Author Topic: Canon 6D  (Read 402092 times)

Tyronetheterrible

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #950 on: November 24, 2018, 12:06:12 AM »
It worked!  :D

Thank you for being so helpful, Levas!

BlueNinja

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #951 on: November 26, 2018, 06:36:21 PM »
Hello I have a 6D with 1.1.7, I have installed 1.1.6 from here and installed ML but it doesn't work, the ML menu doesn't show up when I press Q, when I go to video on the screen appears shortcuts for iso and WB but that's it. I have uninstalled ML and installed again but it still doesn't work, I have searched the forum but I haven't found anything about this problem. I have a Tamron 24-70 f2.8 lens and 32 Gb Sandisk Card and the original battery. Do you have any ideas what could be wrong?

Any ideas please?

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6324
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #952 on: November 26, 2018, 07:02:08 PM »
ML menu doesn't show up on pressing "Q". Try trashcan button.

BlueNinja

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #953 on: November 28, 2018, 09:00:10 PM »
ML menu doesn't show up on pressing "Q". Try trashcan button.

Thank you, that worked  :)

CommanderLake

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #954 on: December 06, 2018, 10:49:07 PM »
Is 1920x1080 or similar res possible with 2x2 binning? I just discovered the resolutions in 5x zoom mode and the quality is perfect but the crop factor is too much.

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6324
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #955 on: December 07, 2018, 07:43:53 AM »
First someone has to find out how to do 2x2 binning with Canon cams.

CommanderLake

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #956 on: December 07, 2018, 09:40:36 AM »
Maybe the question I should be asking is how does one get the best possible raw video from the 6D at 1920x1080 or similar while using a significant portion of the sensor?
The problem I'm having is false color along sharp horizontal edges.

Levas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1317
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #957 on: December 07, 2018, 07:36:22 PM »
The question you should asking is, how do I get rid of false color  ;)

See this post:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=19300.msg206100#msg206100

If the MLV to dng to rawtherapee to tiff sequence to your video editor of choice is too much work, you can give MLVapp a try.
It doesn't have the defringe option, but there are versions of MLVapp which support the LMMSE debayering, which gives much less false color as the more used AMAZE debayering.
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=20025.msg186965#msg186965

CommanderLake

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #958 on: December 07, 2018, 08:15:15 PM »
I already use MLV App, what causes the false colour? Is it just the light hitting individual sub pixels?
Is 3x3 binning an averaging of 9 pixels into 1 or something else? Surely that would help alleviate the issue but it doesn't.

Levas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1317
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #959 on: December 07, 2018, 08:30:43 PM »
If already using MLVapp, do you use the 'force LMMSE' option for debayer in the export settings ?
otherwise, it doesn't help reducing false color.

The binning on 6d is actually only horizontal, vertical it skips two lines, all other ML capable cams do this, except the 5d3 which does the 3x3 binning.
The vertical line skipping is mostly causing the false color. You're actually missing two lines of (color) info, which gives in small details very contrasty color info.

Alex explains the lineskipping/binning stuff in this post:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=16516.msg160831#msg160831


CommanderLake

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #960 on: December 08, 2018, 11:17:24 AM »
LMMSE is different but not really better as it introduces other artefacts and doesn't fix the gappy horizontal lines caused by the line skipping.
It seems the 5x zoom mode fixes the line skipping issue but then my 35mm lens becomes a telephoto lens.

Levas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1317
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #961 on: December 08, 2018, 05:46:34 PM »
You can't really do much about gappy horizontal lines,
Maybe some, if you are willing to spend 365 dollar for a special filter to put in your camera, but for 365 dollar, I can live with the gappy horizontal lines just fine  :P
http://www.mosaicengineering.com/products/vaf/6d.html
Another option is to use (old) soft lenses(Helios 44-2 for example) or use lenses wide open, that way you won't see as much sharp lines in the background  ;)
My suggestion is, learn to live with it, makes live much easier.

You can do however much in post to remove false color.
if you don't like LMMSE, you could also try to do a blur on the chroma only.
With that you basically split your clip in a a chroma and a luma channel and only do a blur on the chroma part, then mix both channels together and most false color is removed.
You can do this in most video editors, here's an example from youtube where Black magic Davinci Resolve is used:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kYg5OlxrYZs