600D or 60D With EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens For Trade Show?

Started by Ma2T, December 08, 2012, 02:32:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ma2T

Hi guys,

I've been following ML for over a year now, and am very impressed.

I'm attending CES trade show early next year and am planning on filming a lot., (with a directional mic).

I currently have the 450D with the newer EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens.

I'm on a tight budget. I was planning on getting the T3i (600D), but for about $100 more I can get the 60D body only.

I'm now leaning towards the 60D and using my EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens / 50mm prime.   For just $100 more it seems to make sence to make the jump up the ladder some what.

I have been looking around for the last few hours.  I hope I'm not missing anything.  And assume it will work with my lens okay.

I'm a keen photographer, but plan on filming tradeshows, and maybe some more arty stuff.

Thank you SO much.  I'd really appreciate an input or 2 cents.

1%

60D has better build quality. 600D has better video. Kit lens will work on pretty much anything, but you usually need something better than that. Audio will limit video quality on both cameras. Its more or less a tossup.

Ma2T

Many thanks for your reply 1%.

I like the idea of the better build quality, I often leave my camera out for timelapse, and dew can build up etc, and will look to upgrade the lens when I can.  I'm hoping audio won't be too much of a problem with an external mic.

Slightly disappointed to hear video is better on the 600D.  Maybe I ask how it is better?

Thanks so much.

1%

Crop mode and files over 4gb as well as a few more bit rate hacks.

Ma2T

Ah okay. Thanks so much for your expert input 1%, really appreciated.

I'll take a look into both of these.

It would be great it there was a page showing differences, pros / cons for each camera for people looking to buy a camera with ML in mind.

Thanks again 1%!

scrax