Author Topic: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording  (Read 747018 times)

CFP

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 185
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1225 on: May 18, 2013, 01:31:09 AM »
Is it just me or does the "New Channel" build not work correctly? I only tried it briefly but every single frame was only purple noise ...
I used 3 different resolutions, but all files turned out to be unusable ...

Is it my fault or is something wrong with the build?

mattmvpmedia

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1226 on: May 18, 2013, 01:41:40 AM »
I haven't tried the 600D "NewChannel" build yet - the Edmac Popin one has been working great for me.

Andy600

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1857
  • Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1227 on: May 18, 2013, 01:53:26 AM »
Installed the 'NewChannel' build and I'm just getting frames of noise at all resolutions. Reverted to the previous build. Works nicely :)
Colorist working with Davinci Resolve, Baselight, Nuke, After Effects & Premier Pro. Occasional Sunday afternoon DOP. Developer of Cinelog-C Colorspace Management and LUTs - www.cinelogdcp.com

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1228 on: May 18, 2013, 01:54:30 AM »
So new edmac not working?

noix222

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 78
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1229 on: May 18, 2013, 01:55:16 AM »
Just a quick H264 vs RAW comparison with my 5d mark ii... it looks good to me! Color correcting is so much easier... Can't do H264 anymore  :o


My card is a Delkin 600x so i could do something like 200 frames before it start to skip frames with 1880x720... with a stable release and a faster card im sure it will fly ! 

Thanks for all the AMAZING work you guys are doing...

Andy600

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1857
  • Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1230 on: May 18, 2013, 01:55:39 AM »
It records raw files but they are just noise. No image.
Colorist working with Davinci Resolve, Baselight, Nuke, After Effects & Premier Pro. Occasional Sunday afternoon DOP. Developer of Cinelog-C Colorspace Management and LUTs - www.cinelogdcp.com

Alia5

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • 600D
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1231 on: May 18, 2013, 02:00:16 AM »
NewChannel (600D) also doesnt work for me...
Edmac_popping is great though!

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1232 on: May 18, 2013, 02:00:27 AM »
That means that the edmac is already in use by canon stuff
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1233 on: May 18, 2013, 02:11:01 AM »
Yup, all files full of data but I dunno what it is. Strange nothing crashed and all seemed normal

Alia5

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • 600D
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1234 on: May 18, 2013, 02:24:47 AM »
Did record some test footage with a lighter with the edmac_poppin...


you can read everything in the youtube description...

got 2 pink frames... but camera also skipped 2...

with the raw_hdr versions i think i never got any magenta frames

Edit: flickering comes from 2 crt monitores!

Andy600

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1857
  • Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1235 on: May 18, 2013, 02:31:34 AM »
@1% - Just noticed something strange. With the same settings (1120x400) and shooting exactly the same scene, I'm getting 109 frames on one shot then 145 on the next, then it goes back to 109, then 145, 109, 145 etc.. a predictable pattern (Edmac Popin).

Other resolutions I've tried so far...

1120x434 it's either 101 or 134 frames
960x540 either 94 or 125 frames
Colorist working with Davinci Resolve, Baselight, Nuke, After Effects & Premier Pro. Occasional Sunday afternoon DOP. Developer of Cinelog-C Colorspace Management and LUTs - www.cinelogdcp.com

Alia5

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • 600D
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1236 on: May 18, 2013, 02:38:19 AM »
@1% - Just noticed something strange. With the same settings (1120x400) I'm getting 109 frames on one shot then 145 on the next, then it goes back to 109, then 145, 109, 145 etc.. a predictable pattern (Edmac Popin). I'll try other resolutions

I think it skipped 109, and 145, for me.. but not sure
2 magenta frames happend afterwards

Andy600

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1857
  • Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1237 on: May 18, 2013, 02:45:06 AM »
I've got frame skipping off. It's set to stop recording.

Time for some zzzz's now but I'll check more tomorrow

Colorist working with Davinci Resolve, Baselight, Nuke, After Effects & Premier Pro. Occasional Sunday afternoon DOP. Developer of Cinelog-C Colorspace Management and LUTs - www.cinelogdcp.com

lourenco

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1238 on: May 18, 2013, 03:24:00 AM »
5D Mark III, CF Lexar 1000X 32GB, 24-105 F4L

Colemar

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 52
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1239 on: May 18, 2013, 03:34:26 AM »
lourenco,
  I get an error message when trying to load the modules:

Code: [Select]
[i] proprs    at:  0x00000000
[i] cbr       at:  0x00A97628
------------------------------------------

aaphotog

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1240 on: May 18, 2013, 03:47:12 AM »
5D3 update files. Replace existing files. 
https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B7QlH_BH2m32QjRhRDhUeVBwZmM&usp=sharing
includes cf_acc: module as noted on http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5471.msg36588#msg36588

is this a build with the issues that everyone is mentioning just a few posts above yours?

lourenco

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1241 on: May 18, 2013, 03:53:31 AM »
is this a build with the issues that everyone is mentioning just a few posts above yours?
I just posted that new build. He was having issues with older one for some reason. It has worked fine for others. I just sent him a message to try to help him.
5D Mark III, CF Lexar 1000X 32GB, 24-105 F4L

aaphotog

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1242 on: May 18, 2013, 04:01:54 AM »
I just posted that new build. He was having issues with older one for some reason. It has worked fine for others. I just sent him a message to try to help him.
ok. I appreciate it. Ill edit the link in my newest compiled build thread, if you dont mind

Colemar

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 52
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1243 on: May 18, 2013, 04:25:34 AM »
confirmed, lourenco helped me out and the build works great.

bumkicho

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1244 on: May 18, 2013, 04:38:08 AM »
Huh? works for me for 5GB files (didn't try larger)

How did you record over 4GB?

N/A

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
  • Dreaming in 14 bit
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1245 on: May 18, 2013, 04:51:45 AM »
Did record some test footage with a lighter with the edmac_poppin...


you can read everything in the youtube description...

got 2 pink frames... but camera also skipped 2...

with the raw_hdr versions i think i never got any magenta frames

Edit: flickering comes from 2 crt monitores!
Try 1280x 400 in 720p mode, fps override at 23.98 optimized for low light, 1/24 shutter. Then just stretch the 400 to 644.
This vid was 1280x 400 in 640x480 mode, iso 6400 cleaned up with neat video. I think vimeo did noise reduction as well, the original file had WAY more noise...

7D. 600D. Rokinon 35 cine. Sigma 30 1.4
Audio and video recording/production, Random Photography
Want to help with the latest development but don't know how to compile?

squig

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
  • Crash test dummy MK3
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1246 on: May 18, 2013, 05:17:46 AM »
What is you point?  Just sarcasm?

No offence intended.

Colemar

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 52
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1247 on: May 18, 2013, 05:19:00 AM »
@N/A,
   Dan Hudgins http://www.dancad3d.com/ is currently working on fixed-pattern noise reduction and figuring out what exactly is going on with Canon's 14bit buffer...I'll post back more info in the next couple days as to his findings.

squig

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
  • Crash test dummy MK3
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1248 on: May 18, 2013, 05:31:37 AM »
5D3 update files. Replace existing files. 
https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B7QlH_BH2m32QjRhRDhUeVBwZmM&usp=sharing
includes cf_acc: module as noted on http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5471.msg36588#msg36588

Cool thanks. I'll take the kids out for a bike ride and put a1exs judder fix to the test.

N/A

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
  • Dreaming in 14 bit
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #1249 on: May 18, 2013, 05:38:10 AM »
@N/A,
   Dan Hudgins http://www.dancad3d.com/ is currently working on fixed-pattern noise reduction and figuring out what exactly is going on with Canon's 14bit buffer...I'll post back more info in the next couple days as to his findings.
Cool, that's the only issue I'm seeing now. Good times, good times...

Headed to the beach tomorrow, looks like I'll be lugging my cam and MacBook along with me.
7D. 600D. Rokinon 35 cine. Sigma 30 1.4
Audio and video recording/production, Random Photography
Want to help with the latest development but don't know how to compile?