Author Topic: Raw video on 5DMK2  (Read 450707 times)

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2271
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #550 on: September 27, 2013, 09:05:05 PM »


I don't trust Komputerbay. Too flaky, too hit 'n miss. So what do I need? Is there a 32GB card that will work for everything? should I even bother on the Mk2?
I use a Lexar 1000x 64 & 32 GB cards
Crop mode = 2048x930 23.976p upto 42GB - 76.6MB/s
Non crop mode 1856x1004 23.976p upto 42GB - 75.0MB/s
With hdmi connected to Ninja recorder
1880x930 23.976p upto 42GB - 71.0MB/s upto 42GB ;)
 

SpcCb

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #551 on: September 28, 2013, 01:03:07 PM »
New SanDisk Extreme PRO 160MB/s cards look durable and tests show write speed @90MB/s, so enough for the 5D2 (?).

PressureFM

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #552 on: September 28, 2013, 01:13:29 PM »
New SanDisk Extreme PRO 160MB/s cards look durable and tests show write speed @90MB/s, so enough for the 5D2 (?).

Showing 90MB/s on the 5D Mark II?

beauchampy

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 302
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #553 on: September 28, 2013, 04:04:04 PM »
Yes , do more reading on how to
Setup your camera  .
Search the form there a wealth of information
Here.
Then still have problems ask away  :)

Ok I did some more reading! Did some tweaking.. Even at 1880 x 440 the camera will record for a few seconds then lock up! The liveview freezes and the top of the camera just flashes 'busy'. This just goes on and on until I pull the battery.

I've given up on this komputerbay card. Filled out my RMA request and I've got a Transcend 1000x 64gb on order.

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2271
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #554 on: September 28, 2013, 05:27:55 PM »
Ok I did some more reading! Did some tweaking.. Even at 1880 x 440 the camera will record for a few seconds then lock up! The liveview freezes and the top of the camera just flashes 'busy'. This just goes on and on until I pull the battery.

I've given up on this komputerbay card. Filled out my RMA request and I've got a Transcend 1000x 64gb on order.
Can to tell me your setting exactly
What are your setting in  the canon menu
What are your setting in the ML raw menu
Did you format CF card in camera?
To me it look like a setting problem :)

SpcCb

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #555 on: September 29, 2013, 02:21:51 AM »
Showing 90MB/s on the 5D Mark II?
Not on the 5D2, but it's the max write speed of this card reported in tests (I found it by googled the name of this card).
And, as I read here in this forum, 5D2 is hardware limited at 90MB/s and the absolute max write speed recorded by ML users is 80~85MB/s, so maybe it's fast enough to reach the maximum of the 5D2. This setup should not be "card speed limited".

Sorry to not been clear, but it is a supposition in my previous post. I do not see any ML users report about those new cards yet.

togg

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 423
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #556 on: September 30, 2013, 12:08:44 PM »
Keeping play with basic stuff. I'm trying to understand which workflow I like the most. For now is:

davinci resolve hunter's LUT + color correction --> final cut pro x neat video + filmconvert


Youtube compression sucks :(

jose_ugs

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
  • 5DM3
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #557 on: September 30, 2013, 05:25:54 PM »
I've given up on this komputerbay card. Filled out my RMA request and I've got a Transcend 1000x 64gb on order.

Hey, let us know how the Transcend 1000x performs... please :)

guilhermemartins

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • 5D2+KB x1000 32gb+ some Nikkor Lenses
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #558 on: September 30, 2013, 10:15:22 PM »
I`just saw the beginning of the thread.
I`ve acctually been using a Komputerbay 32Gb X1000 CF for a couple months at least since (2013/08/16
31302bbc6461)
and have outstanding results: 1856x1004 Continuous OK exept I like using 2.0 Aspect ratio.
If anybody wants me to run any tests I`ll be glad to help.
I have been using ML for all my production company`s jobs since the release of 2.3. most of them available at.
www.mariachisaudiovisual.com.br

beauchampy

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 302
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #559 on: October 01, 2013, 05:27:07 PM »
I`just saw the beginning of the thread.
I`ve acctually been using a Komputerbay 32Gb X1000 CF for a couple months at least since (2013/08/16
31302bbc6461)
and have outstanding results: 1856x1004 Continuous OK exept I like using 2.0 Aspect ratio.
If anybody wants me to run any tests I`ll be glad to help.

Can you tell us more about which build of ML you're using and what your camera settings are?

guilhermemartins

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • 5D2+KB x1000 32gb+ some Nikkor Lenses
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #560 on: October 02, 2013, 03:29:06 PM »
I ran some tests. I currently run the 2013/08/27 8cf76a551872 build by a.d. at both a KB 1000x 32GB, and a Sandisk Extreme 60 Mb/s.

I seem to have misinformed you guys, I don't get the 1856x1004 option anymore I get 1856x1016 and it expects continuous but only puts out 200-1000 frames depending on camera movement (KB x1000). I do get 1880x940 Continuous, unfortunately I still haven't got any footage to show for, but we are shooting a short entirely on ML raw that I'll be glad share @ the forum when ready, and credit ML. (will be ready next year)

At the Sandisk i get 1600x800 continuous. Again I like usig 2:1 Aspect.

Ive been using the workflow.

MLRAW> Son Of Batch> DNG> Adobe Camera RAW (upscale to 3072x1536)> TIFF> QUICKTIME7>PRORES 4444 (any size Usualy 1080P w/letterbox)> NLE (fcp7)> XML> Davinci Resolve Lite (Round trip to FCP) > XML> AE (for NR -Boris CC etc)> PRORES> NLE (for compositing grain or light leaks etc)> Final

It is a little complicated but gives out good images. And I don't mind the extra work really.

   

 
I have been using ML for all my production company`s jobs since the release of 2.3. most of them available at.
www.mariachisaudiovisual.com.br

beauchampy

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 302
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #561 on: October 02, 2013, 05:41:24 PM »
Hey, let us know how the Transcend 1000x performs... please :)

MUCH better! Definitely far superior!

Write speeds dramatically improved from being in the low 60's to now the high 70's, even 80's.

I need to do further testing but I was getting continuous 1880x720, I'll bump it up later tonight and see how high I can go.

This thing is actually working now and just did my first test through lightroom -> compressor -> prores 4444

So so sweet!! :)

Thank you ML!

davidlennon

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #562 on: October 11, 2013, 08:30:17 AM »
can some one please do an update to this for Date: 2013-10-11 09:10:09 +1100 build, i am really confused trying to work with the new build when all the forums are on the old build! some one please help me

Africashot

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 288
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #563 on: October 11, 2013, 08:41:34 AM »
Maybe you should rather look into this thread: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5533.0
ML 5D2 & T3i

FartingPuppyProductions

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Farting Puppy PRoductions - Director - DOP
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #564 on: October 11, 2013, 01:17:36 PM »
I use a Lexar 1000x 64 & 32 GB cards
Crop mode = 2048x930 23.976p upto 42GB - 76.6MB/s
Non crop mode 1856x1004 23.976p upto 42GB - 75.0MB/s
With hdmi connected to Ninja recorder
1880x930 23.976p upto 42GB - 71.0MB/s upto 42GB ;)

You can record raw to a ninja?
Farting Puppy Productions
Gene Greenwood - Director / DOP
www.fartingpuppy.com - www.youtube.com/genegreenwood

mrnv45

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #565 on: October 11, 2013, 06:56:30 PM »
if you cannot keep continuous on
you might want to re-benchmark your card and restart it.  sometimes i loose my continued shooting on my 7d.   but once i benchmark it works again...

just a thought!

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2271
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #566 on: October 12, 2013, 12:31:21 AM »
You can record raw to a ninja?
No its not possible .
i have replied to your pm, it explains it all  :) 

edgewood58

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #567 on: November 08, 2013, 12:26:17 AM »
Has anyone Used an ExtremePro 64gb SD card with 95MB/s in a SDHC/SD Extreme CF adapter when trying to shoot Raw on there 5D2? All that extreme must have canceled something out because it's extremely slow.

dossisman

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #568 on: January 06, 2014, 12:00:24 AM »
I'm having issues with the newest builds. I keep turning on the RAW and MLV modules as well as the file_man modules, and they do not load when I restart my camera. Am I doing something wrong? I keep going back to an old build because it doesn't fail me, but I'm dying to try the new features. :(

Help?

The build I just installed was the 12/30 one.

mageye

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
  • Atheist
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #569 on: January 06, 2014, 12:07:39 AM »
@ dossisman

Have you tried to go to the Prefs > Config files > Restore ML defaults ?

Of course that will return all settings to default so maybe you should save your settings or take note of them.
5DMKII | 500D | KOMPUTERBAY 32GB Professional 1000x |Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II | Samyang 35mm f/1.4 ED AS UMC | Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III | Zoom H2 (4CH. audio recorder) | Mac OS X 10.9.2 | Photoshop CC | After Effects CC | Final Cut Pro 7

Archie Pushka

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #570 on: January 09, 2014, 04:18:54 PM »
Hello folks,

Thanks to all those who have made this happen and for all the info! I hadn't checked out ML in a year or two and it sure has made strides!

Veerle

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #571 on: January 14, 2014, 02:30:07 PM »
.

Kharak

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #572 on: January 15, 2014, 01:24:15 PM »
I was wondering what other people prefer; filming 16:9 at a stable 1600x900 or filming 2.35:1 stable for about 40 sec: 1880x800 or stable: 1728x736. Or do you prefer something else?

Think the real question is, what do you prefer :)
once you go raw you never go back

bnvm

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #573 on: January 15, 2014, 11:10:13 PM »
Has anyone Used an ExtremePro 64gb SD card with 95MB/s in a SDHC/SD Extreme CF adapter when trying to shoot Raw on there 5D2? All that extreme must have canceled something out because it's extremely slow.

I am guessing that the 95 MB/s is the max read speed for the card may card advertise their highest possible speed usually read and it is generally much higher than the write speed. I have found that the write speeds on most cards is roughly half of the max speed posted for the card. So if you are getting around 45 MB/s, I would say that sounds right to me.

Veerle

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: Raw video on 5DMK2
« Reply #574 on: January 22, 2014, 02:04:58 AM »
.