Author Topic: Bricked 1300D?  (Read 1248 times)

epimeison

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Bricked 1300D?
« on: July 31, 2022, 10:14:15 AM »
I think I have hard bricked mine a few days ago.. no blinking led, no nothing. I was shooting pictures in dualiso, then I enabled the raw video just to test, set a low resolution for it.. screen froze, and camera died.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8497
Re: Bricked 1300D?
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2022, 10:23:00 AM »
Moved topic here

First test:
Remove battery, remove card.
insert battery, do not insert card. Try to startup. Report result.

epimeison

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Bricked 1300D?
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2022, 12:03:17 PM »
I did that. Nothing happend. The camera recives electricity from the battery, because with an stm lens, I can operate the focus, even if I turn it off.. for wich I have to remove the battery. But nothing else happens. No led blink, no display, nothing.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8497
Re: Bricked 1300D?
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2022, 12:17:00 PM »
Rename autoexec.bin.
Copy Portable Display Test autoexec.bin to card. Remove battery, insert card, insert battery and close compartment door.
Link to diagnostic autoexec.bin

epimeison

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Bricked 1300D?
« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2022, 04:36:20 PM »
Done. Turning the camera on doesn't do anything.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8497
Re: Bricked 1300D?
« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2022, 04:54:52 PM »
Are you using Windows or macOS on your PC? Remove battery and card. Insert card to PC/cardreader.
On Windows run EOScard with admin permissions and check if strings "EOS_DEVELOP" and "BOOTFLAG" are set. If not check both boxes and press "SAVE". Ignore error messages.
On macOS use macboot.

Retry and report back.

epimeison

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Bricked 1300D?
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2022, 05:54:05 PM »
Done (I'm sure I've done it before). Same result: not a thing.
BTW, I'm a Linux user, but for this I'm using Windows.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8497
Re: Bricked 1300D?
« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2022, 06:25:32 PM »
Got it.
I can partly reproduce behaviour with STM and ML enabled cam. If I insert a microSD adapter without microSD inserted cam will get stuck at a very early stage. STM focus will react even if power switched to off.
This is gonna be interesting. This week we unbricked a stuck 7D ...
Before we switch to Discord and some interactive sessions:
- May I ask if you can open/remove cam's thumb rest rubber cover beginning on top? There will be a rectangular hole (long side horizontal). Is there a white connector visible? If not: Can you peep inside and are there 6 rectangular pads?
- Have you experience with UART devices?

epimeison

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Bricked 1300D?
« Reply #8 on: October 13, 2022, 06:56:12 PM »
Ok.. So I've removed the rubber cover, and there's no white connector, but I can see the 6 rectangular pads.
I have no experience with UART devices (just searched what it was).

kitor

  • Developer
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 361
Re: Bricked 1300D?
« Reply #9 on: November 24, 2022, 05:18:49 PM »
Where are you from?
If EU and willing to ship it, I can take a look.

Do you have rom backups stored from card?
Too many Canon cameras.