Author Topic: Need help with Good Raw  (Read 3330 times)

hollywoodlover2000

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Need help with Good Raw
« on: April 06, 2017, 09:30:37 PM »
I have Posted recently following thread but it is not helping me at all (http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=19220.msg181776#msg181776)

I tried the 10 bit Versions that only gifs me picture with collor dots all over the place ...please help me to make a crisp nice video raw with my 600D i have a fast memorie card...
i need it explaind in very details and specially advice on how to get it done (explained pleae tutorial style in details what settings i should use.

example video:

i want those results Pleaee help....

josepvm

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 212
Re: Need help with Good Raw
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2017, 10:30:50 PM »
You can not record Full HD raw continuosly with a 600D, no matter how fast your SD card is. The SD bus in this camera is limited to 21 MB/s, and Full HD raw requires at least 80 MB/s. There's nothing you can do to change this fact.
With a 600D you will be able to record Full HD raw only for a few seconds, until the camera buffer gets full of data.    After that point the recording will fail.


Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1474
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Need help with Good Raw
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2017, 10:31:02 PM »
Check out my post here
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=19337.msg182503#msg182503

If you're shooting high iso, remapping hot pixels could help.
Search Google/YouTube for canon bodycap hot pixel remapping.


Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5718
Re: Need help with Good Raw
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2017, 11:11:15 PM »
I am working with removing hot/dead pixels through imageJ which can be used together with coordinate map lists used with a specific mlv_dump version(thanks bouncyball for pixel map code).
tutorial

cr2hdr.app
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=15108.0

hollywoodlover2000

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Need help with Good Raw
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2017, 03:55:58 AM »
This is what I get........
shooting in 10bit mode

https://flic.kr/p/SopFxH

@ josepvm
you did not understand me correctly i said i want exactly this quality of this guy
and i have the same camera also i should get the same result..... how did he do it?

josepvm

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 212
Re: Need help with Good Raw
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2017, 05:11:24 AM »
Quote
@ josepvm
you did not understand me correctly i said i want exactly this quality of this guy
...
and i have the same camera also i should get the same result..... how did he do it?

He did it linking multiple very short shoots, each one with a lenght of only few seconds. This way he is recording using only the camera's memory buffer, that is a lot faster than the SD card interface, but has a very limited capacity, only a few seconds of Full HD raw video.

If you want to shoot with the same quality for longer times, you cannot do it with the slow card interface your camera has. You need a camera with a CF card interface.

50D, 5D MkII and 7D MkI have a CF card interface capable of raw recording at 80 MB/s if you use a very fast CF card. This allows continuous Full HD 14 bit raw recording at 20 FPS.
The 5D Mk III has an even faster CF interface, capable of 100 MB/s. This allows continuous raw recording at Full HD 25 FPS

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1474
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Need help with Good Raw
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2017, 10:42:31 AM »
Quote
This is what I get........
shooting in 10bit mode

https://flic.kr/p/SopFxH

Ah, that many colored dots means something is wrong in coverting your MLV's to dng's.
I've had the same with MLV_dump when I'm using standard export which uses stripe fix and cold pixel fix, this doesn't work with 10/12 bit

When recording 10/12 bit and exporting with mlv_dump, I have tot turn of cold pixel fix and stripe fix, like this:
mlv_dump --no-fixcp --no-stripes --dng
Also be sure to use a recent mlv_dump, the old versions also have problems converting 10/12 bit files.

hollywoodlover2000

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Need help with Good Raw
« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2017, 08:21:01 PM »
@Levas

But If it is the converting part thats a problem then the error happen on the computer not in the cam...

.....right???

dmilligan

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3218
  • 60Da / 1100D / EOSM
Re: Need help with Good Raw
« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2017, 08:42:41 PM »
What MLV converter are you using?

hollywoodlover2000

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Need help with Good Raw
« Reply #9 on: April 07, 2017, 08:52:48 PM »
Its just called MLV Converter (v1.9.2) Created by Tonybeccar

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1474
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Need help with Good Raw
« Reply #10 on: April 07, 2017, 10:27:15 PM »
Yes, it goes wrong converting the mlv's, nothing wrong with your camera.
Looks like you need to try out some different approaches to convert the mlv's, there are plenty methods around.
 Are you on OSX or Windows?

hollywoodlover2000

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Need help with Good Raw
« Reply #11 on: April 08, 2017, 08:27:02 AM »
Windows 7 its a 2009 Dell
...a new computer is on the way ...
i'll have it aprox. in a month from now and will fit the requirements for davinci resolve...

But i do try as much as i can in the meanwhile on this old one....

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1474
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Need help with Good Raw
« Reply #12 on: April 08, 2017, 10:23:22 AM »
I'm on OSX so I don't know what mlv conversion software is around for windows.
But one that always should work is mlv_dump:
http://builds.magiclantern.fm/utilities.html
mlv_dump.exe, it's a command line tool, but there are many simple workarounds created by ML users, see forum below.
For other options, or to find out how to use mlv_dump.exe, search the post processing forum on ML:
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?board=54.0

hollywoodlover2000

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Need help with Good Raw
« Reply #13 on: April 10, 2017, 08:20:30 AM »
Those Forum Post about MLV Dump makes me confuse i still haven't found out how to use it yet.... I also looked for some youtube tuts but couldn't find one....

it seems that using MLV Dump is Rocket sience (very complicated)

Please give me more input........

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6797
Re: Need help with Good Raw
« Reply #14 on: April 10, 2017, 10:52:20 AM »
Sorry to interfere but here are my 2 cents.

Instead of pushing hollywoodlover2000 to the very edge of deployment (and therefore constantly changing builds, tools and workflows) I strongly suggest to run another approach.

- Do what the person in linked vid did: Using a nightly build, using well established workflows (preferable programs without heavy usage of command line interface) and learning to produce decent output.
Yes, takes are very restricted in length. Didn't stop above videographer from doing it anyway.

I rest my case.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1474
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Need help with Good Raw
« Reply #15 on: April 12, 2017, 09:06:37 AM »
@Walter, you may have a point.
But the 10 bit is what makes these SD card camera's shine  8)
Only thing needed for hollywoodlover2000 is to find out one(of the many available) workflow that works

@hollywoodlover2000
MLV_dump is used in terminal, so yes if you're not used to that it can look like rocket science  ;)
But there are many programs written around here, make using MLV_dump much easier.

I'm not using windows, so can't name one that certainly works. But try to find one in the post process forum, the newer post suggest there's still development, so high chances that it works with 10 bit
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?board=54.0

Or read through the 10/12 bit topic, if you read from the beginning, you can see people with the exact same, dots all over the place, problem. And how the solved it, or what they used as workflow
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?board=54.0



http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5601.0