Author Topic: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.3  (Read 1123121 times)

JLL

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #850 on: April 06, 2015, 06:02:08 PM »
Hello everybody,

without knowing that JLL is already working on a 6D.116 port, I did a little work myself.

The resulting source code can be found here: https://bitbucket.org/Maqs/magic-lantern/branch/6D.116



Seems to be running so far, but as I am rather a hacker than a user, I could be missing something.  Read this as: please test! ;)

For those of you how want to try the 6D.116 work-in-progress:

Some modules may not work, as they check explicitly for 6D.113.

There may also be bugs. The usual disclaimers apply.

Thanks to Maqs, I've been able to fill in the values I was missing.
ML seems to run fine on 6D with firmware 116. I haven't done any extensive tests yet though.
Anyone who wants to try it can test the binary provided by Maqs.

grey

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #851 on: April 06, 2015, 11:50:03 PM »
6D raw-video (MLV) magiclantern-Nightly.2015Mar29.6D113

Pressing the zoom-button after starting the record let the camera hang. I have to remove the akku. This happens to both, cropped and uncropped mode.
No error-log.

Settings:
Code: [Select]
File Header (MLVI)
    Size        : 0x00000034
    Ver         : v2.0
    GUID        : 17734420877966396944
    FPS         : 29.921000
    File        : 0 / 0
    Frames Video: 0
    Frames Audio: 0
Block: RAWI
  Offset: 0x00000034
    Size: 180
    Time: 154.693000 ms
    Res:  960x540
    raw_info:
      api_version      0x00000001
      height           988
      width            2768
      pitch            4844
      frame_size       0x004906D0
      bits_per_pixel   14
      black_level      2047
      white_level      13000
      active_area.y1   28
      active_area.x1   80
      active_area.y2   988
      active_area.x2   2768
      exposure_bias    0, 0
      cfa_pattern      0x02010100
      calibration_ill  1
Block: INFO
  Offset: 0x000000e8
    Size: 16
    Time: 158.302000 ms
Block: RTCI
  Offset: 0x000000f8
    Size: 44
    Time: 0.001000 ms
     Date:        06.04.2015
     Time:        13:27:09 (GMT+0)
     Zone:        ''
     Day of week: 1
     Day of year: 95
     Daylight s.: 0
Block: EXPO
  Offset: 0x00000124
    Size: 40
    Time: 0.002000 ms
     ISO Mode:   0
     ISO:        800
     ISO Analog: 96
     ISO DGain:  0/1024 EV
     Shutter:    29999 µs (1/33.33)
Block: LENS
  Offset: 0x0000014c
    Size: 96
    Time: 0.003000 ms
     Name:        '70-300mm'
     Serial:      ''
     Focal Len:   300 mm
     Focus Dist:  245 mm
     Aperture:    f/8.00
     IS Mode:     0
     AF Mode:     3
     Lens ID:     0x0000009C
     Flags:       0x00000000
Block: IDNT
  Offset: 0x000001ac
    Size: 84
    Time: 0.004000 ms
     Camera Name:   'Canon EOS 6D'
     Camera Serial: '3AE92ACF8F'
     Camera Model:  0x80000302
Block: WBAL
  Offset: 0x00000200
    Size: 44
    Time: 0.005000 ms
     Mode:   0
     Kelvin:   8100
     Gain R:   496
     Gain G:   1024
     Gain B:   616
     Shift GM:   -1
     Shift BA:   0
Block: STYL
  Offset: 0x0000022c
    Size: 52
    Time: 0.006000 ms
     picStyle:   135
     contrast:   0
     sharpness:  3
     saturation: 0
     colortone:  0
Reached end of chunk 1/10 after 9 blocks
File Header (MLVI)
    Size        : 0x00000034
    Ver         : v2.0
    GUID        : 17734420877966396944
    FPS         : 29.921000
    File        : 1 / 0
    Frames Video: 0
    Frames Audio: 0
Reached end of chunk 2/10 after 1 blocks
File Header (MLVI)
    Size        : 0x00000034
    Ver         : v2.0
    GUID        : 17734420877966396944
    FPS         : 29.921000
    File        : 2 / 0
    Frames Video: 0
    Frames Audio: 0
Reached end of chunk 3/10 after 1 blocks
File Header (MLVI)
    Size        : 0x00000034
    Ver         : v2.0
    GUID        : 17734420877966396944
    FPS         : 29.921000
    File        : 3 / 0
    Frames Video: 0
    Frames Audio: 0
Reached end of chunk 4/10 after 1 blocks
File Header (MLVI)
    Size        : 0x00000034
    Ver         : v2.0
    GUID        : 17734420877966396944
    FPS         : 29.921000
    File        : 4 / 0
    Frames Video: 0
    Frames Audio: 0
Reached end of chunk 5/10 after 1 blocks
File Header (MLVI)
    Size        : 0x00000034
    Ver         : v2.0
    GUID        : 17734420877966396944
    FPS         : 29.921000
    File        : 5 / 0
    Frames Video: 0
    Frames Audio: 0
Reached end of chunk 6/10 after 1 blocks
File Header (MLVI)
    Size        : 0x00000034
    Ver         : v2.0
    GUID        : 17734420877966396944
    FPS         : 29.921000
    File        : 6 / 0
    Frames Video: 0
    Frames Audio: 0
Reached end of chunk 7/10 after 1 blocks
File Header (MLVI)
    Size        : 0x00000034
    Ver         : v2.0
    GUID        : 17734420877966396944
    FPS         : 29.921000
    File        : 7 / 0
    Frames Video: 0
    Frames Audio: 0
Reached end of chunk 8/10 after 1 blocks
File Header (MLVI)
    Size        : 0x00000034
    Ver         : v2.0
    GUID        : 17734420877966396944
    FPS         : 29.921000
    File        : 8 / 0
    Frames Video: 0
    Frames Audio: 0
Reached end of chunk 9/10 after 1 blocks
File Header (MLVI)
    Size        : 0x00000034
    Ver         : v2.0
    GUID        : 17734420877966396944
    FPS         : 29.921000
    File        : 9 / 0
    Frames Video: 0
    Frames Audio: 0
Reached end of chunk 10/10 after 1 blocks
Processed 0 video frames
Done

Edgar
I have same issue. But magiczoom works great when activated by focus ring, not by Zoom button.

grey

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #852 on: April 07, 2015, 02:43:00 AM »
BUG in latest nightly: In mlv module appeared options for card spanning and CF buffers.

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3588
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #853 on: April 07, 2015, 04:28:53 AM »
Is it only in the latest build Changeset: de7779d?

Or the one beforehand also Changeset: 2794562?

DeeSnood

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #854 on: April 07, 2015, 01:29:41 PM »
Hey guys and gals,

Newbie here. Just found out about ML (but I did use CHDK a few years ago, so not new to hacking my cameras).

My 6D has 114 on it. What's the recommendation / best option? Downgrade to 113 and use the stable build of ML, or upgrade to 116 and go with one of these 116 builds?

My primary reasons for install ML are for focus peaking and intervalometer.
-6D.113-

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7220
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #855 on: April 07, 2015, 01:35:00 PM »
There is no stable build for 6D. Only version "officially" distributed is Nightly Build for firmware 1.1.3.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

escho

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 562
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #856 on: April 07, 2015, 08:55:39 PM »
I have same issue. But magiczoom works great when activated by focus ring, not by Zoom button.

magic zoom is not my problem. My problem ist, that I have to operate with my camera blindly and can push this button accidentdly. It´s quite dark, when I´m doing my astrofotografie  ;)
Edgar
https://sternenkarten.com/
600D, 6D, openSUSE Tumbleweed

grey

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #857 on: April 08, 2015, 12:28:31 AM »
magic zoom is not my problem. My problem ist, that I have to operate with my camera blindly and can push this button accidentdly. It´s quite dark, when I´m doing my astrofotografie  ;)
Edgar

I clearly understand you. I am just note, that if magiczoom is enabled, and activated by ring camera did not crash. Camera crashes after Zoom button pushed, no matter enabled or disabled MZ.

Is it only in the latest build Changeset: de7779d?

Or the one beforehand also Changeset: 2794562?

i'm not shure, but i think i see it first time in 07.04 build.

DeeSnood

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #858 on: April 10, 2015, 01:31:40 AM »
Not sure how you peeps are quoting in your messages here, I see no "Quote" or "Reply-with-quote" buttons on the messages here. Very strange.

I'll try some manual tags...

Quote
There is no stable build for 6D. Only version "officially" distributed is Nightly Build for firmware 1.1.3.

OK, that worked. Rather strange though.

Anyway, thanks Walter.

Successfully downgraded from 114 to 113 and got the Mar 7th daily working nicely. From start to finish, less than 30 minutes to get going.

Now the video feature on my 6D may just be useful thanks to ML's focus peaking. I really don't see how anyone without ML is successfully filming anything with a varying focal distance unless they've got an external monitor and a focus puller. Or they're just shooting with f27 and having everything possible in focus.
-6D.113-

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #859 on: April 10, 2015, 10:39:13 AM »
The standard canon video modus on the 6d, compared to raw, is so soft that you won't notice if something is a little out of focus  :P

grey

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #860 on: April 14, 2015, 03:03:16 AM »
What about errors in MLV module? CF buffers and card spaning options is not removed in current nightly.  :( And if it's possible, please correct framing box for 1824 x *** resolution for RAW and MLV.

There is a possibility that audio menu will be done soon?

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3588
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #861 on: April 14, 2015, 05:05:45 AM »
Confirm which build the error started with.

grey

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #862 on: April 14, 2015, 05:34:03 AM »
Confirm which build the error started with.

From previous build from 07/04/2015.

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3588
  • Blunt and to the point

KelvinK

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
  • Less words, more films
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #864 on: April 14, 2015, 02:21:42 PM »
We had 1792 max before, now it's 1824. Any chance get more horizontal resolution with less record timing?
6D - 5D - NEX - M50!

grey

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #865 on: April 14, 2015, 06:32:52 PM »
We had 1792 max before, now it's 1824. Any chance get more horizontal resolution with less record timing?

We alwais had 1824, and Canon have only 1824 and then upscale it to 1920 and recorf in h/264 format. 1824 px is maximum resolution of sensor in 3*3 skip mode.

KelvinK

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
  • Less words, more films
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #866 on: April 15, 2015, 08:51:12 AM »
We alwais had 1824, and Canon have only 1824 and then upscale it to 1920 and recorf in h/264 format. 1824 px is maximum resolution of sensor in 3*3 skip mode.

didn't know about canon max resolution, but for sure 1824 in raw featured only in very latest builds, it was 1792 before that, we had year ago 1808, but later it was gone. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AgQ2MOkAZTFHdFFIcFp1d0R5TzVPTVJXOEVyUndteGc#gid=5
6D - 5D - NEX - M50!

redlyon

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #867 on: April 15, 2015, 12:04:24 PM »
the best would be to have clean HDMI output as well as for 5dmkiii, but I'm beginning to think that this will never happen...

grey

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #868 on: April 16, 2015, 05:51:29 PM »
didn't know about canon max resolution, but for sure 1824 in raw featured only in very latest builds, it was 1792 before that, we had year ago 1808, but later it was gone. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AgQ2MOkAZTFHdFFIcFp1d0R5TzVPTVJXOEVyUndteGc#gid=5

Max resolurion is well known. 5472/3=1824. 5d2 and 5d3 have higher resolution because they have more Mpixel sensors.

the best would be to have clean HDMI output as well as for 5dmkiii, but I'm beginning to think that this will never happen...

Clean HDMI is impossible, because there is no Full HD source in camera.

All this IMHO.

redlyon

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #869 on: April 16, 2015, 11:37:26 PM »
Clean HDMI is impossible, because there is no Full HD source in camera.

All this IMHO.
I don't know, but also the 5dmkIII at the beginning was like 6D, then with a firmware update canon has enabled the clean hdmi output .....

grey

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #870 on: April 17, 2015, 01:45:04 AM »
I don't know, but also the 5dmkIII at the beginning was like 6D, then with a firmware update canon has enabled the clean hdmi output .....

5d3 have true Full HD/1920 resolution from sensor, and can output it to HDMI point-by-point. 6D have only 1824 px directly from sensor, so if it output video to HDMI without software enlarging, video will have black framing.

SuperMouseDV

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #871 on: April 17, 2015, 02:43:24 AM »
I wouldn't mind if software enlargement was used to help fill the screen and get rid of the boarders.

guru_rb

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #872 on: April 18, 2015, 11:32:18 AM »
Hi All,

A question from a newbie here. I am trying to shoot low fps video with as slow a shutter speed as possible, ideally 6 fps video (5.995 actual) with 1/6 sec shutter speed. Strangely I am some times getting 1/6 but some times camera refuses to go slower than 1/7 sec. I am trying to make some light painting videos where minimising the gap between frames is critical. Can somebody help with this? Camera is running 1.1.3.

Regards,
Guru

SuperMouseDV

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #873 on: April 18, 2015, 11:40:57 AM »
I have had it happen again where a card freaks out and gives me the initialize card error. Found a working solution if you have a friend with a Mac you can use disk utilities to repair the card it will then it will repair the boot record on the chip and no loss of video. I have had to do this 3 times so I know it works. The first time I had it happen I didn't know about the disk utility repair. And formatted the chip and used $60 in recovery software but the video was corrupt. This way does not corrupt the footage. But it only works if you get the error screen that asks if you want to initialize ignore or eject screen (click ignore of course) then load disk utility then run disk repair. If you don't get that and only get the ignore/eject error eject the card and try again. It you cannot get the Initialize/ignore/eject error message keep trying but if you can't I do not know what to say as I did have a card that took 6 tried to get working (micro sd in a Microsoft to sd converter.  )Hope this helps others. This has only happened to me while using magic lantern..

Marsu42

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1557
  • 66d + flashes
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #874 on: April 19, 2015, 08:22:31 PM »
Concerning the 6d.116 port: Thanks maqs & jlgw for the work (even double the amount :-p).

1. It would be nice if both attempts would be merged, jlgw looks a bit more complete right now (including the stub for SetAudioVolumeIn), but maqs has some patches for modules jlgw doesn't have. Here's the wrap:

https://bitbucket.org/JLGW/magic-lantern/branches/compare/6D-116%0Dunified#diff
https://bitbucket.org/Maqs/magic-lantern/branches/compare/6D.116%0Dunified#diff

2. Personally, I won't use 1.1.6 until it can beep() - can it?

Otherwise (even if Alex will cry out in pain) it needs an update to 1%'s cache hack, I'd rather have some odd err70 crash now and then if multiple beeps occur in quick succession than having no beep at all as I rely so much on it for blind camera operation. I know this won't make it into mainline ML, but for personal builds it's better than nothing.

There is 1%'s source mod for 1.1.3 with his run_hacks() (see https://bitbucket.org/OtherOnePercent/tragic-lantern-6d/src/05b95b89c05e/src/beep.c) which probably needs some updated HIJACK_ addresses (see https://bitbucket.org/OtherOnePercent/tragic-lantern-6d/src/a2952db9d4dfb0180f61eb596741b251991c9b2a/platform/6D.113/consts.h?at=unified)