Author Topic: 5d mII no image with live view no firmware update  (Read 6711 times)

Aager

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
5d mII no image with live view no firmware update
« on: November 06, 2012, 01:03:24 PM »
Hi,

My cannon 5d m2 broke down.
When I turn on live view the image stays black. I can get the canon info overlay, but when I push the trachcan button the camera freezes.
I tried to reinstall the canon firmware as wall as the ML firmware, but the camera hangs at a screen that says: "update file cannot be found"
Is there a way to force the camera to install the firmware?
I can still make pictures, but in burst mode only 3 than it hangs.
I'm afraid something on the maiboard is broken, or hopefully only the software is corrupted.

Any ideas??

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12353
  • Emergencies only
Re: 5d mII no image with live view no firmware update
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2012, 01:05:51 PM »
Try clearing camera settings and start the camera with a fresh card (format it in the camera).

To update the firmware, you need to format the card in the camera, but I don't think it will solve anything. If the firmware would be corrupt, ML would refuse to boot.

Aager

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: 5d mII no image with live view no firmware update
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2012, 01:10:28 PM »
thank you I did al that.
ML is not booting anymore.
When I start the camera It only shows the canon menu. When I try to call the ML menu it freezes.

g3gg0

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3154
Re: 5d mII no image with live view no firmware update
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2012, 01:19:49 PM »
are you sure the files in \ML\ are there?
Help us with datasheets - Help us with register dumps
magic lantern: 1Magic9991E1eWbGvrsx186GovYCXFbppY, server expenses: paypal@g3gg0.de
ONLY donate for things we have done, not for things you expect!

Aager

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: 5d mII no image with live view no firmware update
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2012, 01:51:56 PM »
the ML folder is on the card.
When I have a "clean" card the camera reacts the same as with a ML card.

Aager

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: 5d mII no image with live view no firmware update
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2012, 04:08:45 PM »
In the diagnostic tools thread is something about forcing firmware upgrade, but I cannot figure out how this should be working.
Can you advice me about that?


a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12353
  • Emergencies only
Re: 5d mII no image with live view no firmware update
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2012, 04:16:50 PM »
You don't need that tool, because you can access Canon menu.

Your posts are contradictory, so I can't do much to help you, sorry.

Aager

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: 5d mII no image with live view no firmware update
« Reply #7 on: November 06, 2012, 04:44:39 PM »
can you please tell me in with way it is contradictory? so I can give you better details.
Thank You

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12353
  • Emergencies only
Re: 5d mII no image with live view no firmware update
« Reply #8 on: November 06, 2012, 04:53:43 PM »
Well... I've understood that you are trying to access ML menu when you boot from a card without ML.

The solution for firmware update was described above, I doubt you have followed it.

Read this: http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html

Aager

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: 5d mII no image with live view no firmware update
« Reply #9 on: November 06, 2012, 05:13:39 PM »
Sorry for being not clear.
I can understand you will recieve a lot of unclear complaints and Reports so I will try to explain it as clear as possible.
I'm very glad you respond to me and are willing to help me.
Also let me say I was very happy with the software you guys made. Big thumbs up!!!

I start the camera with ML on the card.

When I start the camera, it starts normal. it takes two seconds before I see numbers on the small display. Don't know if this is not normal.
The camera works normal when I make pictures. except when I make pictures in burst mode. It stops responding after 3 pictures.

When I push the live view button the lcd stays black. i can push the info buttons and get the canon info over the black screen.
When I push the ML button (trashcan) the camera stops responding. I have to remove the battery to restart the camera.

When I use a card without ML on it I get the same results.

But when I check the firmware in the menu, It says version 2.1.2. which indicates no ML.
I tried to uninstall ML but everytime the camera stops the update proses and tells me: "update file cannot be found".
I tried to reinstall  the original canon firmware but everytime the camera stops the update proses and tells me: "update file cannot be found".

To me it feels like the camera stops responding when the procces gets memory intensive like, moviemode, burst, firmwareupgrade. But I'm no wizzkid.

I hope this is a better explanation of the problem,

Regards, Aage

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: 5d mII no image with live view no firmware update
« Reply #10 on: November 06, 2012, 05:19:51 PM »
It may be an hardware fault, but first thing first: upload a picture of the content of the ML card
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

Aager

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: 5d mII no image with live view no firmware update
« Reply #11 on: November 06, 2012, 08:12:25 PM »
Thank you Nanomad
I could not post images, so i give a link to my site.
http://www.aage.nl/ml/ML/Fotos_1.html

jplxpto

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 506