[700d/T5i] How do I actually shoot in 4k?

Started by dsaiyan, July 28, 2023, 07:17:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dsaiyan

Hi,

I apologize for the complete noob question, but I mainly stumbled onto magic lantern because I was trying to get rid of the 30 minutes recording limit.

After a while I decided to give some of the other features a try and for the life of me I can't seem to get 4k videos to work.
I installed this version of ML: https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=25784.0
I have the proper extreme pro 170mbs sd card. I enabled the sd overclock and all of the modules that are mentioned.

When I enable crop mode/raw video I can't seem to get the camera to actually record anything in the higher resolutions. I've tried crop mode, crop mode v2, raw video and raw mlv.
The most luck I have had so far is getting 2540x1080 video when I zoom in on the canon and then go into the ML settings.

I guess I just need someone to walk me through how they setup/record 4k footage on a T5i if possible? I see a lot of great examples of footage on youtube but I can't seem to find any examples of how to actually record in 4k with settings that actually work.

Thanks in advance!

theBilalFakhouri

Hi, the ML version you mentioned is no longer supported, try crop mood build instead (it's better in many ways),
there is an included video which show how to prepare ML settings, beside there are many tutorial video on youtube you can check too.

Let me know if you have questions about crop mood build.

dsaiyan

dsaiyan

I installed crop mood and I'm now having an issue with the video recording shutting off after a couple of seconds.

theBilalFakhouri

Follow the video, if it still happening, share your ML settings and what are doing.

dsaiyan