Hey Everybody! Question about upgrading from older version to 2.3

Started by drockfools, January 02, 2013, 03:29:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

drockfools

Hope everybody has had a good holiday so far!

I'm a film student with a t2i and I have some questions regarding updating my old Magic Lantern to the new 2.3 version. Post a reply back if you'd be willing to help me out.

Thanks!

Francis

Welcome.  You will probably get more responses if you just go ahead and ask your questions.

drockfools

haha I guess you make a good point. My questions is, I already have the older version of Magic Lantern and have all the files that are needed on my 8gb SD Card to run it fine and it does. I downloaded the new Magic Latern and extracted the files, but do I first need to format my card from the camera, (deleting) the old version of Magic Latern? Does that completely remove the software or are there other steps? I have a macbook pro that I use to do all this with,

Thanks you

Francis

The boot process should still be the same, so you could just delete the old ML files and put the new files on there, assuming that the Canon firmware version is compatible. With older versions, you only had to replace the autoexec.bin file to upgrade but there is a new directory structure with v. 2.3 so be sure to completely remove the old files as well as copy the entire contents of the v.2.3 download onto the card.

drockfools

Ok, so I delete these files which are the older versrion minus DCIM and MISC,

and replace them with the newly updated files. (Are these the all the files that come with the 2.3 version?)

If so, do I just go and update the firmware or is there another step I should take before doing that?

Francis

Yep those are all the files. If you didn't format the card in between moving all the files, it should still be bootable and you won't even need to go through the firmware update step.