Shooting scenes with drastically different exposures

Started by grd, September 27, 2018, 08:26:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

grd

Hello,

I am very new to video (been a RAW still photo shooter for years, however) and am having difficulty with scenes that are shot in one take and have drastically different lighting from origin to end point.
For example- tilting from ground level on land (fairly dark) to a well-lit body of water.

I expose for the ground by force of habit as that (in this example) is the origin of the shot.
Of course, by the time the tilt has completed and the camera is recording the water/sky portion-we're very blown out due to the ambient light levels.

What are techniques that RAW shooters use to either take or process the MLVs so there is an even transition?

My basic workflow is as follows:
1. Shoot.
2. Process with MLV app to Cinema DNG files
3. Create RAW sequence in After Effects
4. Export to .MOV/Apple ProRes422 HQ
5. Import into Premiere Pro CC and do whatever else.

Kind of feel like this is probably a very novice question or could be "common sense" but can't seem to wrap my head around a good way to pull these types of shots off.
Thanks!

-Grant

Kharak

ETTR for the brightest part of your tilt shot. If that will make the darkest part of the shot underexposed  then you need to light or perhaps try DUAL iso.

And depending on your post-process you might be eliminating a lot of the DR of your files by converting to prores.
once you go raw you never go back

zalbnrum

This is how I do it, but there is many proper ways, since this is not strictly technical, but also creative choice.

I use Resolve and learned what I can do with cDNG's in different color spaces. Getting friendly with Resolve color management and getting to know ACES lately.

You can recover some detail in highlights with Resolve's highlight recovery option in Camera RAW. Sometimes you can get color artifacts but there are workarounds.