Author Topic: Old flashes on DSLR's (question)  (Read 11088 times)

ItsMeLenny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 928
  • 550D
Old flashes on DSLR's (question)
« on: December 27, 2012, 07:02:14 AM »
I have a 550D, and I have recently picked up a Canon speedlite 299T. It's an old flash from an automatic SLR.
What are the rules for using flashes on DSLR's. The sync voltage problems and what not.
This has 3 pins on it, I've seen things about taping 2 of the pins.
How does one test (or reliably find) the sync voltage of a flash and the sync voltage of the camera?
Do I need to build kind of a surge protector to go in between the flash and the camera?

Francis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 818
Re: Old flashes on DSLR's (question)
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2012, 07:28:54 AM »
Canons can only take up to 6V from the flash. Some older flashes can put out up to 400V from the trigger pin. I would search for that specific model or if you have a voltage meter take a reading from the center pin and the outside of the shoe.

scrax

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1543
  • Code monkey
Re: Old flashes on DSLR's (question)
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2012, 07:52:22 AM »
The Canon 299T flash has a trigger voltage of 4.75 volts based on the information provided on http://www.botzilla.com/photo/strobeVolts.html  ;)
I'm using ML2.3 for photography with:
EOS 600DML | EOS 400Dplus | EOS 5D MLbeta5- EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro  - EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM - EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM - 580EXII - OsX, PS, LR, RawTherapee, LightZone -no video experience-

ItsMeLenny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 928
  • 550D
Re: Old flashes on DSLR's (question)
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2012, 08:08:31 AM »
Ah. I had seen that site as well. Thanks for the help. I will get my friend to voltmeter test it just to be safe as well.
If anybody else has anything to add, be much appreciated as well.

Smartie

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Old flashes on DSLR's (question)
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2013, 09:27:17 PM »
Older Canon flashes generally  -work- on newer Canon cameras except you loose the automatic control and must set the exposure manually.  If you start putting 3rd party flashes then the trigger voltage can be a problem because they were designed to work on many brands not just Canon (it would have been a huge design flaw if a canon flash could damage a canon camera).  So your flash will probably not hurt anything, but its going to be very limited.

coutts

  • Developer
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 401
Re: Old flashes on DSLR's (question)
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2013, 04:23:44 PM »
Careful - I fried my first dslr (400D / Rebel XTi) by using an old flash with it. Research before putting it on the camera :)

ItsMeLenny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 928
  • 550D
Re: Old flashes on DSLR's (question)
« Reply #6 on: March 10, 2013, 05:34:35 AM »
Careful - I fried my first dslr (400D / Rebel XTi) by using an old flash with it. Research before putting it on the camera :)

I'd be interested in knowing what flash you used.

msowsun

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Old flashes on DSLR's (question)
« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2013, 03:34:24 PM »
I have a 550D, and I have recently picked up a Canon speedlite 299T. It's an old flash from an automatic SLR.
What are the rules for using flashes on DSLR's. The sync voltage problems and what not.
This has 3 pins on it, I've seen things about taping 2 of the pins.
How does one test (or reliably find) the sync voltage of a flash and the sync voltage of the camera?
Do I need to build kind of a surge protector to go in between the flash and the camera?

The Canon 299T is probably the BEST old flash to use on a Canon DSLR. While it is old, it does have enough features to make it very usable.  It has bounce and swivel head and can operate in Auto mode via a light sensor at the front of the flash.  Just set the ISO and aperture on the flash to match the camera and you are "good to go".

Here is a link to a free online manual for the Canon 299T:  http://www.cameramanuals.org/flashes_meters/canon_speedlite_299t.pdf
SL1 100D.100B

ToniX

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: Old flashes on DSLR's (question)
« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2013, 11:57:09 PM »
Interesting topic.
I've just got yesterday (thanks uncle) a Canon 540EZ speedlite.
It is quite heavy but looks nice.
Any one knows if any chance to controll it remotely,maybe coupled wireless to the camera flash (600D).
600D - EFs18-55 ISII

ItsMeLenny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 928
  • 550D
Re: Old flashes on DSLR's (question)
« Reply #9 on: July 09, 2013, 03:56:23 AM »
I don't think it has wireless. Neither the flash or the camera.
So you would need both a transmitter for your camera and a receiver for your flash.

ToniX

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: Old flashes on DSLR's (question)
« Reply #10 on: July 09, 2013, 10:52:45 AM »
to  ItsMeLenny, thanks.

maybe, do you know what should I have to check/measure, in order to safely use the 540EZ on 600D?

Thank you
600D - EFs18-55 ISII

ItsMeLenny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 928
  • 550D
Re: Old flashes on DSLR's (question)
« Reply #11 on: July 09, 2013, 03:49:45 PM »
I was under the impression that flash was an EOS flash.
http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/consumer/products/cameras/speedlite_flash_lineup
http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/support/consumer/eos_slr_camera_systems/flashes/speedlite_540ez
You might have to double check that though.
This site lists lots of flashes voltages
http://www.botzilla.com/photo/strobeVolts.html
and I think it also explains how to measure the volts.
If not you just need a volt meter and test between the contacts on the bottom of it when it flashes.

ToniX

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: Old flashes on DSLR's (question)
« Reply #12 on: July 13, 2013, 03:32:52 PM »
I have a multimeter, I will check.
Is it there a value to refer , in order to know if it is safe or not to use it?

thanks
600D - EFs18-55 ISII

Francis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 818
Re: Old flashes on DSLR's (question)
« Reply #13 on: July 13, 2013, 07:34:12 PM »
< 6volts is safe I believe.