Author Topic: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2  (Read 582963 times)

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6631
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #725 on: March 26, 2019, 11:19:54 PM »
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

aaalexi

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #726 on: March 31, 2019, 03:54:43 PM »
Help:XXX is not possible in current mode , Max 0
Hi,lovely guys in the forum~
I'm a totally rookie in M L
just picked up my old 5DII and tried to take some RAW videos,
but I found that the MLV function can not work,
I can't select any resolution,even the lowest 640 , and it said (640 is not possible in current mode,max 0)
The CF card is Sandisk Ultra 16GB 50M/S, It's an old card and I know that speed is not so fast,
but I did the speed test,write 48mb/s, read 75mb/s,
I thought maybe the card supports the lowest resolution,right?
or,is there something wrong with the camera body?
Help me please!!!

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6631
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #727 on: March 31, 2019, 07:24:59 PM »
In Canon menu set video resolution 1080p.
In movie mode, press magnify button 5x. Enter ML menu and adjust a rather low resolution there.
Retry.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

aaalexi

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #728 on: March 31, 2019, 07:36:07 PM »
In Canon menu set video resolution 1080p.
In movie mode, press magnify button 5x. Enter ML menu and adjust a rather low resolution there.
Retry.
Thanks for the reply Sir!I tried those steps you said ,and it still max 0..........

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6631
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #729 on: March 31, 2019, 07:41:23 PM »
There is a snapshot option in Debug tab. Gives you 10 seconds after selecting it to browse to a menu. It will generate a VRAMx.PPM file. Convert to JPEG/PNG, upload them somewhere an link here.
Show
Module screen
Movie screen
MLV submenu with resolution setting visible.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

aaalexi

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #730 on: March 31, 2019, 07:54:54 PM »
There is a snapshot option in Debug tab. Gives you 10 seconds after selecting it to browse to a menu. It will generate a VRAMx.PPM file. Convert to JPEG/PNG, upload them somewhere an link here.
Show
Module screen
Movie screen
MLV submenu with resolution setting visible.
Thank you again Sir! and the are the snapshots

aaalexi

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #731 on: March 31, 2019, 07:57:23 PM »
There is a snapshot option in Debug tab. Gives you 10 seconds after selecting it to browse to a menu. It will generate a VRAMx.PPM file. Convert to JPEG/PNG, upload them somewhere an link here.
Show
Module screen
Movie screen
MLV submenu with resolution setting visible.
oops ,why the snapshots didn't show... here are the links https://imgur.com/N4CQuDI  https://imgur.com/3UGT38x  https://imgur.com/vMh7GrA  https://imgur.com/SxUIkra

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6631
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #732 on: March 31, 2019, 08:03:02 PM »
You have to enter movie mode to record movies ...
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

aaalexi

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #733 on: March 31, 2019, 08:07:29 PM »
You have to enter movie mode to record movies ...
module screen and liveview screen https://imgur.com/F5ZwQqB  https://imgur.com/VIAE0nF
what??? movie mode??? what I understand the movie mode is in the liveview then you could press set to take the movie.....
what I understand is wrong for so many years?? LOL....
and how to turn on the movie mode??? Please~

aaalexi

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #734 on: March 31, 2019, 08:12:41 PM »
You have to enter movie mode to record movies ...
Sir,are you still there?? help me please!

aaalexi

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #735 on: March 31, 2019, 08:21:06 PM »
You have to enter movie mode to record movies ...
Oh, I fonud the answer,In the Liveview function settings I didn't select that "Movie display" ,so many years I never learn whats different about those selections.....Im a totally idiot!!LOL!
at last, thank you soooooo much for the help sir! god bless you!

Macke1

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #736 on: April 15, 2019, 10:29:15 PM »
hi, is there anyone who knows which button fixes autofocus when filming, i can´t find the button?! or is it only manualfocus?! it worked on my 700d?!

theBilalFakhouri

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #737 on: April 15, 2019, 10:57:03 PM »
@Macke1

Why not to ask on 700D thread?

Not sure, but maybe disabling "small hacks" under mlv_lite submenu it will fix Autofocus when shooting RAW video, try and feedback please.

The autofocus is working while shooting H.264 right? You are talking about RAW video in none crop mode ? If not maybe you should adjust autofocus settings from Canon menus, and as far as I know the autofocus doesn't work in x5 mode.
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8

Macke1

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #738 on: April 15, 2019, 11:04:02 PM »
sorry, im on 5d markii and shooting mlv, i will try this and come back


reddeercity

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1942
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #739 on: April 16, 2019, 07:53:39 AM »
I don't use auto focus , but if I remember right auto focus only works before you record raw video no while recording (raw video that is) .


OlRivrRat

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 464
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #740 on: April 16, 2019, 10:01:22 PM »
RedDeerCity Is correct > 5D2 does not have Full Time AF during Vid' Rec' ~

70D was the 1st EOS DSLR able to do that ~
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML.111B(DEAD)