[FIXED] Autofocus (AF) with Intervalometer

Started by paulredcopters, January 29, 2013, 05:42:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

paulredcopters

Like several other posters, I need to use autofocus with the intervalometer. (It's because we are fitting the camera to a remote helicopter, and one flight profile may call for both long shots and close-ups).

I understand the feature has already been implemented. See this thread:

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=2313.msg8925#msg8925

So, I 'simply' need to go the Repository, find a release dated after Aug 25th, and er load it. Or compile it or something.

Not sure about this guys, I'm a photographer, not a software engineer. For starters, could someone recommend any particular release in the Repository: there are HUNDREDS! Is there a recent one that is regarded as being battle-ready?

And is there a step-by-step instruction for a dummy like myself to install it?

Camera is Canon 550D with latest Canon SW.

Francis

Everyday the current source is compiled automatically to create a 'Nightly build.' These builds are available for download at http://nanomad.magiclantern.fm/nightly/

Download the ZIP and extract the folder. Then copy the files in the folder onto your card which already has ML installed. This will overwrite the autoexec.bin file. That is the executable which contains all the updates. Now you can put the card back into the camera and boot like normal. There is no need to go through the firmware update step or anything like that.

Note that sometimes features become unintentionally broken by changes in the nightlies. If you discover something isn't working the way it did in the stable release, then just report it and it will probably get straightened out in a day or 2.

paulredcopters

Thanks for the guidance Francis. Successfully downloaded and installed Build 2013Jan27.550D109