Author Topic: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6  (Read 205226 times)

CanonCasey

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #475 on: September 11, 2021, 06:42:14 PM »
With this you can enable boot flag on device.
Then copy content of zip on sdcard. Power on device...and ML sould work. But...only with firmware 1.1.0
Ahh even better! haha
Astrophotographer/Photographer

denizza

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #476 on: September 11, 2021, 09:19:10 PM »
With this you can enable boot flag on device.
Then copy content of zip on sdcard. Power on device...and ML sould work. But...only with firmware 1.1.0
I enabled boot flag "Running 'EnableBootDisk' with 0 params...
Length: 0: 0 0 0 0 0"
response code :2001 . return code ok. enabled boot flag.
My sd card was in my laptop with ml, i putted in dslr and tried updated but camera say there is no firmware, and now my sd cant wont load on laptop. help xD

critix

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 174
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #477 on: September 11, 2021, 09:29:17 PM »
Canon 1300D, 500D, EOS M, EOS M2

denizza

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #478 on: September 11, 2021, 09:32:37 PM »
I did it work, I edited post can you help with that

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8131
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #479 on: September 11, 2021, 11:12:48 PM »
I enabled boot flag "Running 'EnableBootDisk' with 0 params...
Length: 0: 0 0 0 0 0"
response code :2001 . return code ok. enabled boot flag.
My sd card was in my laptop with ml, i putted in dslr and tried updated but camera say there is no firmware, and now my sd cant wont load on laptop. help xD

ML installation on 1300D is a bit different. It doesn't follow the rules for other cams.
You cannot use Canon menu option "Firmware update" to enable ML!

Format your SD-card using the camera. Now you have 2 options to make your card bootable.
First is via USB with card inserted to cam and a command.
Or you use your PC and card inserted into cardreader. For Windows you should use EOScard utility. Then wipe disk contents and copy nightly build for 1300D to card. For macOS you can use MacBoot or Make_bootable.sh. See https://wiki.magiclantern.fm/install#installing_magic_lantern_on_other_cards

denizza

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #480 on: September 12, 2021, 12:33:48 AM »
Thanks @Walter Schulz
So when I make my sd card bootable with eoscard is ml installed on camera or I should update firmware in camera?
I dont understand "strings" on eoscard. Should I mark all 3 strings "eos_develop", "bootdisk" and "script" And write "0x47/71 on develop"
"0x5c/92 on bootdisk" and "0x1f0 on script"
And I have 2 sd cards, can I normaly swich and use one with ml and 1 without or it will brick camera?
And http://pel.hu/down/EOScard.exe not work to download eoscard xD.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8131
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #481 on: September 12, 2021, 12:41:54 AM »
You can not use "Firmware Update" to install ML on 1300D!
Link to EOScard.exe works for me.

denizza

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #482 on: September 12, 2021, 01:31:38 PM »
Okej I installed ml and it works  :D
First, bug (I think) when I focus in live mode I get message "headphone connected" and when press mesu "headphones disconnected
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1MD1UIkXWdVpAyeHQsagImdKAaWGmFpxK/view?usp=sharing

Second, Magic zoom,zebras and focus peaking dont work dont show when recording
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1MYGnBl767T5a7e-qocALRvURX08u6BKA/view?usp=sharing

Third, how to zebras and focus peaking show on taken picture more then 1 secound?
Fourth,can I insert another sd card (without ml) and use camera normaly without brick it?



Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8131
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #483 on: September 12, 2021, 02:13:25 PM »
Fourth,can I insert another sd card (without ml) and use camera normaly without brick it?

https://wiki.magiclantern.fm/faq#can_i_start_my_cam_without_ml is valid for this build, too. As long as it is not a first generation Eye-Fi card.

critix

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 174
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #484 on: September 12, 2021, 03:04:52 PM »
Okej I installed ml and it works  :D
Thanks for replay.
I will try to resolve bugs you found...
Canon 1300D, 500D, EOS M, EOS M2

kayseem

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #485 on: September 17, 2021, 01:04:21 PM »
Hello,

Thank you all for this work.

Would it be possible to do a tutorial to install it?

thank you so much

Stewey

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #486 on: September 23, 2021, 09:29:07 AM »
Hi,

Just installed and can't seam to get the camera to record video. Is this supposed to be working or am missing something? I'm totally new to ML so it's likely that I'm just missing something basic...

kiksy

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #487 on: October 01, 2021, 03:15:28 PM »
1300D - Firmware 1.1.0

Installed ML using https://github.com/petabyt/mlinstall

Had to use Win LibUSB fix : https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=26162.msg236405#msg236405

The install works, however there is a strange issue where it only works in photomodes, not in video. I cannot access the ML menu in video mode, nothing happens. I can adjust aperture etc fine in photomode.

On first (second?) boot it did seem to work but the menu would flicker every 3-4 seconds or so.

Has anyone else had this issue?

Thanks so much for all the hard work on this.

petabyte

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #488 on: October 09, 2021, 01:48:57 AM »
I was going to do a fresh install on my camera and decided to make an installation guide.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1PdUBSY9Ao1l8G-8axQo4XcFOP-bxDbqWvRK-hcXm0LY/edit?usp=sharing

I've enabled editing for anybody, so feel free to make any edits. Eventually I may add it into the ML wiki.

critix

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 174
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #489 on: October 15, 2021, 07:01:58 AM »
A new release: https://bitbucket.org/ccritix/magic-lantern-git/downloads/magiclantern-Nightly.2021Oct14.1300D110.zip
Fix headphone connected
It works now too Magic zoom, zebras and focus peaking.
I'm waiting for you to tell me about other bugs found  ;)
Canon 1300D, 500D, EOS M, EOS M2

petabyte

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #490 on: October 16, 2021, 01:11:53 AM »
critix The link doesn't seem to work. The bitbucket one your posted on the Discord room works, so I'll put my findings here:

One strange thing:
- Enter menu
- Press Q on "Close register log"
- Can't use arrows to navigate menus (a popup should be shown?)
- Press Q again, can navigate menus

Other than than it seems to be working well. Nice job.

critix

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 174
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #491 on: October 16, 2021, 01:40:17 PM »
Unfortunately, I didn't test the link ... but this is the best one.

https://bitbucket.org/ccritix/magic-lantern-git/downloads/magiclantern-Nightly.2021Oct15.1300D110.zip

I removed the Close register log submenu from the Audio menu because it doesn't work yet.
In the Audio menu, "Test beep sound" is not functional yet. I'm trying to solve this function as well
Canon 1300D, 500D, EOS M, EOS M2

Dekkia

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #492 on: October 17, 2021, 01:33:35 PM »
I found two issues:
  • The Temperature-measurement seems wrong. For me it reports 13°C (55F) in a 27°C Room
  • Magic Lantern crashes when taking a screenshot. The screenshot gets written to the sd card before the crash (see log on bottom)

Crash log:
Code: [Select]
ASSERT: FALSE
at ./ASIF/ASIF.c:486, ASIF:fe1066f4
lv:0 mode:0

ASIF stack: 16d7a0 [16d898-16c898]
0xUNKNOWN  @ 41fc:16d888
0xUNKNOWN  @ fe2c2170:16d860
0xFE2BE970 @ fe105b08:16d838
0xUNKNOWN  @ fe2be9a0:16d828
0xUNKNOWN  @ fe2bea28:16d808
0xUNKNOWN  @ fe288ffc:16d7f0
0x00CD1E90 @ cb83ec:16d7e8
0x00003CBC @ fe1066f0:16d7d0
0x00C80378 @ c809ec:16d7a0

Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2021Oct15.1300D110
Mercurial changeset   : NO_HG
Built on 2021-10-15 14:51:32 UTC by root@DESKTOP-D54K2FD.
Free Memory  : 256K + 873K

ROME

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #493 on: October 18, 2021, 11:24:16 PM »
I was going to do a fresh install on my camera and decided to make an installation guide.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1PdUBSY9Ao1l8G-8axQo4XcFOP-bxDbqWvRK-hcXm0LY/edit?usp=sharing

I've enabled editing for anybody, so feel free to make any edits. Eventually I may add it into the ML wiki.

Hey I pretty much followed ur instructions to a T but when I put the SD card in my came it won’t cut on until I take the SD card out. Looking at your steps vs what I’m seeing on my cam, everything looks the same except when I write the bootflag. That’s only difference.

my flags are

EOS_DEVELOPFAT32    3ÉBOOTDISKU1/2

&

BOOTDISKU1/2 

Not sure if this is the issue though.

petabyte

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #494 on: October 19, 2021, 04:36:50 PM »
Could you send a screenshot?
Try EOSCard. If that doesn't work, then you probably want to talk with critix.

critix

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 174
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #495 on: October 19, 2021, 06:26:11 PM »
Try to do a firmware update to version 1.1.0. (even if you have exactly this version on your device). Then you can try to test ML. This problem seems to exist on many devices. I suffered the same with my device. After an "update" to version 1.1.0, I was able to work on ML.
Canon 1300D, 500D, EOS M, EOS M2

moloch

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #496 on: October 25, 2021, 02:55:27 AM »
First of all thanks for all the work, I am excited that magic lantern finally works in this camera.
I found a couple of bugs (I think so) ...
1. The magic lantern menu does not open in video mode.
2. If you are in manual mode then you use Live View and open the magic lantern menu the menu will flicker every 3 seconds or so.
3. The option to change the white balance in magic lantern does not work, it stays stuck with the one you put in the canon menu.
4. ML Digital Iso does not work, if you change it the screen will be black and you will record black.

elenhil

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #497 on: November 09, 2021, 07:04:57 AM »
Is ML on 1300d still missing some essential features? Because otherwise this thread would've been stickied, right?

critix

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 174
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #498 on: November 09, 2021, 09:21:17 AM »
A new version:
https://bitbucket.org/ccritix/magic-lantern-git/downloads/magiclantern-Nightly.2021Nov09.1300D110.zip
- The temperature measurement / display has been repaired.
- Is displayed in LV focal length.
- White balance can change from ML.
Canon 1300D, 500D, EOS M, EOS M2

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8131
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #499 on: November 09, 2021, 09:25:30 AM »
Is ML on 1300d still missing some essential features? Because otherwise this thread would've been stickied, right?

No. AFAIK stickies in "Camera-specific Development" are representing cams with "official" builds (nightly and experimental).