
Quality and 'Gradeability' OUTSTANDING

using the second .bin no pink frames

We may never get more than 8secs because of the sd bottleneck.  But thanks for that!!

martareis

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #71 on: May 25, 2013, 06:55:00 PM »
60D + SD Card 32GB ULTIMAPRO SDHC 40MB/s (writes 17MB/s reads 44MB/s)

My stats using 60D_raw_version2.zip

960x540: 918 Frames
1280x720: 268 Frames
1440xx810: 180Frames
1734x976: 114 Frames

Always skipping 1 Frame at recording.

Interference with live view display using x5 digital zoom

raw2dng unpacking properly

Pink Frames  (Tint value = +67)

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/64265222/VRAM3.BMP

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/64265222/BENCH.LOG

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/64265222/CRASH00.LOG

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/64265222/000000.dng


Anything I could do to help testing... just let me know.

Thx

PS: How can I attach a .BMP file or a screen shot of my benchmarks? 

kotik

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #72 on: May 25, 2013, 07:22:49 PM »
60D + SanDisk Extreme Pro 32GB 95MB/s

960 x 540    2011 frames   FPS 25  @20,1 MB/s  16:9
1280 x 720  187 frames     FPS 25  @20,1 MB/s  16:9
1720 x 860  several tests, all exactly    76 frames   FPS 25 @ 19,7~20,6 MB/s  2:1
1734 x 976  several tests, most times  69 frames   FPS 25 @ 19,1~20,3 MB/s  16:9

ML and raw2dng beta ver.0.5 always complaining: Frame skip 1

DNG's can be opened in PhotoShop CS6, no corruption!

P.S. Changing RAW Photomode into S3 (JPEG) gives following result!:
960 x 540    3775 frames   FPS 25  @20,2 MB/s  16:9

My first Canon: FTb QL (Quick Loading), my first digital Canon: 20D 2.0.3
The current one: Canon EOS R

qbeck

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #73 on: May 25, 2013, 10:03:35 PM »
60D + SD Card 32GB ULTIMAPRO SDHC 40MB/s (writes 17MB/s reads 44MB/s)

My stats using 60D_raw_version2.zip

960x540: 918 Frames
1280x720: 268 Frames
1440xx810: 180Frames
1734x976: 114 Frames

Always skipping 1 Frame at recording.

Interference with live view display using x5 digital zoom

raw2dng unpacking properly

Pink Frames  (Tint value = +67)

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/64265222/VRAM3.BMP

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/64265222/BENCH.LOG

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/64265222/CRASH00.LOG

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/64265222/000000.dng


Anything I could do to help testing... just let me know.

Thx

PS: How can I attach a .BMP file or a screen shot of my benchmarks?

same exact as you, except that after i use raw2dng my frames are unusable.  I get

"could not complete your request because an unexpected end-of-file was encountered" in PS

edit: i can actually get 960x540 shots in

CFP

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 185
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #74 on: May 25, 2013, 10:06:56 PM »
I have a question: How big is the 60D's buffer? Could anybody please tell me? :)

(You can find it in "Debug" menu: "Free Memory" -> Hit "Q" -> "shoot_malloc total" is what you're looking for)