Author Topic: 6D bad pixels problem  (Read 3014 times)

skateshopusd

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
6D bad pixels problem
« on: December 27, 2016, 11:50:36 AM »
Hello all of my MagicLantern friends :) I'm having a pain in the ass of a problem with my raw video on canon 6D. I'm having 2 bad pixels always in the same spot on every record. I'm using latest magic lantern nightly build. I tried mlrawviewer and mlvmystic . I converted videos to prores and to dng . I want to add that when I rendered it to prores with mlrawviewer one of pixels was violet and the other barely visible white but with mlvmystic the barely visible one is still the same but the violet one is white and flickers(is not in every frame). I want to add that I'm not a native english speaker so excuse my english. Is this problem solvable? I really wanted to use this feature but i cant have a bad pixel in every shot. :( Here you have screenshots and clips I've tried everything I could think of. If you need any more informations please ask. I'm using 50mm 1,8 stm https://www.dropbox.com/sh/1ixngy4m88vnvnw/AAB8qfi195RYfYYjGUrGs8Doa?dl=0 Important thing is that when i enable the stripe correction the pixels disappear in the mlrawviewer but after rendering they are still there

KelvinK

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
  • Less words, more films
Re: 6D bad pixels problem
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2017, 09:58:52 AM »
Try deadpixel remap method explained on Youtube. It was for 5d2, but works for any camera.
6D - 5D - NEX - M50!

Danne

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7401
Re: 6D bad pixels problem
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2017, 10:28:28 AM »
There is a pixel map function in cr2hdr.app which works on dng files directly via mlv_dump. For now it,s automated for use with cameras with focus pixel issues but if you,re interested I could check into adding badpixel coordinates manually for any camera.
(Pixelmap code courtesy bouncyball)

skateshopusd

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 6D bad pixels problem
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2017, 11:26:08 PM »
I tried remapping , didn't work. I want to add that i work on mac. Danne - I'm not sure if I understand it im not a foreign english speaker but im interested in everything that could work. Could you explain it to me in more simple way please?

Sapporo

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: 6D bad pixels problem
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2017, 10:49:54 AM »
I tried remapping , didn't work. I want to add that i work on mac. Danne - I'm not sure if I understand it im not a foreign english speaker but im interested in everything that could work. Could you explain it to me in more simple way please?
Did you try to heat the sensor first by using it for 5 minutes and did you try a couple of times?

Danne

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7401
Re: 6D bad pixels problem
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2017, 10:59:33 AM »
Check mlv_dump on steroids. It has support for bad pixel mapping.
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=18975.msg180083#msg180083