Author Topic: Card benchmark - what's the optimal write buffer size?  (Read 100684 times)

TFM

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Card benchmark - what's the optimal write buffer size?
« Reply #150 on: July 09, 2013, 02:07:13 PM »
Where is the tool in the menus? Still can't find it...

edit: And now, of course, upon registering just to ask this question, I find it :P

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6324
Re: Card benchmark - what's the optimal write buffer size?
« Reply #151 on: July 09, 2013, 02:12:26 PM »

togg

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 342
Re: Card benchmark - what's the optimal write buffer size?
« Reply #152 on: July 18, 2013, 04:47:26 PM »
The CF graphic image in dropbox has been disabled :/ I had a lot of problems with the shipment of the Komputerbay card here in Italy. Now I have the chance to choose again.
The big question is, 32GB or 64?

bryantnaro

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Card benchmark - what's the optimal write buffer size?
« Reply #153 on: September 09, 2013, 07:36:12 AM »
Chiming in to say the 128GB Komputerbay card was total junk. The speeds were all over the place, but it did roll raw for a bit. I kept getting multi-color weird pixel artifacts (weird glitches), that I saw one other person have in this forum. They said the problem went away when their komputerbay card was returned. Mine also stopped working, so that helps my cause. My advice: Don't gamble with Komputerbay, it's not worth the headache.



And here's that weird artifact I got:


nick.p

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 94
Re: Card benchmark - what's the optimal write buffer size?
« Reply #154 on: September 09, 2013, 02:30:07 PM »

Chiming in to say the 128GB Komputerbay card was total junk. The speeds were all over the place, but it did roll raw for a bit. I kept getting multi-color weird pixel artifacts (weird glitches), that I saw one other person have in this forum. They said the problem went away when their komputerbay card was returned. Mine also stopped working, so that helps my cause. My advice: Don't gamble with Komputerbay, it's not worth the headache.



And here's that weird artifact I got:


I remember seeing something like this on another thread and I think the card died shortly afterwards. It had the same artefacts you experienced

bryantnaro

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Card benchmark - what's the optimal write buffer size?
« Reply #155 on: September 09, 2013, 05:52:09 PM »
Yeah, the card is being sent back today. Bought a Lexar instead. ;)

jose_ugs

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
  • 5DM3
Re: Card benchmark - what's the optimal write buffer size?
« Reply #156 on: October 03, 2013, 10:16:14 PM »
Sorry for this noob Question, but I do not understand how you can create an align partition that can be usable in the camera, as every time the 5D read the new partition (with a good alignement), it detect that partition wasn't create in the DSLR, so I'm obliged to format the CF inside and the alignement goes out... I'v try many time, using the freeware "active partition manager" and I very don't understand what's wrong ...

I'm very disapointed as I have 2 Komputerbay x600 wich max up at 30Mb/s with bad alignement. Hoped to gain some biterate with alignement...  :'(

Stumbled upon these few lines, and figured out my "problematic" card is not aligned "properly"... How do you align a partition without having 5DM2 have you format it again?

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: Card benchmark - what's the optimal write buffer size?
« Reply #157 on: October 04, 2013, 12:03:15 AM »
In windows run command line and type diskpart:

1) List your disks "list disk".
2) select the flash disk,  "select disk #".  Where # is the drive where the card is, be careful to select the correct drive number.
2) "clean" (wipes current partitions) *be sure it's the correct drive!*
3) "create partition primary align=4096"
4) "active" (sets the partition active/boot)

Now your card should be recognized by windows and will ask if you want to format.
Click yes and select fat32 with 64 kilobytes for partition size.
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

jose_ugs

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
  • 5DM3
Re: Card benchmark - what's the optimal write buffer size?
« Reply #158 on: October 04, 2013, 09:07:30 PM »
@RenatoPhoto: you're the man, thanks a ton!
Let's see if this affects the performance of this CF...

jose_ugs

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
  • 5DM3
Re: Card benchmark - what's the optimal write buffer size?
« Reply #159 on: October 04, 2013, 10:18:31 PM »
Huh... totally don't know what happened!

"BOOTDISK flag is ENABLED. AUTOEXEC.BIN found. !!! ML/DATA/FONTS.DAT !!! NOT FOUND !!! Please copy ALL ML files on your SD card. They only take a few MB.

I'm on a 5DM2, there ain't no SD :)
Any ideas?

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: Card benchmark - what's the optimal write buffer size?
« Reply #160 on: October 05, 2013, 02:52:02 AM »
When you use new builds you have to replace everything.  Cannot mix old ML with new autoexec.bin and modules.
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

jose_ugs

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
  • 5DM3
Re: Card benchmark - what's the optimal write buffer size?
« Reply #161 on: October 05, 2013, 12:23:35 PM »
Yeah, i got that long time ago... The problem was the card this time, after a Windows format i guess it's not bootable any more so i had to use the EOScard tool.
Bottom line is... the alignment didn't do a damn thing :( Bullshit Duracell CF, i was hoping i can start playing with it & ML RAW...

far.in.out

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Card benchmark - what's the optimal write buffer size?
« Reply #162 on: March 26, 2014, 12:21:11 AM »
What is the right way to run the bench - LV or not LV? Any specific mode or settings required for accurate results?
50D (was 600D) Helios 44M-4, Canon 18-55mm IS II