Author Topic: New "Ginger HDR" workflow  (Read 18924 times)

KarateBrot

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 80
New "Ginger HDR" workflow
« on: July 30, 2012, 12:47:37 PM »
The guys at 19Lights programmed a new cool method for dealing with real 32-bit HDR footage in After Effects and Premiere. It's a nice idea in my opinion because you don't need to render out .exr sequences anymore if you don't want to.
If you donate a RED EPIC to me you officially are very cool ;)

screamer

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
Re: New "Ginger HDR" workflow
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2012, 01:08:39 PM »
agree,
a good improvement on an already really interesting software
always trying to use the 100% of magic lantern..
Gear:
Canon 60D, all the samyang lenses, Canon 50 mm 1.4, Canon 60mm macro, Canon 70-300 usm, Sigma 4.5mm fisheye, Sigma 17-70 2.8, Canon 40mm f2.8 pancake, all the Lensbabies and a lot of other pieces, Flash metz 58 af2

babarasghar

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: New "Ginger HDR" workflow
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2012, 09:45:33 PM »
The guys at 19Lights programmed a new cool method for dealing with real 32-bit HDR footage in After Effects and Premiere. It's a nice idea in my opinion because you don't need to render out .exr sequences anymore if you don't want to.


i just wana ask one query which the guy in tutorial didnt explain well
ist of all ... how he got two *.MOV files


KarateBrot

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: New "Ginger HDR" workflow
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2012, 12:26:53 AM »
you mean the files at the beginning? it's just the raw HDR movie files you recorded in the camera. if you hit record in the camera you will get .mov files saved onto your SD card. if he had for example 5 .mov files in his directory he would get 5 .gnr files out of it
If you donate a RED EPIC to me you officially are very cool ;)

babarasghar

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: New "Ginger HDR" workflow
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2012, 08:29:02 AM »
i asked same question to 18lights and the reply was
Quote
19lights PLUS 7 hours ago
Hi Babar. There are two movie files because there were two separate shots. So it is correct that you only have one clip.

still confusing ... :)
so when we shoot a scene with ML loaded cam n then gt one fil of mov from cam thn how to process that on file ... rest workflow is right but this mystery of what to select in 2nd mov .... any random shot???

and this reply i have received

Quote
“  Hi Babar. Sorry for the confusion. Just select the same shot for the first and last and it should work.

ilguercio

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 843
Re: New "Ginger HDR" workflow
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2012, 04:41:00 PM »
No, there are two movie files because there were two movies shot. Each HDR is composed of ONE mov file.
Canon EOS 6D, 60D, 50D.
Sigma 70-200 EX OS HSM, Sigma 70-200 Apo EX HSM, Samyang 14 2.8, Samyang 35 1.4, Samyang 85 1.4.
Proud supporter of Magic Lantern.

Anton2707

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: New "Ginger HDR" workflow
« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2012, 06:48:35 PM »
Help! When launching merger an error ... Has anyone encountered similar?

KarateBrot

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: New "Ginger HDR" workflow
« Reply #7 on: August 18, 2012, 04:24:42 AM »
like the error said: send it to the 19ligths support. maybe they can help. and i it solves the problem you might post the solution here :)
If you donate a RED EPIC to me you officially are very cool ;)

martareis

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: New "Ginger HDR" workflow
« Reply #8 on: September 01, 2012, 04:47:22 AM »
Hi,

Can anyone help me with Ginger installation process?

After installation I could launch the merger and create GNR files. The problems is to import those files into AE.

I got this error message:

Error running the QuickTime server. Make sure that GingerWrapper-PRM-Win64 and GingerQTServer-dont-run-me.exe are in the same directory and are extracted from the .zip file.

 :-\

Rehaan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: New "Ginger HDR" workflow
« Reply #9 on: September 05, 2012, 12:29:08 PM »
@ martareis - here's how to fix your issue:

1) After you downloaded the Ginger HDR file from their website, you need to unzip it.

2) The resultant folder then has a few sub folders :
/Ginger-HDR-Adobe-Win32/  ---  Open this folder if you are on a 32-bit OS
/Ginger-HDR-Adobe-Win64/  ---  Open this folder if you are on a 64-bit OS
etc.

3) Copy all the files in that folder (except the "PRM" file if it exists)

4) Navigate to your After Effects plugin directory. Usually :
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe After Effects CS5.5\Support Files\Plug-ins\Effects

5) Paste the files there

6) Go back to the unzipped folder. Find "LicenseManager.exe" and run it

7) Open AE -- and you should be all set.


FYI - There is also a "README-Instructions.txt" file in the unzipped folder that should cover this  :P

cya
R



martareis

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: New "Ginger HDR" workflow
« Reply #10 on: September 05, 2012, 04:19:56 PM »

I did all the above steps before the error.
The problem was importing the GNR files but it's now solved thanks to 19lights support.
 ;)
Thx

ilguercio

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 843
Re: New "Ginger HDR" workflow
« Reply #11 on: September 08, 2012, 01:11:06 PM »
Hi guys, i got Ginger HDR as well but could not make a good use of it because i have a 50D so i can get 30fps maximum and After Effects is too complicated and hardware stressing for my laptop.
Is there a simple way to complete the work in another editor instead of After Effects or FCP? Also, how to interpolate the frames so i can still get 30 fps?
I'm on windows, obviously.
Canon EOS 6D, 60D, 50D.
Sigma 70-200 EX OS HSM, Sigma 70-200 Apo EX HSM, Samyang 14 2.8, Samyang 35 1.4, Samyang 85 1.4.
Proud supporter of Magic Lantern.

martareis

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: New "Ginger HDR" workflow
« Reply #12 on: September 08, 2012, 04:09:41 PM »
Ginger it's a plugin for AE. It wont work with another software.

With 60fps footage converted to 30 it's much more stable. You are reduced to 720p but its a wise choice.

ilguercio

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 843
Re: New "Ginger HDR" workflow
« Reply #13 on: September 08, 2012, 04:27:01 PM »
Ginger it's a plugin for AE. It wont work with another software.

With 60fps footage converted to 30 it's much more stable. You are reduced to 720p but its a wise choice.
No 720p as in 5DII :)
Canon EOS 6D, 60D, 50D.
Sigma 70-200 EX OS HSM, Sigma 70-200 Apo EX HSM, Samyang 14 2.8, Samyang 35 1.4, Samyang 85 1.4.
Proud supporter of Magic Lantern.

Rehaan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: New "Ginger HDR" workflow
« Reply #14 on: September 08, 2012, 07:09:08 PM »
Is there a simple way to complete the work in another editor instead of After Effects or FCP? Also, how to interpolate the frames so i can still get 30 fps?

See the attached video in the first post.

Roughly, what you need to do is run "Merger".

Choose to export "Magic Lantern HDR" (NOT the 'wrapper' option -- in other words, the old workflow).

Choose "Merger Type = Full speed" (This will ensure the output stays the same as the input 30 fps)

Run it.

You should get a resultant EXR sequence which should (?) open in another editor of your choise. (Make sure you use/set the sequence as 16-bits per channel to get the full dynamic range)

cya
R



ilguercio

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 843
Re: New "Ginger HDR" workflow
« Reply #15 on: September 08, 2012, 07:32:26 PM »
Even Virtual Dub?
I am using the premade package of December but it doesn't work well and i don't know why.
Canon EOS 6D, 60D, 50D.
Sigma 70-200 EX OS HSM, Sigma 70-200 Apo EX HSM, Samyang 14 2.8, Samyang 35 1.4, Samyang 85 1.4.
Proud supporter of Magic Lantern.

Anton2707

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: New "Ginger HDR" workflow
« Reply #16 on: December 04, 2012, 08:07:15 PM »
Help! When launching merger an error ... Has anyone encountered similar?

Hi! Since then it's been a few months, and the support did not answer ... This error appeared after upgrading the computer, and reinstall the OS does not helped ...
There is an analogy who would create 32-bit images?
Sorry for offtop ;)

Rehaan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: New "Ginger HDR" workflow
« Reply #17 on: December 06, 2012, 08:19:46 AM »
Hi! Since then it's been a few months, and the support did not answer ...

Write to them again. Maybe they missed your mail. Do give clear details on when it was working, what changed and what you did about it.

I've had very good experienced with writing to them (even though i was using the trial version) - so i suggest you give it another shot.

cya
R

Anton2707

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: New "Ginger HDR" workflow
« Reply #18 on: April 05, 2013, 07:22:00 PM »
I have solve problem when merger not start.
You need make new folder "19lights" in My documents.   :D

tazztone

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: New "Ginger HDR" workflow
« Reply #19 on: November 15, 2017, 09:52:29 AM »
anyone still uses ginger HDR? using the "merger-win64" software that comes with it for my ML HDR videofile (alternating ISO frames/ blinking), it never gets beyond "initializing quicktime file", seems stuck. any ideas why?
i use win10 x64 and want to get the video into adobe AE in order to be able to do tonemapping with the ginger hdr plugin. cheers
or is this thread about dual_ISO raw HDR?