Author Topic: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2  (Read 1067829 times)

ianwebb66

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1500 on: January 07, 2014, 11:42:34 PM »
Got it all working on my 7d thanks for the help... ;D

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1501 on: January 09, 2014, 02:15:38 PM »
Now put the CF card in your computer. Delete the firmware.fir and the other files.
Open EOScard.exe, click EOS_DEVELOP, BOOTDISK, right-click the ML icon, select Ports in progress and click 7d 2.0.3 alpha2.
Wait until is downloaded and click Save in the upper right corner. ----> Nothing happend   :-[ :-[



1. Format card on PC (must use card reader) and then format on Camera.
2. Just get the latest ML files from here: http://builds.magiclantern.fm/#/
3. Put these files on the card.
4. Open EOScard
5. Make sure EOS Develop box is selected, Bootdisk box is selected and simply click on Save.  If all goes well the card will be made bootable and a "write sucessfull" message will appear on the bottom of EOScard.
6. Card back on 7D...
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

Kea

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1502 on: January 09, 2014, 02:20:41 PM »
In the nightly builds of the 7D I´m missing the Menu item "Shutter Lock".
Is it possible to insert it there somehow?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12422
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1503 on: January 09, 2014, 02:24:57 PM »

Kea

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1504 on: January 09, 2014, 03:20:22 PM »
Sorry, but with this button I can lock the shutter?
On my 7D I can lockk the aperture, but not the shutter
Am I wrong?.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12422
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1505 on: January 09, 2014, 03:31:57 PM »
On 5D3 I can choose which wheel(s) I want to lock. On 7D, I think you need to go to custom controls and assign the shutter speed to the rear dial (there may be an easier way, didn't look too hard).

http://www.learn.usa.canon.com/resources/blogs/2013/20131112_chan_lockswitch_blog.shtml
http://reviews.cnet.com/2300-6501_7-10001790-6.html

Kea

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1506 on: January 09, 2014, 07:43:35 PM »
Thanks for your answers and sorry for my bad english.

But, I film with three cameras (7D, 5Dm2 and 600D) and would like to have always the same worklfow.
The 5Dm2 and 600D have the Menu item "Shutter Lock", therefore, I would like to use it also on my 7D.

But if that is not possible I have to make it just as you have recommended.

Thank you.

BushanBengaluru

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1507 on: January 12, 2014, 06:38:15 AM »
I installed 10 jan firmware.
With kit lens and RAW video worked fine.
one things I found, Canon 50 f1.8 was not auto focusing.  Overlay under trap focus was showing wrong aperture value. It was identifying the lens but not the f value.  I had uninstall.


Can Anyone suggest where to report bugs? For current firmware?

Brawl

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 206
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1508 on: January 18, 2014, 02:27:42 AM »
the download link at forst post do not work it give to me 403 error. can you give me please the safest and updated files to downlad to install ML on my 7D?
thanks,

Brawl



one things I found, Canon 50 f1.8 was not auto focusing.  Overlay under trap focus was showing wrong aperture value. It was identifying the lens but not the f value.  I had uninstall.


 
do you mean for photos? if you do not start magic lantern does the autofocus work? I have the canon 50 1.8 as my primary lens for work and it's important. thanks

marv_b

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1509 on: January 19, 2014, 05:03:57 PM »
Firstly greetings all !
Has anyone done an installation tutorial for the 7D Raw ML on youtube or other video site ?
That could save so much confusion ?
I do apologise if this has already been done.
Marv_B

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7339
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1510 on: January 19, 2014, 05:15:29 PM »
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

marv_b

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1511 on: January 20, 2014, 11:03:59 AM »
Thank you Walter point noted !
there are indeed multiple instances, ML here I come.
ML Dev team rocks !

kphadke

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1512 on: January 21, 2014, 02:56:46 PM »
I cannot see the 7D download in the nightly build dropdown menu at http://builds.magiclantern.fm/#/ .. am I missing something here .. thanks in advance



1. Format card on PC (must use card reader) and then format on Camera.
2. Just get the latest ML files from here: http://builds.magiclantern.fm/#/
3. Put these files on the card.
4. Open EOScard
5. Make sure EOS Develop box is selected, Bootdisk box is selected and simply click on Save.  If all goes well the card will be made bootable and a "write sucessfull" message will appear on the bottom of EOScard.
6. Card back on 7D...

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7339
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1513 on: January 21, 2014, 03:17:46 PM »
am I missing something here ..

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=3072.msg97314#msg97314
Don't know anything about the discussions in the background but this thing doesn't sound good ...

Ciao
Walter
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

ArturoKiwi

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1514 on: January 24, 2014, 11:39:03 AM »
Sorry for the silly question, it's awhilethat I don't update ML on my 7D if I need the most updated files where I could find them?

Thanks

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7339
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!


tcp

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1517 on: January 25, 2014, 12:23:06 AM »
does magic lantern.7D.203.Alpha2 supports new Eos 7D Firmware 2.0.5 ?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7339
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1518 on: January 25, 2014, 12:37:49 AM »

magic lantern.7D.203
                          ^^^ hinthinthint
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

tcp

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1519 on: January 25, 2014, 01:15:49 AM »
Woops.

Sorry..

I upgraded to 2.0.5, maybe that gives me error.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7339
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1520 on: January 25, 2014, 01:21:19 AM »
- If you want to stay on 2.0.5 you won't be able to use ML until ML for this very firmware version is done.
- If you want to use ML now, you have to downgrade to firmware 2.0.3.

As time of writing ML checks for the proper firmware version and will not load if check fails.

Ciao
Walter
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

marv_b

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1521 on: January 28, 2014, 12:46:38 AM »
you are doing a stirling job Walter - thanks

richrich

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1522 on: January 28, 2014, 01:10:46 AM »
HI, I just installed ML alpha 2 on my 7d and noticed that my Sandisk extreme 32gb CF card gets hot...even when I am not trying to record raw. Any Idea why this is happening?

feureau

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 604
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1523 on: January 29, 2014, 02:25:45 AM »
- If you want to stay on 2.0.5 you won't be able to use ML until ML for this very firmware version is done.

Any news on 2.0.5 ML btw? Haven't heard anything since the first flurry

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1524 on: January 29, 2014, 02:28:10 AM »
Nothing new yet, haven't had the chance to work on it or much of anything. :(