Author Topic: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video  (Read 300694 times)

DANewman

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #300 on: July 23, 2013, 07:07:57 PM »
I mentioned this before, the raw - > DNG -> CFR is not using the camera's color matrix, so the comparison is with or without color matrix -- pink highlights relate to the color matrix and white balance.  If you prefer to color correct without the color matrix you can do that on RAW2GPCF conversions.  In the workspace area of Studio Premium you can select color matrix as "Neutral".  If you are using free version of GoPro Studio, click on the "None" preset.   

iaremrsir

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #301 on: July 23, 2013, 08:09:47 PM »
I mentioned this before, the raw - > DNG -> CFR is not using the camera's color matrix, so the comparison is with or without color matrix -- pink highlights relate to the color matrix and white balance.  If you prefer to color correct without the color matrix you can do that on RAW2GPCF conversions.  In the workspace area of Studio Premium you can select color matrix as "Neutral".  If you are using free version of GoPro Studio, click on the "None" preset.   

I get that; I was trying to figure out how to recover highlights in protune with sat clip point. But I guess it will always go to pink? I like grading from the raw2gpcf clips because they do include the source matrix. But I guess I'll just have to recover highlights in AE or whichever program I'm working in. Also, are the yellow highlights a matrix/color temp problem? Because everything else looks correct.

DANewman

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #302 on: July 24, 2013, 04:00:31 AM »
It is not really a matrix problem nor is it a raw2gpcf problem, it to be expected when the green channel clips in camera. It is easy to address in post, plus it teaches us to underexposure a little more.

iaremrsir

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #303 on: July 24, 2013, 07:28:05 AM »
It is not really a matrix problem nor is it a raw2gpcf problem, it to be expected when the green channel clips in camera. It is easy to address in post, plus it teaches us to underexposure a little more.

Okay, in post would I just use something like levels or a highlights adjustment to bring it to where all oh the channels clip? And what would we do for the unavoidable clips like speculars, the sun, etc?

DANewman

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #304 on: July 24, 2013, 09:35:16 PM »
I've not seen an image that can't be corrected with primaries and saturation clip point.

RAW as the camera shot it.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/jg5rkyxmwa6gzyd/RAWcolor.jpg

Turning on White balance and the color matrix from camera metadata, with Sat. Clip point off (1)
https://www.dropbox.com/s/7t7aacdqpoxcqqg/CameraMatrix%2BCameraWB.jpg

Primaries to remove clipping and fix shadows and mid-tones
https://www.dropbox.com/s/yvxf6hg2ipzz6z4/CameraMatrix%2BCameraWB%2Bprimaries.jpg

Setting Saturation Clip point
https://www.dropbox.com/s/uzwxaduent435qz/CameraMatrix%2BCameraWB%2Bprimaries%2BSatClipPoint.jpg

If the sun or clipped object was in the scene, it would be correctly clipped to white.

iaremrsir

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #305 on: July 26, 2013, 06:26:07 AM »
I've not seen an image that can't be corrected with primaries and saturation clip point.

RAW as the camera shot it.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/jg5rkyxmwa6gzyd/RAWcolor.jpg

Turning on White balance and the color matrix from camera metadata, with Sat. Clip point off (1)
https://www.dropbox.com/s/7t7aacdqpoxcqqg/CameraMatrix%2BCameraWB.jpg

Primaries to remove clipping and fix shadows and mid-tones
https://www.dropbox.com/s/yvxf6hg2ipzz6z4/CameraMatrix%2BCameraWB%2Bprimaries.jpg

Setting Saturation Clip point
https://www.dropbox.com/s/uzwxaduent435qz/CameraMatrix%2BCameraWB%2Bprimaries%2BSatClipPoint.jpg

If the sun or clipped object was in the scene, it would be correctly clipped to white.

That's why I couldn't get it to work! Thanks, makes so much more sense to me now.

tobyloc

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #306 on: July 28, 2013, 05:14:36 PM »
I also get "Failed to encode. Do you have GoPro Cineform Studio Installed". This is in rawanizer after I updated it to the latest so perhaps it's their fault.

DANewman

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #307 on: July 29, 2013, 05:04:28 AM »
I also get "Failed to encode. Do you have GoPro Cineform Studio Installed". This is in rawanizer after I updated it to the latest so perhaps it's their fault.

There is bug that shows that error if you get any if the paths wrong.

iaremrsir

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #308 on: August 06, 2013, 11:29:02 PM »
Any news or updates? Dead pixel fix? Demosaic algorithms?

danielschweinert

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #309 on: August 08, 2013, 12:32:12 AM »
Found a bug in GoPro Studio Premium 1.3.2.170:

Green / yellow fringing jumping around bright edges when the "Despeckle / Dead Pixel Fix" is activated and the slider is set to anything above 0. It's a bummer because it really removes Dead/Hot Pixels but adds these artifacts to the clips. When it's set to 0 the image is just right.

PS. I use DNGs from the Canon 5D Mark III converted with RAWanizer 0.6.1
Btw. this green fringing is also visible in DaVinci Resolve 9.1.5 but not in Adobe Camera RAW > http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=7399.msg63877#msg63877



1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #310 on: August 11, 2013, 02:24:21 AM »
That is a demosaic problem like I was having. Supposedly people are having luck using raw therapee or anything with the AMAZE algo... I have to try this on my speckle footage.


DANewman

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #311 on: August 13, 2013, 01:24:43 AM »
I have confirmed there was a bug in the despeckle code within the 1.3.2 version of CineForm Studio.  2.0 will be here in a few weeks, and it should addresses this failure.

janoschsimon

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #312 on: August 25, 2013, 03:45:39 PM »
hey there dont know if im right here but its a try worth :D

i build my own MiniRAW1 Camera which shoots 720p 120fps 12bit raw
my workflow is a little bit awkward:
1. i record from the camera controll software and stream .raw files
2. a friend of mine and i made a .raw converter on mac which convertes the 12bit .raw to .dng which works pretty good resolve and adc can open and edit the files.

but with 120fps and each frame is 1,4MB my HDD is nearly full and so i found the cineform RAW thing which reminds me a little bit of Redcode :-)

no here is the problem:
when i import a folder which contains the .dng sequenz into the cineform studio pro trial version 1.3 on my windows 7 64bit machine the first thing is that i cant see the preview and no matter what i put into the settings (avi, mov) the second i click on convert the program crashes :-(

any idea what i can try? cheers and thx janosch
attached is a sample dng which crashes cineform studio pro
https://copy.com/t1lnnyhpnPjp

cheers janosch

arrinkiiii

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • ML ADDICTED 7D & 5D III
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #313 on: August 25, 2013, 03:53:54 PM »
You have build your own MiniRAW1 Camera which shoots 720p 120fps and record at 12bit raw?

What camera is this? Do you have photos or any link for that?

janoschsimon

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #314 on: August 25, 2013, 04:10:26 PM »
here is my project a little bit described :-)
http://www.eoshd.com/comments/topic/2874-my-miniraw-1-camera-needs-help/?hl=miniraw

the camera is from point grey a flea 3 usb3

the lens on that dng no idea  :D this was a very early testshot but i guess it was an fujinon tv 16 f1.4 c-mount lens or an canon j6x12 12.5-75mm

but now that i build a "case" around it i made my own mft mount so i can use lots of fine glass :-)

cheers janosch

arrinkiiii

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • ML ADDICTED 7D & 5D III
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #315 on: August 25, 2013, 04:52:32 PM »
AMAZING !!!

janoschsimon

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #316 on: August 25, 2013, 04:54:39 PM »
AMAZING !!!

thx dude now it would be awesome if somebody can help me with cineform raw :-)

or even more better to make a .raw converter directly to cineform raw :D

cheers janosch

Caleb_camera

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #317 on: August 27, 2013, 08:11:48 AM »
I keep getting a message when trying to convert my files using RAWanizer asking if I have cineform studio downloaded, and I do. Is there something im missing?

glubber

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
  • 550D
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #318 on: August 27, 2013, 05:39:48 PM »
I keep getting a message when trying to convert my files using RAWanizer asking if I have cineform studio downloaded, and I do. Is there something im missing?

I had this problem too. If my memory serves me right, it was fixed by reinstalling either Rawanizer and/ or Cineform.
EOS 550D // Sigma 18-200 // Sigma 18-70 // Canon 10-18 STM

Caleb_camera

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #319 on: August 27, 2013, 06:27:10 PM »
I tried reinstalling everything with no luck. Looks like I will re-download Windows 7 on vmware.

TheUnkn0wn

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #320 on: September 01, 2013, 06:01:51 PM »
hey there dont know if im right here but its a try worth :D

i build my own MiniRAW1 Camera which shoots 720p 120fps 12bit raw
my workflow is a little bit awkward:
1. i record from the camera controll software and stream .raw files
2. a friend of mine and i made a .raw converter on mac which convertes the 12bit .raw to .dng which works pretty good resolve and adc can open and edit the files.

but with 120fps and each frame is 1,4MB my HDD is nearly full and so i found the cineform RAW thing which reminds me a little bit of Redcode :-)

no here is the problem:
when i import a folder which contains the .dng sequenz into the cineform studio pro trial version 1.3 on my windows 7 64bit machine the first thing is that i cant see the preview and no matter what i put into the settings (avi, mov) the second i click on convert the program crashes :-(

any idea what i can try? cheers and thx janosch
attached is a sample dng which crashes cineform studio pro
https://copy.com/t1lnnyhpnPjp

cheers janosch

Sorry, I was away (went NY)

Unfortunately I don't have Cineform Studio (never used it). My guess is it must crash because of incorrect/missing tags in the DNG header?

janoschsimon

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #321 on: September 01, 2013, 06:56:03 PM »
Sorry, I was away (went NY)

Unfortunately I don't have Cineform Studio (never used it). My guess is it must crash because of incorrect/missing tags in the DNG header?

hm dont know with dng_validate.exe from adobe i compared my dng with one from bmcc which works with cineform and i dont know which tag the problem or might be the problem cause the second i click on convert the cineform software crashes :-/

cheers janosch

fafalone

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #322 on: September 10, 2013, 09:47:03 PM »
Is the last raw2gpcf.exe version compatible with studio 2? Are there any plans to add support for the new raw file format?

tonybeccar

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 319
  • 7D
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #323 on: September 11, 2013, 01:10:36 AM »
I had an issue that I couldn't find here!!

I downloaded GoPro cineform studio pro Trial.. and I was converting .RAW to .AVI succesfully for a few hours.. but suddenly.. I got the error "Fail to encode, is GoPro CineForm Studio installed?". No matter what I do.. reinstall, download latest versions.. change computers.. same error always!!! damn!! why?

Using: Rawanizer, Gopro Studio v1.3 (now tested with 2.0), and RAW2GPCF v113

Any advice please?
Thanks!

tonybeccar

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 319
  • 7D
Re: GoPro CineForm Studio Premium/Pro Settings for 5D3 RAW Video
« Reply #324 on: September 11, 2013, 01:34:03 AM »
Nevermind got it working!! It seems there's a bug.. if you specify a folder in "Video/proxy files target folder" then you get that error.. too bad!!