Author Topic: [DONE, only 1..4 MP] 10mp raw picture option for xxxD's  (Read 9054 times)

disfordrums

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
[DONE, only 1..4 MP] 10mp raw picture option for xxxD's
« on: July 28, 2012, 01:31:32 PM »
Hey, I really like the 10mp raw option for the 7D, 5DmkII, etc. Is there any possible way to port this option to the 600D or any of the like?

Alia5

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • 600D
Re: 10mp raw picture option for xxxD's
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2012, 02:07:19 AM »
You mean smaller RAW-files?
Would be pretty usefull for shooting sequenzes so the memory-card can catch up...

But i don't think this would be possible.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: 10mp raw picture option for xxxD's
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2012, 04:24:10 AM »
Not sure.... would have to look. There needs to be a list of things to work on.  I like this option because my 400D makes 10mp raws and they are starting to add up.

disfordrums

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: 10mp raw picture option for xxxD's
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2012, 09:34:40 AM »
Thanks for looking into it. When I shoot in clubs, I usually have a very high volume of shots but since the pictures are just getting uploaded to facebook anyways, there is no point in using all 18MPs.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12324
  • Emergencies only
Re: 10mp raw picture option for xxxD's
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2012, 11:28:14 AM »
You can save MRAW/SRAW from 550D, but nobody was able to develop these files.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: 10mp raw picture option for xxxD's
« Reply #5 on: July 31, 2012, 07:06:05 PM »
Is it still in the code? Maybe I can try it again?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12324
  • Emergencies only
Re: 10mp raw picture option for xxxD's
« Reply #6 on: July 31, 2012, 07:13:30 PM »
You can play with set_pic_quality (tweaks.c) and the constants from property.h. Be prepared to get permanent ERR70, even without card.

Make sure you understand this before going forward: http://magiclantern.wikia.com/wiki/Unbricking

On 550D, the user interface gets corrupted when enabling MRAW/SRAW.

;)


1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: 10mp raw picture option for xxxD's
« Reply #7 on: July 31, 2012, 07:24:31 PM »
I see, so I will have to make another autoexec that sets the property back for recovery.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12324
  • Emergencies only
Re: 10mp raw picture option for xxxD's
« Reply #8 on: July 31, 2012, 07:31:33 PM »
This recovery method worked on 550D, but not on 5D2/5D3.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: 10mp raw picture option for xxxD's
« Reply #9 on: July 31, 2012, 07:33:23 PM »
Quote
Be careful: setting one property may cause other properties to be changed.

Heh, this is what worries me.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12324
  • Emergencies only
Re: 10mp raw picture option for xxxD's
« Reply #10 on: July 31, 2012, 07:36:59 PM »
I'd rather try this kind of experiments on 60D in C mode, where settings are not saved to ROM. But the 60D already has MRAW/SRAW...

Alia5

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • 600D
Re: 10mp raw picture option for xxxD's
« Reply #11 on: August 01, 2012, 01:52:56 AM »
What about the 600D?
I could try if.....

Leon

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Re: 10mp raw picture option for xxxD's
« Reply #12 on: August 01, 2012, 11:00:40 PM »
I'd also really like reduced-resolution RAW files on the 550D.

Is the original full resolution RAW data actually resized, or are pixels simply skipped / left out?  I'm just thinking that if some pixels are completely ignored, this could/would result in problems with aliasing and moirĂ©.

Alia5

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • 600D
Re: 10mp raw picture option for xxxD's
« Reply #13 on: September 12, 2012, 03:52:14 PM »
I've been shooting a lot of Sports-Sequences lately..
And i ended up shooting in JPEG because the 600D can only take 6 RAW-Shots at its full (pure awesome.....) 4 Frames per Second...

I would really love to play around with the MRAW and SRAW files, but since i'm not brave enough to enable this functions on my camera, maybe someone who has done it could upload some small RAWs for me? Just to look how it would work

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: 10mp raw picture option for xxxD's
« Reply #14 on: September 12, 2012, 04:19:19 PM »
Did anyone ever try with asserts disabled? Could some of the other qualities like S1 be remapped to instead goto mraw/sraw via cache hacks? Were all the 550D mraws/sraws also corrupt?

disfordrums

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: 10mp raw picture option for xxxD's
« Reply #15 on: October 15, 2012, 10:40:57 AM »
Are there any news on this one?

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: 10mp raw picture option for xxxD's
« Reply #16 on: October 15, 2012, 12:46:44 PM »
1%, we can try to cache hack the Err70 but someone needs to get one first :P
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

Simon

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: 10mp raw picture option for xxxD's
« Reply #17 on: October 29, 2012, 10:29:19 AM »
would also love to have this on the 550d !

/ Dream mode on

Pulling 2 Megapixel 1080p RAW frames at 24fps
 :-*

/ Dream mode off

disfordrums

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: 10mp raw picture option for xxxD's
« Reply #18 on: May 13, 2013, 07:03:49 PM »
I ask for modest resolution raw stills, check in couple of months later, and get raw VIDEO...well done sir, well done! :))