Author Topic: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3  (Read 140979 times)

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3228
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1 / M2
Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #100 on: February 19, 2016, 07:31:23 AM »
Try following those settings below to get continuous recording for 30fps although it's not exactly 1080p but close and it's RAW which can then be stretched in post to make it full HD if desired.



If you're seeing 'Wrong Format' then maybe you need to enable 'Files > 4GiB (exFAT)' to ON.
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101 • EOSM2.*

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6835
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #101 on: February 19, 2016, 07:34:51 AM »
Maybe he wanted to tell this message is shown on his HDMI device?
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

dratif

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • The Atif Films
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #102 on: February 19, 2016, 06:19:00 PM »
Hi,

DEJ, and Walter,

Thanks for your follow up.

I did change the settings with exFAT and got this

"Crash detected log file saved.

Plz send crash18.log to ML devs.

Assert: IsSuiteSignature (hsuite"


And when I turned the 4GB>exFAT off. It took me to record almost 1 minute.

5D3 | SanDisk 64GB 160- KB 64GB 1066x | Canon 24-105mm 4L | Canon 70-300mm IS USM | Rokinon 85mm 1.5 | Nikon 50mm 1.4 | Nikon 28mm 2.8 | Tascam DR-60 Mk2 | Audio Tech. AT 8024 | MS7701B Boom | Aputure H198C | Monitor FreeWorld FW-759 | Tripod Oben AC-1341 | Head PH-368 | Slider SLD-31 | MBP 2015 mid

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3228
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1 / M2
Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #103 on: February 19, 2016, 06:22:31 PM »
Sounds like you didn't set the CF card into exFAT via Disk Utility on your Mac -- you'll need to do that first before putting it into ur 5D3 and report back when you can.
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101 • EOSM2.*

dratif

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • The Atif Films
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #104 on: February 19, 2016, 09:34:53 PM »
Hi DEJ,

I reformatted the card on exFAT. But there is a strange thing, I cant see the res 1856X1044 on RAW MLV but I can see it on Raw Video. Before 1920 it shows 1600 and no 1856 in between.

Also as I tried to decrease the resolution the Error 70 message appeared alternatively with under minute recordings.

Between our last message- I shifted to 1.1.3 to see if it works but to no fruition.

Do you think 1.1.3 will be better for my problem? I m using DSLR Controller software to monitor my shoot.

I used this video to downgrade but Nexus 7 screen froze as I pressed rec button on camera.

Once again thanks a bunch.

5D3 | SanDisk 64GB 160- KB 64GB 1066x | Canon 24-105mm 4L | Canon 70-300mm IS USM | Rokinon 85mm 1.5 | Nikon 50mm 1.4 | Nikon 28mm 2.8 | Tascam DR-60 Mk2 | Audio Tech. AT 8024 | MS7701B Boom | Aputure H198C | Monitor FreeWorld FW-759 | Tripod Oben AC-1341 | Head PH-368 | Slider SLD-31 | MBP 2015 mid

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6835
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #105 on: February 19, 2016, 09:42:51 PM »
Help tab. Highlight "Press INFO" but don't press any button. First line in bottom section is telling which ML version you are running. Post info to the letter, please.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

dratif

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • The Atif Films
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #106 on: February 19, 2016, 10:07:12 PM »
Walter,

Was that for me?

When I visited that link of wiki & ML- it showed a server error on the page.

5D3 | SanDisk 64GB 160- KB 64GB 1066x | Canon 24-105mm 4L | Canon 70-300mm IS USM | Rokinon 85mm 1.5 | Nikon 50mm 1.4 | Nikon 28mm 2.8 | Tascam DR-60 Mk2 | Audio Tech. AT 8024 | MS7701B Boom | Aputure H198C | Monitor FreeWorld FW-759 | Tripod Oben AC-1341 | Head PH-368 | Slider SLD-31 | MBP 2015 mid

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6835
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #107 on: February 19, 2016, 10:20:57 PM »
Access ML's "Help" screen/tab on your camera and give required info about your ML version.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

dratif

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • The Atif Films
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #108 on: February 19, 2016, 10:46:26 PM »
Nightly.2015Dec20.5D3123

is that you needed?
5D3 | SanDisk 64GB 160- KB 64GB 1066x | Canon 24-105mm 4L | Canon 70-300mm IS USM | Rokinon 85mm 1.5 | Nikon 50mm 1.4 | Nikon 28mm 2.8 | Tascam DR-60 Mk2 | Audio Tech. AT 8024 | MS7701B Boom | Aputure H198C | Monitor FreeWorld FW-759 | Tripod Oben AC-1341 | Head PH-368 | Slider SLD-31 | MBP 2015 mid

GutterPump

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 180
  • 5DIII/5DII/550D
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #109 on: February 24, 2016, 08:15:19 PM »
Try following those settings below to get continuous recording for 30fps although it's not exactly 1080p but close and it's RAW which can then be stretched in post to make it full HD if desired.



If you're seeing 'Wrong Format' then maybe you need to enable 'Files . 6GiB (exFAT)' to ON.


When i try your solution, i get an issue :

Record is good at 30fps, ML dont show me drops frame, but when i import my DNG in resolve/premiere i see drop frame in my DNG sequence.
Even if i enable card warm up or not or if i extract my MLV with raw2cdng v1.6.5 or MLV mystic

Do i need to change some options ? I have the last version of ML + Lexar 16gb 1066x

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3228
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1 / M2
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #110 on: February 24, 2016, 09:50:19 PM »
Can you at least upload the original MLV where it shows the dropped frames or at least a DNG or two?
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101 • EOSM2.*

GutterPump

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 180
  • 5DIII/5DII/550D
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #111 on: February 24, 2016, 10:26:58 PM »
Here some DNG from a MLV with droped frames : 

http://www.filedropper.com/m24-2205

I will post the MLV later when it's ready

Which version of ML do you use ? What's your configuration from canon's video options, 1080@24 or 25 ? I dont know where i need to search for slove this problem.

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3228
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1 / M2
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #112 on: February 24, 2016, 10:42:03 PM »
Which version of ML do you use ? What's your configuration from canon's video options, 1080@24 or 25 ? I dont know where i need to search for slove this problem.
Ah, ha... I'm afraid that may be the issue on your end ... I would set the Canon settings to 30p (ALL-I) and then go into ML settings to do the rest ... Try that and report back as I'll take a look at your DNG in the meantime.

Re: Which version ML ... I always use the latest nightlies as suggested. Thanks!

*Edit*

Where exactly is the problem within your DNG files as I am looking at them ... I don't see any corruptions/dropped frames in between?
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101 • EOSM2.*

GutterPump

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 180
  • 5DIII/5DII/550D
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #113 on: February 24, 2016, 11:00:37 PM »

I set the Canon settings to 30p (ALL-I)

Damn, i was in PAL and not NTSC, this why it was impossible for me to see the 1080@30 and only 24 and 25 in the canon's menu.
I feel fool but happy.

Where exactly is the problem within your DNG files as I am looking at them ... I don't see any corruptions/dropped frames in between?

I thought you just wanted check some examples of my DNG. Maybe for see meta data or else ..

Thanks for your help DEJ.

GutterPump

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 180
  • 5DIII/5DII/550D
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #114 on: March 02, 2016, 10:31:27 PM »
Well i'm back.

After a lot of tests, my problem is :

When i enable card spanning for record with 30fps or more (no problems with 24fps), even if i enable 30/50/60fps in the Canon's menu, i get droped frames, but i dont have problem for record, it's only when i check the movie with the MLV Player, or on raw2cdng and of course if i extract my DNG, Resolve show multiple sequences because i get droped frames.

I need to disable card spanning for using 30fps or more.. I dont understand why. I disabled CF Only Buffer too, but no results.

Then i can't really use Card spanning, My cards are : CF Lexar 1066x 16 gb + SD Lexar Extreme 45 mb/s 16 gb.
I tried to install ML on the CF or the SD, it's the same.
And of course both cards are formated in ExFat

Is it an internal problem in my 5D mark III ? I did a big reset of my configurations, upgrade and downgrade the firmware too, it's the same.

ps: sorry if my english isn't clear sometime, i try my best !

GutterPump

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 180
  • 5DIII/5DII/550D
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #115 on: March 02, 2016, 10:48:57 PM »
Well i just understand my mistake,

I had not understood the need to assemble the scattered files in both cards to extract DNG.

I thought it was automatically in the preferred card (CF card).

Dandango

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #116 on: March 03, 2016, 07:06:40 PM »
Noob Question - is there going to be a ML version for 1.3.3 or not? Hard to figure out by scanning through, apols if covered a million times before.

Dan

dratif

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • The Atif Films
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #117 on: March 08, 2016, 12:12:56 AM »
Sorry guys for the late reply.

I did work it out, I can record at 1600X900 and can monitor on Nexus.

Now the problem is when I stretch it to 4k in AE it kind of gets pixellated.

I wonder why it wouldnt work in Nexus 7 when its native resolution is 1920X1200.

Makes no sense to me, or is it about DSLR Controller?

Am I missing something somewhere?
5D3 | SanDisk 64GB 160- KB 64GB 1066x | Canon 24-105mm 4L | Canon 70-300mm IS USM | Rokinon 85mm 1.5 | Nikon 50mm 1.4 | Nikon 28mm 2.8 | Tascam DR-60 Mk2 | Audio Tech. AT 8024 | MS7701B Boom | Aputure H198C | Monitor FreeWorld FW-759 | Tripod Oben AC-1341 | Head PH-368 | Slider SLD-31 | MBP 2015 mid

RTI

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #118 on: March 12, 2016, 11:45:43 AM »
Re: 1.3.3 question (and you guessed it right, covered a lot of times)

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=14460.0
Canon 5DIII| Sigma 35/1.4|T 24-70/2.8 VC| Tamron 70-200/2.8 VC USD

dratif

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • The Atif Films
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #119 on: March 13, 2016, 01:37:20 AM »
RTI

I am on 1.2.3

Everything's fine. Camera record ML when I am not Nexus 7. And even when I set the resolution below 1920X1080

The trouble is it doesn't monitor/record when I set it on 1920X1080

Like I said 1600X900 it records while monitoring but not on 1920X1080.

Nexus resolution is 1920X1080 and I know DSLR controller also supports 1920X1080.

I checked all the settings. Also my settings wont show option of 1856X1044.

Please advise.
5D3 | SanDisk 64GB 160- KB 64GB 1066x | Canon 24-105mm 4L | Canon 70-300mm IS USM | Rokinon 85mm 1.5 | Nikon 50mm 1.4 | Nikon 28mm 2.8 | Tascam DR-60 Mk2 | Audio Tech. AT 8024 | MS7701B Boom | Aputure H198C | Monitor FreeWorld FW-759 | Tripod Oben AC-1341 | Head PH-368 | Slider SLD-31 | MBP 2015 mid

dratif

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • The Atif Films
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #120 on: March 13, 2016, 04:21:54 PM »
So I have downgraded to the latest 1.1.3

DEJ should I switch to 30 FPS coz right now I use 24 FPS.

I still cannot monitor and record on Nexus 7.

Lately I have started noticing some pink vignetting. May be when I super close up.

Am I right? is there a fix or catch? or is it my illusion or something wrong with the setting?

Please advise.
5D3 | SanDisk 64GB 160- KB 64GB 1066x | Canon 24-105mm 4L | Canon 70-300mm IS USM | Rokinon 85mm 1.5 | Nikon 50mm 1.4 | Nikon 28mm 2.8 | Tascam DR-60 Mk2 | Audio Tech. AT 8024 | MS7701B Boom | Aputure H198C | Monitor FreeWorld FW-759 | Tripod Oben AC-1341 | Head PH-368 | Slider SLD-31 | MBP 2015 mid

dratif

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • The Atif Films
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #121 on: March 13, 2016, 04:25:47 PM »
I tried 30 FPS still not recording beyond few seconds


Shot this long shot video but cant see vignetting or I am just blind ;)

so I dont know been fondling around for a while.

Really appreciate some help or directing me to any other forum.
5D3 | SanDisk 64GB 160- KB 64GB 1066x | Canon 24-105mm 4L | Canon 70-300mm IS USM | Rokinon 85mm 1.5 | Nikon 50mm 1.4 | Nikon 28mm 2.8 | Tascam DR-60 Mk2 | Audio Tech. AT 8024 | MS7701B Boom | Aputure H198C | Monitor FreeWorld FW-759 | Tripod Oben AC-1341 | Head PH-368 | Slider SLD-31 | MBP 2015 mid

dratif

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • The Atif Films
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #122 on: March 14, 2016, 03:47:06 PM »
Got the latest 1.1.3 but still wont record while monitor on Nexus 7 beyond few seconds.

5D3 | SanDisk 64GB 160- KB 64GB 1066x | Canon 24-105mm 4L | Canon 70-300mm IS USM | Rokinon 85mm 1.5 | Nikon 50mm 1.4 | Nikon 28mm 2.8 | Tascam DR-60 Mk2 | Audio Tech. AT 8024 | MS7701B Boom | Aputure H198C | Monitor FreeWorld FW-759 | Tripod Oben AC-1341 | Head PH-368 | Slider SLD-31 | MBP 2015 mid

RTI

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #123 on: March 23, 2016, 03:40:18 PM »
Make sure you have your CF card selected from the menu. It sometimes switches to SD when you don't have a CF card in camera and won't revert back.
Canon 5DIII| Sigma 35/1.4|T 24-70/2.8 VC| Tamron 70-200/2.8 VC USD

dratif

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • The Atif Films
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #124 on: March 25, 2016, 11:28:46 PM »
Ok will try again.
5D3 | SanDisk 64GB 160- KB 64GB 1066x | Canon 24-105mm 4L | Canon 70-300mm IS USM | Rokinon 85mm 1.5 | Nikon 50mm 1.4 | Nikon 28mm 2.8 | Tascam DR-60 Mk2 | Audio Tech. AT 8024 | MS7701B Boom | Aputure H198C | Monitor FreeWorld FW-759 | Tripod Oben AC-1341 | Head PH-368 | Slider SLD-31 | MBP 2015 mid