Author Topic: Canon 650D [OLD]  (Read 1199267 times)

buckbullstallion

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1350 on: May 09, 2013, 02:05:40 PM »
Yes, the halfshutter test fails because it requires properties.
Thank you, will continue testing. I didn't do it but it looks tempting will the menu option that says don't test this brick my Camera?

RéaGeorge

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1351 on: May 09, 2013, 03:17:58 PM »
So I've started to go through all the settings checking things...

All the overlays basically seems to be working, with slightly glitchy graphics though, Magic Zoom is the worst, it shows up but is too glitchy to really use easily.

Zebras - OK

Focus Peak - OK

Magic Zoom - Works but with glitchy graphics

Cropmarks - OK

Ghost Image - OK

Spotmeter - OK

False Color - OK

Histogram - OK

Waveform - OK

Vectorscope - OK

Probably nothing new here....

I will continue to the next page (Movie) but do let me know if there's anything in particular I should look at.

blade

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1352 on: May 09, 2013, 03:34:02 PM »
Magic zoom is a know bug, nanomad has a fix, small side effect is that it freezes the camera :-)

Have you also tested the settings in the sub menu's? E.g. Zebras--> overexposure / underexposure etc.? Just wondering what you mean by ok.

And aldo it may be noting new, you confirm that it works! That's nice!
eos400D :: eos650D  :: Sigma 18-200 :: Canon 100mm macro

RéaGeorge

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1353 on: May 09, 2013, 03:35:50 PM »
Yeah tried to test the different settings within each option as well...

jippo1

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1354 on: May 09, 2013, 04:24:57 PM »
I just got ML installed on my camera, most of the stuff works perfectly except for the OVERLAY menu which is not working at all for me, I have Global Draw enabled but still nothing is working. Could anybody help? Thank You.

Lucas_W

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1355 on: May 09, 2013, 04:27:05 PM »
While in LiveView, press the INFO button a couple of times. That should do it.
Canon EOS 650D + Kit lens, EF 50mm 1.8 and 52mm polariser.

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1356 on: May 09, 2013, 04:30:54 PM »
RAW silent pics are working :)
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

blade

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1357 on: May 09, 2013, 04:41:19 PM »
RAW silent pics are working :)

Nice!!!!   
eos400D :: eos650D  :: Sigma 18-200 :: Canon 100mm macro

jippo1

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1358 on: May 09, 2013, 04:50:58 PM »
While in LiveView, press the INFO button a couple of times. That should do it.

Thank You very much, it worked perfectly.

ZiskinbMe

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1359 on: May 09, 2013, 05:45:34 PM »
hello
First thanks for magic lantern
second I run some test and this is my resolute:
*** stubs API test: 83 passed 3 fail
[Pass] strlen("abc") => 0x3
[Pass] strlen("qwertyuiop") => 0xa
[Pass] strlen("") => 0x0
[Pass] strcpy(msg, "hi there") => 0x1acd00
[Pass] msg => 'hi there'
[Pass] snprintf(a, sizeof(a), "foo") => 0x3
[Pass] snprintf(b, sizeof(b), "foo") => 0x3
[Pass] strcmp(a, b) => 0x0
[Pass] snprintf(a, sizeof(a), "bar") => 0x3
[Pass] snprintf(b, sizeof(b), "baz") => 0x3
[Pass] strcmp(a, b) => 0xfffffff8
[Pass] snprintf(a, sizeof(a), "Display") => 0x7
[Pass] snprintf(b, sizeof(b), "Defishing") => 0x9
[Pass] strcmp(a, b) => 0x4
[Pass] snprintf(buf, 3, "%d", 1234) => 0x2
[Pass] buf => '12'
[Pass] memcpy(foo, bar, 6) => 0x1acca0
[Pass] foo => 'asdfghuiop'
[Pass] memset(bar, '*', 5) => 0x1acc80
[Pass] bar => '*****hjkl;'
       bzero32(bar + 5, 5)
[Pass] bar => '****'
       t0 = *(uint32_t*)0xC0242014 => 0x79d2c
       msleep(250)
       t1 = *(uint32_t*)0xC0242014 => 0xbc73b
[Pass] ABS(mod(t1-t0, 1048576)/1000 - 250) => 0x16
       LoadCalendarFromRTC( &now )
       s0 = now.tm_sec => 0x2
       Date/time: 2013/05/09 14:32:02
       msleep(1500)
       LoadCalendarFromRTC( &now )
       s1 = now.tm_sec => 0x3
[Pass] mod(s1-s0, 60) => 0x1
[Pass] mod(s1-s0, 60) => 0x1
       m0 = MALLOC_FREE_MEMORY => 0x4f088
[Pass] p = malloc(50*1024) => 0xf0740
[Pass] CACHEABLE(p) => 0xf0740
       m1 = MALLOC_FREE_MEMORY => 0x42878
       free(p)
       m2 = MALLOC_FREE_MEMORY => 0x4f088
[Pass] ABS((m0-m1) - 50*1024) => 0x10
[Pass] ABS(m0-m2) => 0x0
       m0 = GetFreeMemForAllocateMemory() => 0x387240
[Pass] p = AllocateMemory(256*1024) => 0x801a34
[Pass] CACHEABLE(p) => 0x801a34
       m1 = GetFreeMemForAllocateMemory() => 0x347234
       FreeMemory(p)
       m2 = GetFreeMemForAllocateMemory() => 0x387240
[Pass] ABS((m0-m1) - 256*1024) => 0xc
[Pass] ABS(m0-m2) => 0x0
       m01 = MALLOC_FREE_MEMORY => 0x4f088
       m02 = GetFreeMemForAllocateMemory() => 0x387240
[Pass] p = alloc_dma_memory(256*1024) => 0x40801a74
[Pass] UNCACHEABLE(p) => 0x40801a74
[Pass] CACHEABLE(p) => 0x801a74
[Pass] UNCACHEABLE(CACHEABLE(p)) => 0x40801a74
       free_dma_memory(p)
[FAIL] p = (void*)shoot_malloc(24*1024*1024) => 0x0
[FAIL] UNCACHEABLE(p) => 0x40000000
       shoot_free(p)
       m11 = MALLOC_FREE_MEMORY => 0x4f088
       m12 = GetFreeMemForAllocateMemory() => 0x387240
[Pass] ABS(m01-m11) => 0x0
[Pass] ABS(m02-m12) => 0x0
       EngDrvOut(0xC0F14400, 0x1234)
[Pass] shamem_read(0xC0F14400) => 0x1234
       call("TurnOnDisplay")
[Pass] DISPLAY_IS_ON => 0x1
       call("TurnOffDisplay")
[Pass] DISPLAY_IS_ON => 0x0
       call("TurnOnDisplay")
[Pass] DISPLAY_IS_ON => 0x1
       SetGUIRequestMode(1); msleep(1000);
[Pass] CURRENT_DIALOG_MAYBE => 0x1
       SetGUIRequestMode(2); msleep(1000);
[Pass] CURRENT_DIALOG_MAYBE => 0x2
       SetGUIRequestMode(0); msleep(1000);
[Pass] CURRENT_DIALOG_MAYBE => 0x0
[Pass] display_idle() => 0x1
       GUI_Control(BGMT_PLAY, 0, 0, 0); msleep(500);
[Pass] PLAY_MODE => 0x1
[Pass] MENU_MODE => 0x0
       GUI_Control(BGMT_MENU, 0, 0, 0); msleep(500);
[Pass] MENU_MODE => 0x1
[Pass] PLAY_MODE => 0x0
[Pass] MEM(dialog->type) => 0x4c414944
       GUI_Control(BGMT_MENU, 0, 0, 0); msleep(500);
[Pass] MENU_MODE => 0x0
[Pass] PLAY_MODE => 0x0
       task_create("test", 0x1c, 0x1000, test_task, 0) => 0x204a00ac
[Pass] test_task_created => 0x1
[Pass] get_task_name_from_id((unsigned int)get_current_task()) => 'run_test'
[Pass] mq = mq ? mq : (void*)msg_queue_create("test", 5) => 0x209600b0
[Pass] msg_queue_post(mq, 0x1234567) => 0x0
[Pass] msg_queue_receive(mq, (struct event **) &m, 500) => 0x0
[Pass] m => 0x1234567
[Pass] msg_queue_receive(mq, (struct event **) &m, 500) => 0x9
[Pass] sem = sem ? sem : create_named_semaphore("test", 1) => 0x212e01e2
[Pass] take_semaphore(sem, 500) => 0x0
[Pass] take_semaphore(sem, 500) => 0x9
[Pass] give_semaphore(sem) => 0x0
[Pass] take_semaphore(sem, 500) => 0x0
[Pass] give_semaphore(sem) => 0x0
[Pass] rlock = rlock ? rlock : CreateRecursiveLock(0) => 0x21d20042
[Pass] AcquireRecursiveLock(rlock, 500) => 0x0
[Pass] AcquireRecursiveLock(rlock, 500) => 0x0
[Pass] ReleaseRecursiveLock(rlock) => 0x0
[Pass] ReleaseRecursiveLock(rlock) => 0x0
[Pass] ReleaseRecursiveLock(rlock) => 0xf
[Pass] f = FIO_CreateFileEx(CARD_DRIVE"test.dat") => 0x4
[Pass] FIO_WriteFile(f, (void*)ROMBASEADDR, 0x10000) => 0x10000
[Pass] FIO_WriteFile(f, (void*)ROMBASEADDR, 0x10000) => 0x10000
       FIO_CloseFile(f)
[Pass] FIO_GetFileSize(CARD_DRIVE"test.dat", &size) => 0x0
[Pass] size => 0x20000
[Pass] p = alloc_dma_memory(0x20000) => 0x40801a74
[Pass] f = FIO_Open(CARD_DRIVE"test.dat", O_RDONLY | O_SYNC) => 0x4
[Pass] FIO_ReadFile(f, p, 0x20000) => 0x20000
       FIO_CloseFile(f)
       free_dma_memory(p)
[Pass] count => 0x3a98
[Pass] FIO_RemoveFile(CARD_DRIVE"test.dat") => 0x0
       SW1(1,100)
[FAIL] HALFSHUTTER_PRESSED => 0x0
       SW1(0,100)
[Pass] HALFSHUTTER_PRESSED => 0x0

*** Magic Zoom when Working the Cpu in 90-95% load
*** When I press rec The time indicator show me 11 min to record but t4i can record 29 min
Some crash in fps
----Crash00-----
ASSERT: !IS_ERROR(semErr)
at ./EekoApp/Color/WB/LV/LvWbAlgorWrap.c:522, task CLR_CALC
lv:1 mode:3
Magic Lantern version : v2.3.NEXT.2013Apr30.650D101
Mercurial changeset   : ca7870e6a59c (unified)
Built on 2013-04-30 13:27:39 by nanomad@workhorse.
Free Memory  : 316K + 3605K
----Crash00-----
ASSERT: !IS_ERROR(semErr)
at ./EekoApp/Color/WB/LV/LvWbAlgorWrap.c:522, task CLR_CALC
lv:1 mode:3
Magic Lantern version : v2.3.NEXT.2013Apr30.650D101
Mercurial changeset   : ca7870e6a59c (unified)
Built on 2013-04-30 13:27:39 by nanomad@workhorse.
Free Memory  : 316K + 3618K
 

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1360 on: May 09, 2013, 06:08:45 PM »
Quote
*** When I press rec The time indicator show me 11 min to record but t4i can record 29 min

The time indicator was designed for cameras with a 4GB limit. What about CONFIG_CAN_RECORD_MORE_THAN_4GB?

Also take a look at the 5D3 indicator code (bitrate-5d3.c, REC indicator).

Quote
ASSERT: !IS_ERROR(semErr)

Probably we need to tweak some semaphore timeouts. What FPS value did you use?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1361 on: May 09, 2013, 06:29:55 PM »
I think I went to "old school" indicators for some reason after trying the 5d3 ones.... maybe just make the 4gb indicator not default? I picked elapsed.

ZiskinbMe

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1362 on: May 09, 2013, 08:10:35 PM »
I Rise up to max of fps
and if you are need more help two test I can help

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1363 on: May 09, 2013, 10:09:59 PM »
All stubs test passed :D
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

brewerrj

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1364 on: May 09, 2013, 10:52:33 PM »
I have a few mishabs i would like to report, some are already reported by others:

- Magic zoom (box) flickers specially when i make the zoom box larger
- When I am in the menu sometimes I can see a small spot from the live view through the magic lantern menu.
- I tried the motion detect function but it is really slow. It takes about 3 seconds before it takes e picture, also with manual focus/M dial mode, does this also have to do with global draw overlay (CPU overload or something)?

I'm a first time ML user, so a stupid question: Stuff like audio meters & bulb timer are not available yet because of props/Alpha version? I saw that on 600D audio options are not available because of the standard Canon manual audio control, will this also be the case with the 650D?

buckbullstallion

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1365 on: May 09, 2013, 11:21:10 PM »
I am thinking if there would be a way to adjust the Opacity of the ML overlay screen so we can see Live View in background better. I notice that it doesn't take over the screen, that its actually on top of the screen -- hence why some will see flicker -- that's usually because camera is in a live view status and the Screen is overlaying it -- thus not overriding Live View, but if you could make the ML screen a bit more opaque we will be able to see the Live View a bit better. Just a thought and an Idea. and addressing the prior comment on why the flickering is happening.

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1366 on: May 09, 2013, 11:49:53 PM »
Try pressing the LV button while in ML menu :P
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

buckbullstallion

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1367 on: May 10, 2013, 09:36:55 AM »
Try pressing the LV button while in ML menu :P
AWESOME!!! Thanks. this is great stuff.

PelleParafin

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1368 on: May 10, 2013, 10:02:44 AM »
Hi, I have enabled the Zebras, FocusPeak, MagicZoom (via the +) and CPU-load (from debug menu).
After a very short time using Magic zoom, the RED card-LED comes on and stays on constant.
The CPU-load shows 98-99% most of the time, and I have to turn off camera to normalize.

I will try this out in more depth later today and see if I can find some connection between
the heavy CPU-load, lit LED and my usage of the ML. Anyone else experience this behaviour?
EOS 650D  |  Kit Zoom EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS II  |  Zoom EF-S 18-135mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS STM  |  Zoom EF-S 75-300 1:4-5.6 III  |  Macro EF-S 60mm 1:2.8 USM

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1369 on: May 10, 2013, 11:12:41 AM »
The 650D has a huge CPU load in LV regardless of ML, but everything seems to be working fine here
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

ejszarny

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1370 on: May 10, 2013, 01:13:36 PM »
first, thank you, ml sits on my 650d :)
hdr bracketing is currently not in this version?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1371 on: May 10, 2013, 03:32:56 PM »
EOS M- 42% @ idle. MZ maybe uses 10-15%. I can't imagine what the load is with display filters. No card lights/shutdown for me though.

BTW, the RAW.C stuff like color matrix and DR was the exact same between M and 650D.

sumedhekaru

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1372 on: May 10, 2013, 07:12:28 PM »
 I just bought my first camera and hope to learn it and use ML.

wild05kid05

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1373 on: May 10, 2013, 07:29:36 PM »
Is it me or Power Saving is missing in this built ?

PelleParafin

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1374 on: May 10, 2013, 08:25:41 PM »
Hi, I have enabled the Zebras, FocusPeak, MagicZoom (via the +) and CPU-load (from debug menu).
After a very short time using Magic zoom, the RED card-LED comes on and stays on constant.
The CPU-load shows 98-99% most of the time, and I have to turn off camera to normalize.

I will try this out in more depth later today and see if I can find some connection between
the heavy CPU-load, lit LED and my usage of the ML. Anyone else experience this behaviour?

After some more testing I come to the following regarding my CPU-load:
* With just the LV overlay (No zebras, Magic zoom or Focus peak) it seems to stabilize on 72% cpu-load.
* As soon as I turn on zebras, it maxes out on 98-99% and stays there.

Regarding the lit card-LED:
* As soon as I cycle through the LV overlays (0 and 1) with the Info button the LED turns on, and stays lit.
* After I shut off LV the LED goes from constant ON to short blinks 5 seconds apart after 30 seconds.
EOS 650D  |  Kit Zoom EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS II  |  Zoom EF-S 18-135mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS STM  |  Zoom EF-S 75-300 1:4-5.6 III  |  Macro EF-S 60mm 1:2.8 USM