Author Topic: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit  (Read 410600 times)

danielcreed

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #225 on: June 06, 2013, 02:27:58 PM »
HA ! So it is not obvious for everybody. Yes You can do twice amount of the frames like in pravdomil's topic picture when he posted his build. 1% commented on it "I see all the buffer stars you got and I'm jealous :)" and I thought everybody knew it. So now eveyone will get even more frames than me... :'(

guess this is a new breakthrough :) just did a few tests now and i get double nr of frames on all resolutions that weren't stable for me :)

Lukasz

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #226 on: June 06, 2013, 02:34:25 PM »
guess this is a new breakthrough :) just did a few tests now and i get double nr of frames on all resolutions that weren't stable for me :)

Happy for You and that I was useful. In this case maybe start a new topic for people to spread it around.

danielcreed

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #227 on: June 06, 2013, 02:43:08 PM »
already spreading the word m8 :)

Lukasz

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #228 on: June 06, 2013, 02:45:50 PM »
already spreading the word m8 :)

Also started new topic in Raw discussion ;) 

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=6221.0

togg

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 431
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #229 on: June 06, 2013, 07:07:47 PM »
Is there any topic about how to set your 5d for the most MB/s possible? I turned draw off, only s size picture, no sound, etc.

+1
Is there a list of things to do to improve the recording stability? It would be so helpful!

ch_d

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • 5D MII
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #230 on: June 07, 2013, 12:34:45 AM »
HA ! really interesting, in custum functions mode you get almost twice the buffer ! and now i get twice the number of frames at 1880x800
what is the "custum functions mode" and how do i enable it?
5D MII

Yoshiyuki Blade

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • 5D2
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #231 on: June 07, 2013, 02:28:49 AM »
I'm noticing vertical stripes in some test footage I just shot. Both the a.d. and ML bitbucket builds of raw2dng.exe (that was just updated) exhibit this anomaly. Unfortunately, I didn't keep the previous version around to see whether it's a problem with Raw2Dng, the latest ML build (6397e112ed41), or something else. Raw2Dng seems to be making a lot of corrections now whereas a lot of values were at 1.000 in the older version.

edit: JPEG for a quick look: http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/63799907/000350.jpg
DNG: http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/63799907/000350.dng

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2303
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #232 on: June 07, 2013, 03:42:32 AM »
Hello All  :)
With 5D2
i was interested to see how good the Raw DNG image is, in term of scalable.
So i took 1880x854 24p DNG file import to photoshop and upscaded to 4096 x 1861
maintained the 240 dpi, 16 bit tiff, Basic White Balance & Color Correction

when you play the video in the small screen you will notice moire & aliasing
But thats only in the small player go to full screen and there is no
moire & aliasing.
The Original file on the image quality tab is the 4K mp4 i uploaded .

danielcreed

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #233 on: June 07, 2013, 08:14:35 AM »
what is the "custum functions mode" and how do i enable it?

they're on your dial knob, labeled C1 C2 C3 :)

fatpig

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 163
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #234 on: June 07, 2013, 09:52:34 AM »
4K video does not look good , even on my only 2.5k monitor.
really nasty edges.
upscaling = bad idea. ;)

b.a.s.

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #235 on: June 07, 2013, 10:00:13 AM »
Hi all,

I am shooting on the latest build (6-6-13) and I am noticing that a lot of my shots when imported into Premiere, seem to be playing as if in fast forward... anyone else having this problem? Adobe After Effects composition FPS is set to 23.976 (same as premiere).

Resolution: 1880x800
CF Card: Lexar 32GB Extreme (90mb/s)
Workflow: Raw2DNG--ACR--After Effects CS6 (export) TIFF--(import) Premiere CS6

Any Thoughts?

Thanks for the incredible work ML, you guys are making film history right now!


a.d.

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #236 on: June 07, 2013, 10:11:05 AM »
@Yoshiyuki Blade
31_05_WIN.zip
04_06_WIN.zip
07_06_WIN.zip

@b.a.s.
You also need to check the export from aftereffects to avi or ProRes

Clemens

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #237 on: June 07, 2013, 10:15:00 AM »
I'm noticing vertical stripes in some test footage I just shot. Both the a.d. and ML bitbucket builds of raw2dng.exe (that was just updated) exhibit this anomaly. Unfortunately, I didn't keep the previous version around to see whether it's a problem with Raw2Dng, the latest ML build (6397e112ed41), or something else. Raw2Dng seems to be making a lot of corrections now whereas a lot of values were at 1.000 in the older version.

edit: JPEG for a quick look: http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/63799907/000350.jpg
DNG: http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/63799907/000350.dng
You are right... i also noticed those stripes... but with my footage they are not that obvious and looked like some noise pattern.

b.a.s.

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #238 on: June 07, 2013, 10:16:38 AM »
a.d.-

I'll check avi and report what I find. It's not possible to use ProRes without FCP is it? Third party plug-in?

seanturco

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #239 on: June 07, 2013, 10:49:46 AM »
Its possible to use Apple pro res with Adobe after effect and premiere.
You can also export To Quicktime-Animation. It is a lossless (meaning near 100% quality) like apple prores 4444.

seanturco

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #240 on: June 07, 2013, 11:00:20 AM »
I'm noticing vertical stripes in some test footage I just shot. Both the a.d. and ML bitbucket builds of raw2dng.exe (that was just updated) exhibit this anomaly. Unfortunately, I didn't keep the previous version around to see whether it's a problem with Raw2Dng, the latest ML build (6397e112ed41), or something else. Raw2Dng seems to be making a lot of corrections now whereas a lot of values were at 1.000 in the older version.

edit: JPEG for a quick look: http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/63799907/000350.jpg
DNG: http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/63799907/000350.dng

You can remove those vertical stripes with ACR and masking option or luminance.

Yoshiyuki Blade

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • 5D2
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #241 on: June 07, 2013, 11:48:26 AM »
@seanturco I know, but if a more elegant solution exists, I'd prefer to use that. :)
@a.d. Thanks! I can confirm that the May 31st build looks good.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #242 on: June 07, 2013, 02:37:58 PM »

Yoshiyuki Blade

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • 5D2
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #243 on: June 07, 2013, 02:47:26 PM »
a1ex: The stripes still appear under Adobe's camera raw tool, but Raw Therapee's output (what I've been using regularly) looks just fine to me: http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/63799907/000350-2.jpg


a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #244 on: June 07, 2013, 02:49:00 PM »
I mean, with the new raw2dng (uploaded 5 minutes ago), is there any improvement?

Yoshiyuki Blade

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • 5D2
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #245 on: June 07, 2013, 02:53:31 PM »
Yeah, the image I just posted was from the fresh build you linked. The stripes appear when opening the DNG with Adobe Camera Raw, but Raw Therapee (what I used for the image above) seems to read it fine.

The one from photoshop (no color corrections obviously): http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/63799907/000350-3.jpg

update: Hang on, I think there's still stripes on the Raw Therapee version too. I was using the CLI earlier and might have used the wrong directory by accident, gonna doublecheck (edit: yeah, it turns out to have stripes too). The file opened with RT's GUI has stripes too. Sorry for the confusion.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #246 on: June 07, 2013, 03:08:04 PM »
Can you open this DNG in photoshop? http://a1ex.magiclantern.fm/bleeding-edge/raw/000000.dng

In ufraw it's 100% clean.

Yoshiyuki Blade

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • 5D2
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #247 on: June 07, 2013, 03:11:34 PM »
Yeah, it's clean in photoshop as well. Maybe it depends on what build of raw2dng I used at the time of posting that? I honestly can't remember whether it was one of your earlier builds or a.d.'s...

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #248 on: June 07, 2013, 03:14:10 PM »
Yes, raw2dng has banding correction, and the algorithm was tweaked a few times.

Yoshiyuki Blade

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • 5D2
Re: 14-Bit RAW video Builds for 5D2
« Reply #249 on: June 07, 2013, 03:16:04 PM »
Ok. Well, here's the DNG from the raw2dng.exe you posted ~30 mins ago: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/63799907/000350-4.dng