Author Topic: Canon 70D  (Read 1710189 times)

nieller

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3450 on: March 04, 2020, 10:55:19 PM »
He is using lossless compression mode.

Sorry bout fullquoting.

And sorry i yelled out. I could have just read the past 10 or so pages. Found out my sdcard is limited to 38MB/s write speed, so the ML sd-overclock module has absolutely no effect on my cameras ability to shoot longer videos in @1832x1024 16:9 24fps. I get around 60MB/s read speed, so guess i'll have to try a card with faster write speed. 

Thanks all for the great work - putting a new glare in my old 70D

Cheers!

/NC

kotofei

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3451 on: March 08, 2020, 10:27:16 PM »
Umm.. there is some non-standard feature wants - UNDERCLOCK main CPU. Is it possible ?
Canon EOS 70D (1.1.2)
Nightly.2018Dec24.70D112

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7058
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3452 on: March 08, 2020, 10:54:31 PM »
Purpose? Use case?
Just "I want it" doesn't work as a convincing feature request.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

OlRivrRat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 529
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3453 on: March 10, 2020, 05:24:02 AM »
                     @Walter

           "Is It Possible" was the Question ~ I certainly didn't see this as a

> Can Someone Please Do This For Me <
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML(AliveAgain)

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1149
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3454 on: March 10, 2020, 07:58:15 AM »
+1 for Walter:
Write clearly. Say what you mean, and make sure it can't be misinterpreted. One suggestion from me for underclocking the main CPU would now be: DESOLDER the CPU of the 70D and solder the one from 40D into it. Good luck!
70D.112 & 100D.101

Luther

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3455 on: March 10, 2020, 05:20:03 PM »
I agree. But in he's defense, underclocking might decrease sensor temperature and energy usage, which is good when doing astrophotography or anything that uses the camera for hours in high ISO...

Stigliano

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3456 on: March 13, 2020, 04:41:23 AM »
Using the Google Translate. I bought a 3x1 HDMI "HUB". To connect my C100 and 70D to the same monitor. With a button I change which camera I watch on the monitor. When I make this change, the 70D stops recording video. I found that it always happens, if you put hdmi cable with camera recording, recording stops. Is there any solution for this? Strong hug

BrucieHartley

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D, v1.1.3 firmware?
« Reply #3457 on: March 13, 2020, 10:29:18 PM »
Hi, first poster here, with a 70D sporting 1.1.3 firmware. Do I need to revert to V1.1.2 to have ML for Canon 70D work OK?
Thanks
Bruce

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7058
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3458 on: March 14, 2020, 12:58:43 PM »
Normally you would just be directed to Install Guide (Top of page -> User Guide -> Install Guide) or FAQ or the basic install instructions found in nightly builds download page (also on top of the page).
But 1.1.3 was designed to fight a vulnerability in the firmware update process resulting in blocking firmware downgrades. ATM the only way to get ML running is provided by CPS downgrading to 1.1.2. If you are lucky they will do it. Not all of them comply, though.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

kotofei

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3459 on: March 14, 2020, 05:06:05 PM »
Canon 70D has a seriios problem with proper cooling CPU. That black "carbon" stickers on CPU does not help much to cool down CPU during high load (video recording and even being in ML LV mode with couple realtime drawings enabled). It`s canon engineers fault.
Reballing chip doesn`t help.
So be warned - using LV mode shortens life of your cameras. Are you still thinking that underclocking is useless ?
Canon EOS 70D (1.1.2)
Nightly.2018Dec24.70D112

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1149
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3460 on: March 14, 2020, 05:29:19 PM »
Canon will repair it if first two digits in your camera's serial number are within the range of 00 to 22. Check the product advisory
70D.112 & 100D.101

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12359
  • Quarantined
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3461 on: March 17, 2020, 10:54:38 AM »
So be warned - using LV mode shortens life of your cameras. Are you still thinking that underclocking is useless ?

With or without underclocking, the amount of work the CPU has to do in LiveView will be the same. At a higher frequency, it will be in short bursts, with relatively high idle times. At a lower frequency, the CPU will be mostly busy (much shorter idle times). Will this give a significant difference in power draw? I highly doubt.

Is it even possible to adjust the CPU frequency from software, on EOS cameras? Maybe - there are other microcontrollers able to adjust their clock - but here, I have no idea where to look. The closest thing that comes to mind is this, but it's not what you are looking for.

Reducing the LiveView frame rate, e.g. keeping 10 FPS in photo mode, will make a significant difference in power draw (camera temperature, battery life etc). There is an experimental patch in the EOS M thread.

Reducing the frequency of the sensor clock, on the other hand, could result in better images (lower noise). No idea where this frequency comes from, and whether it can be configured from software. It has nothing to do with the frequency of the main CPU, though.

Short answer: it might not be useless, but... good luck figuring out how to change it.

BaRe

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3462 on: March 20, 2020, 01:12:08 PM »
Normally you would just be directed to Install Guide (Top of page -> User Guide -> Install Guide) or FAQ or the basic install instructions found in nightly builds download page (also on top of the page).
But 1.1.3 was designed to fight a vulnerability in the firmware update process resulting in blocking firmware downgrades. ATM the only way to get ML running is provided by CPS downgrading to 1.1.2. If you are lucky they will do it. Not all of them comply, though.

I was going to ask the question, so for now we have better time staying in 1.1.2, until a new build comes out?