Author Topic: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4  (Read 63332 times)

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11472
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4
« Reply #75 on: November 30, 2017, 01:03:44 PM »
Downgraded to 1.3.4 and installed your build (Nov18). Camera acting like crazy after toggling FPS override on and off (from default config). Same issue after compiling from source.

Going to try the downgrade.

edit: PROP_PROHIBIT_UPDATE_VESION is not saved into ROM at shutdown - the change is temporary (in RAM). Downgraded to 1.1.3 without any trouble after changing this property to 112.

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3027
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4
« Reply #76 on: November 30, 2017, 08:05:55 PM »
Camera acting like crazy after toggling FPS override on and off (from default config).

Reproduced here. Thanks.

edit: PROP_PROHIBIT_UPDATE_VESION is not saved into ROM at shutdown - the change is temporary (in RAM). Downgraded to 1.1.3 without any trouble after changing this property to 112.

Interesting, is there going to be a way for ML users to downgrade without having to use EOS Utility? That would be sweet!
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 500D.112

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11472
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4
« Reply #77 on: November 30, 2017, 08:20:53 PM »
Yes, as easy as running the upgrade from ML. Making this persistent (so one can run the 1.1.3 FIR from a fresh card, without loading ML) is probably difficult (may require ROM flashing); an item in the Debug menu (maybe "Downgrade to 1.1.3") should be fine. I've always ran the firmware updates directly from ML anyway.

Tempted to upgrade everything to 1.3.5 (maybe over the weekend) and drop 1.2.3 once the new one works reasonably well (even though most of my reverse engineering notes were on 1.2.3... oh well.)

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3027
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4
« Reply #78 on: November 30, 2017, 11:37:27 PM »
Tempted to upgrade everything to 1.3.5 (maybe over the weekend)

I was thinking the same thing. I would have gotten 1.3.5 up to the point where I've got 1.3.4 is by now but I've been busy with other non-ML tasks. In any case, there are still bugs to squash and you know better than anyone where to find them.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 500D.112

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3027
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4
« Reply #79 on: December 01, 2017, 12:00:59 AM »
Camera acting like crazy after toggling FPS override on and off

Fixed.

That was a beginner's syntax error.

src/fps-engio.c
Code: [Select]
-    #elseif CONFIG_5D3_134
+    #elif CONFIG_5D3_134
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 500D.112

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3027
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.5
« Reply #80 on: December 03, 2017, 06:55:06 AM »
Slightly off topic -- Yay!



Well, almost. There's an error message and crash log showing up in QEMU and the camera doesn't like it yet.

Here's the error message:

ASSERT00.LOG
Code: [Select]
ML ASSERT:
streq(stateobj->type, "StateObject")
at ../../src/state-object.c:255 (stateobj_start_spy), task ml_init
lv:0 mode:3

ml_init stack: 1ac558 [1ac5a8-1a85a8]
0xUNKNOWN  @ 6d974:1ac590
0x0006DA88 @ 9ad24:1ac588
0x0006D368 @ 6dae8:1ac558

Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2017Dec02.5D3135
Mercurial changeset   : 2a59b522da79+ (update-to-5D.135-wip) tip
Built on 2017-12-03 05:07:22 UTC by rosiefort@RosieFoComputer.
Free Memory  : 0K + 4009K

I started a update-to-5D.135-wip branch which is a branch of the 5D.134 pull request branch. I also made a dummy pull request just to see all of the changes.

Thought I'd challenge myself and see if I could do it in a day. Things were going well until I bumped into a problem with RESTARTSTART. All of the 5D3 firmware versions were using 0x00069500 but something didn't seem right. I searched the forum and came up with this post on the ML on EOS-M2 topic (déjà vu). Here's a comparison between the 5D3.123 and 5D3.135:

Code: [Select]
# 5D3 1.2.3
sys_mem_start   0x00146c00
sys_mem_max        1064960
user_mem_start  0x000692d0
user_mem_max        878216

# 5D3 1.3.5
sys_mem_start   0x00146c00
sys_mem_max        1064960
user_mem_start  0x0006c7f0
user_mem_max        864616

I changed RESTARTSTART to 0x0006D000 - not sure if that needs to be fiddled with some more.

In any case, this is obviously not ready for testers yet.

@a1ex, I'm hopeful you'll put together a 123 to 135 update so I'm not going to make an official pull request. Hopefully you'll find something useful in the work I have already done with it.

[EDIT] Back on topic -- I did fine a few more things that needed fixing on 134 so I updated them and uploaded a new test build.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 500D.112

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3081
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4
« Reply #81 on: December 09, 2017, 09:33:58 AM »
Slightly off topic -- Yay!...

...Well, almost. There's an error message and crash log showing up in QEMU and the camera doesn't like it yet.

 :)

@a1ex, I'm hopeful you'll put together a 123 to 135 update so I'm not going to make an official pull request. Hopefully you'll find something useful in the work I have already done with it.

+1
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3027
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.5
« Reply #82 on: February 28, 2018, 03:16:35 AM »
Just resurrecting an old topic:

PROP_PROHIBIT_UPDATE_VESION is not saved into ROM at shutdown - the change is temporary (in RAM). Downgraded to 1.1.3 without any trouble after changing this property to 112.

Canon is installing 1.3.5 on cameras that go in for repair.

Tempted to upgrade everything to 1.3.5 (maybe over the weekend) and drop 1.2.3 once the new one works reasonably well (even though most of my reverse engineering notes were on 1.2.3... oh well.)

Much of the grunt work for this is complete. :D
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 500D.112

eugene-r

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7

szymon140

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4
« Reply #84 on: April 14, 2018, 09:15:54 AM »
Hello,

has anyone tested the version of 28/02/2018 on 5d III 1.3.4?
Work it?
Thanks

JennyGW

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4
« Reply #85 on: May 23, 2018, 03:26:36 AM »

I'm very new to using ML.  I would like to use it on my 5D3 which is on 1.3.4 of the firmware.

If there is a version of ML which will work with 1.3.4, which is it please?

Many thanks in advance!

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3027
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4
« Reply #86 on: May 23, 2018, 05:33:48 AM »
I've got a test build for 5D3.134 on my downloads page but if you are new to ML it probably won't do you any good because you need to downgrade your firmware in order to set your camera's boot flag.

I'd suggest following these instructions and downgrade to 1.1.3 for the best experience with your 5D3.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 500D.112

JennyGW

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4
« Reply #87 on: May 23, 2018, 07:09:59 PM »
I've got a test build for 5D3.134 on my downloads page but if you are new to ML it probably won't do you any good because you need to downgrade your firmware in order to set your camera's boot flag.

I'd suggest following these instructions and downgrade to 1.1.3 for the best experience with your 5D3.

Thanks for replying!

I thought I read that Canon have made it impossible to downgrade?

Sorry if questions are noob, I just don't want a bricked camera.

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6149
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4
« Reply #88 on: May 23, 2018, 09:04:56 PM »
I thought I read that Canon have made it impossible to downgrade?

Yes, you may have read this. And that's because most sites simply copy content and are unable/unwilling to do what decent newspapers are renowned for.

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3027
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4
« Reply #89 on: May 24, 2018, 01:07:42 AM »
Ha ha--good point Walter.

Yes, you can upgrade and downgrade as long as you do it through EOS Utility. I also found out that it is best to clear all custom settings with this particular firmware update.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 500D.112

JennyGW

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4
« Reply #90 on: May 24, 2018, 01:12:23 PM »
Ok thank you, this is good to know....

I'm confused about why the 134 version of ML doesn't run on the 134 version to avoid needing to downgrade the firmware?  (and hopefully avoid clearing all of my custom settings?)


dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3027
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4
« Reply #91 on: May 24, 2018, 07:31:18 PM »
The camera boot flag needs to be set. That's the holdup at the moment.

Now that 1.3.5 is out it makes more sense to put the effort into getting that working rather than continuing with 1.3.4. Just need to find the time to do it.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 500D.112

JennyGW

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4
« Reply #92 on: May 25, 2018, 12:23:55 AM »
The camera boot flag needs to be set. That's the holdup at the moment.

Now that 1.3.5 is out it makes more sense to put the effort into getting that working rather than continuing with 1.3.4. Just need to find the time to do it.

That would be awesome. 

I realise that you do this out of the kindness of your own heard, so naturally I don't want to appear pushy, but have you got any idea on timescale for a ML 135, please?  And would it require camera settings to be reset?

many thanks!

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3027
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4
« Reply #93 on: May 25, 2018, 02:47:04 AM »
No schedule but this is an open source community project so anyone can pick it up and give it go:

https://bitbucket.org/daniel_fort/magic-lantern/src/update-to-5D.135-wip/
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 500D.112

JennyGW

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4
« Reply #94 on: May 26, 2018, 04:32:54 PM »
No schedule but this is an open source community project so anyone can pick it up and give it go:

https://bitbucket.org/daniel_fort/magic-lantern/src/update-to-5D.135-wip/

I ran a test downgrading the 5D3 to firmware 1.2.3 and installing ML 1.2.3.

Unusually, the menus were not as seen on ML/5D3 demonstrations I've seen on Youtube.   I expect because they were for a previous version of ML.

I was able to enable the RAW module, but the only resolution available was 1920x1080.

My conclusion is that as I am primarily a stills shooter I would want to be using the latest version of the 5D3 firmware and it would be a frustrating routine having to run this install the old firmware and ML and configure all of the setting from scratch every time I need to shoot video.

I do have a Ninja 2 with Pro Res HQ, so I think I'll stick with that until a 1.3.5 version of ML is available.

I'd be interested in your views on a comparison between ML RAW and Pro Res HQ?

Thanks for all your help :)

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3027
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4
« Reply #95 on: May 27, 2018, 04:55:45 AM »
...the only resolution available was 1920x1080.

Press the zoom button until you get 5x in Live View and you'll be able to increase the resolution, though it is cropping into the sensor. Eventually, the crop_rec module should be working with the latest firmware which gives you these added features:

Code: [Select]
1:1 sensor readout (square raw pixels, 3x crop, good preview in 1080p)
1:1 crop, higher vertical resolution (1920x1920 @ 24p, cropped preview)
1920x960 @ 50p, 1920x800 @ 60p (3x3 binning, cropped preview)
1920x1080 @ 45p, 1920x1040 @ 48p, 3x3 binning (50/60 FPS in Canon menu)
1:1 3K crop (3072x1920 @ 24p, square raw pixels, preview broken)
1:1 4K UHD crop (3840x1600 @ 24p, square raw pixels, preview broken)
1:1 4K crop (4096x3072 @ 12.5 fps, half frame rate, preview broken)
1:1 readout in x5 zoom mode (centered raw, high res, cropped preview)
Full resolution LiveView (5796x3870 @ 7.4 fps, 5784x3864, preview broken)
1x3 binning: read all lines, bin every 3 columns (extreme anamorphic)
3x1 binning: bin every 3 lines, read all columns (extreme anamorphic)

My conclusion is that as I am primarily a stills shooter I would want to be using the latest version of the 5D3 firmware...

While I'm all for getting ML working on the latest Canon firmware with all of the supported cameras, you need to decide if the jump from 1.2.3 to 1.3.5 is really worth giving all the added features that ML gives you. There's a lot that applies to still photography like ETTR, Dual ISO and check out the lua scripts that garry23, a landscape photographer, has written.

Quote
Changes in the Firmware
Firmware Version 1.3.5 incorporates the following fix:

1.  Fixes a phenomenon in which standard exposure may not be obtained, or an irregular exposure may result, when Silent LV (Live View) shooting with the following TS-E lenses: TS-E 50mm f/2.8L MACRO, TS-E 90mm f/2.8L MACRO, or TS-E 135mm f/4L MACRO.

Changes in Version 1.3.4:
1. Corrects a phenomenon in which when using the camera with the EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS II USM lens, even if lens aberration correction is set to "Enable", correction will not be applied.

Changes in Version 1.3.3:
1. Improves the AF controllability when shooting in Live View mode with a wide-angle lens (fixed focal length or zoom).
2. Corrects some incorrect indications on the "English" and "Russian" menu screens.

I'd be interested in your views on a comparison between ML RAW and Pro Res HQ?

If you are primarily a still photographer then you're probably familiar with the difference between shooting JPEG and RAW. That's pretty much it. Sure, you can get a great looking ProRes HQ file with the Ninja 2 but the HDMI out from the 5D3 is 8-bit and even if you use a flat or log picture style you won't have the flexibility of a raw file when you get to color grading.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 500D.112

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11472
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4
« Reply #96 on: May 27, 2018, 10:01:33 AM »
For still photos, I'd actually recommend 1.1.3 (unless you use one of the lenses affected by fixes in newer updates). Firmware 1.2.3 and later comes with dual monitor support, but breaks a few ML features (some of them essential for stills in my opinion). For details on what features are missing in 1.2.3, refer to Download page -> 5D Mark III 1.1.3/1.2.3 -> Installation.

garry23

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1521
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4
« Reply #97 on: May 27, 2018, 10:26:26 AM »
My twopenth, as a stills photographer, is follow @a1ex’s advice, unless, you need the F/8 focus ability, as I do with my x2 extender on my 70-200 F/4L.

The 1.2.3 works with all my Lua scripts  :)

nikki

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4
« Reply #98 on: May 27, 2018, 08:03:45 PM »


for an upcoming project I need to record some footage to a monitor

Which means I have to install 1.2.3. ??(from 1.1.3.)

clean HDMI out
dual monitor support (internal+external)
AF at f/8 with teleconverters

JennyGW

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4
« Reply #99 on: May 28, 2018, 01:22:29 PM »

for an upcoming project I need to record some footage to a monitor

Which means I have to install 1.2.3. ??(from 1.1.3.)

clean HDMI out
dual monitor support (internal+external)
AF at f/8 with teleconverters

the 5d3 does clean out 4:2:2 8 bit hdmi as standard without ML.
dual monitor support is fine, too.
I have no experience with a teleconverter

What I like about ML for the 5D3 is the 3.5K 10 bit mode which allows continuous shooting (the only time limit is the card space).  As it's RAW the dynamic range can be improved, and, as dfort says, it is a lot better to work with in post.

My dream would be 10 bit hdmi output to my Nimja 2 for it's 10 but Prores HQ (Prores RAW one say soon, maybe).  Recording to an external hard drive for me makes 3.5K+ a lot more usable.  It also would get rid of the MLV conversion hassle in the workflow.

Prores RAW looks very interesting indeed.  If it turns Canon are delaying their 4K DSLR offerings because Prores RAW is just around the corner I will be extremely happy.