Need equipment recommendations for recording CRT screens at weird frame rates

Started by wmd, August 22, 2023, 04:49:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wmd

I am looking for camera and lens recommendations for a specific purpose - to record footage of a CRT screen. I will need to use Magic Lantern to specify the exact frame rate, and the different sources connected to my CRT will vary anywhere from 1/50.nnn to 1/60.nnn. I am no camera expert, but have read that mirrorless cameras are better for recording video? Eitherway, please help me select some decent kit for this specific purpose that is fully compatible with Magic Lantern.

Walter Schulz

A lot of ML supported cameras can do fps finetuning. https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=26602.msg239959#msg239959
What kind of footage you want to use? Canon recording mode (up to FHD, 8 bit, 4:2:0) or higher res/higher bit depth?

wmd

Walter Schulz

This doesn't mean much. Upscaling FHD to 4k for YT is quite common.

wmd

So given the information I have provided are you able to recommend a decent setup? Just knowing what the best Magic Lantern compatible cameras are (and an appropriate lens for my purposes) would be all I need.

Walter Schulz

With the information you gave (or lack of IMO) I only can suggest to look into 5D3.
Lenses: Whatever fits your budget (which hasn't been told either) and your required FOV for a given distance (which hasn't been talked about).

Sorry, this is guesswork at its worst.

wmd

Distance will likely not be more than approx. 1m from the screen. Budget, ideally less than $1000, but would consider more if the extra price resulted in significantly better recording quality.

Walter Schulz

Without getting the whole picture (still lacking substantial information) this is still guesswork:

650D or 700D + EF 50/1.8 STM. Add a decent card like Samsung EVO Plus 256 GB (2021 edition).
Est. price: Less than 300 Euro/USD.

wmd