Help with purple overexposed highlights

Started by murinae, May 30, 2015, 03:40:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

murinae

Hello people,

New to this forum and to ML. I'm actually a producer/editor but I have just done a project with a cameraman using the 5Dm3+ML.
Here's the question: ML apparently has a function that shows overexposed highlights in purple. I thought this appeared only as an overlay on the camera display but when reviewing I saw that it was on the footage as well (mainly concerns the overcast sky, which is now purple instead of white)

heres a screencap:

Is there an easy way to remove this? Easy as in outside the NLE?

I'm using Premiere CC to edit, so I might be able to remove it there. It just seemed that this function is very weird and impractical and I'm overlooking something obvious. Thanks for helping.

m

Andy600

Did you shoot ETTR? You should be able to fix it by changing the white level meta to something lower. Can you send me a DNG and I'll take a look?
Colorist working with Davinci Resolve, Baselight, Nuke, After Effects & Premier Pro. Occasional Sunday afternoon DOP. Developer of Cinelog-C Colorspace Management and LUTs - www.cinelogdcp.com

murinae

Hey, as I said I didn't shoot this so I don't know about ETTR.
Not sure how to get a DNG of the video file either. I could upload a sample video file itself to my dropbox and share that, would this work?
Let me just check if I can fix this via changing white levels in Premiere before I bother you more :)

EDIT: If I change the white to gray it works, although I reckon colour correction and balance will be quite a challenge in the end. I think I can sort the rest out myself but I you still want to take a look at a file you can download a clip here:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/8vy3ciayfpzp3ux/BJ5A1981.MOV?dl=0

Any tips on how to avoid that in the future? Which feature of ML is causing this? Is this WAD or a bug?

Andy600