Language File

Started by Noctis, August 13, 2012, 10:13:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Noctis

Hey there

How about an community edited language file?
In my opinion not that easy to implement, but it could be an nice feature.

Greetings from Germany!

Noc

nedex

Hi,

I just looked at the source of magic lantern, and as a programmer I think is not that difficult, but different testers would be needed to fit localized texts in the display properly.

A set of functions could be created, like localize("Shoot") or localize("Focus") that returns the localized string of the matched word or string, and the strings themselves if the string can't be localized.
Easier than a similiar function like guiText(int) that returns the string of the given int id (requiring even a english localization), but that would make the code for the developers unreadable.

In different localized text files (without English) the Italian lines could be (making <0> our separator, or easily \t)
About Magic Lantern <=> Info su Magic Lantern
Shoot <=> Scatto
Focus <=> Fuoco

The "hard" work for developers is to replace all the texts from the source with the functions and, obviously, find a way to make it work.

---

By the way, translated docs could be enough to avoid the lack of gui translation.

Greets from Italy.
NedEX.

PS. I preferred ML 2.2 for the key shortcuts LOL

ilguercio

To be honest, as a native Italian speaker and good English speaker, i don't think the effort of translating the whole ML is worth.
Personally, i already use English language in every software i have and while i think localization is nice it looks like doing it for ML would require too much work that could be used elsewhere.
Canon EOS 6D, 60D, 50D.
Sigma 70-200 EX OS HSM, Sigma 70-200 Apo EX HSM, Samyang 14 2.8, Samyang 35 1.4, Samyang 85 1.4.
Proud supporter of Magic Lantern.

scrax

Quote from: nedex on August 14, 2012, 03:18:46 AM
Hi,