Author Topic: Canon 70D  (Read 1669678 times)

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6898
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3300 on: March 28, 2019, 04:13:07 PM »
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

mvrck

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3301 on: March 28, 2019, 04:23:19 PM »
You know about Canon's service advisory about Err70 on 70D?

Now that you mention it, I think I've read something about that, but I've obviously forgotten about it since. My camera's serial number begins with 24, though. The Err 70 only appears when I record RAW video and I don't even have to turn off the camera or reinsert the battery. After ML's finished writing the crash log, I simply half-press the shutter and the error clears, as if it never happened. This is why I suspect it has something to do with ML.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12317
  • Emergencies only
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3302 on: March 28, 2019, 04:45:33 PM »
ERR70 can be triggered by over 1000 different conditions. Some of them are caused by ML, others are hardware issues.

This one looks like something related to sound recording. Is the error still there with the regular nightly build for 70D from the download page? If the error is not present with the regular build, it must be something in the experimental builds.

To narrow down, is the error present with...
- ML defaults (Prefs -> Card settings) and H.264 recording?
- ML defaults and only mlv_rec (without sound)?
- ML defaults and only mlv_lite (without sound)?
- ML defaults and only mlv_rec + mlv_snd?
- ML defaults and only mlv_lite + mlv_snd? nevermind

Unlikely to help, but you could also try restoring Canon settings.

mvrck

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3303 on: March 28, 2019, 06:25:13 PM »
ERR70 can be triggered by over 1000 different conditions. Some of them are caused by ML, others are hardware issues.

This one looks like something related to sound recording. Is the error still there with the regular nightly build for 70D from the download page? If the error is not present with the regular build, it must be something in the experimental builds.

To narrow down, is the error present with...
- ML defaults (Prefs -> Card settings) and H.264 recording?
- ML defaults and only mlv_rec (without sound)?
- ML defaults and only mlv_lite (without sound)?
- ML defaults and only mlv_rec + mlv_snd?
- ML defaults and only mlv_lite + mlv_snd?

Unlikely to help, but you could also try restoring Canon settings.

Ok, so with the lastest nightly (magiclantern-Nightly.2018Dec24.70D112), this is what happens:

- ML defaults and only mlv_lite + mlv_snd - module clash error - no go
- ML defaults and only mlv_rec + mlv_snd - records for a few seconds and then Err70
- ML defaults and only mlv_rec (without sound) - I recorded 17 mins of raw footage, no problem (battery drained and I had to stop)
- ML defaults and only mlv_lite (without sound) - recorded raw footage, until my 128GB card filled up - a little over 51 mins - no problem

Of course, this nightly not having lossless or sd overclocking, I used something like 1600x600 (1:2.67), if that matters at all. So, it does indeed look like the sound module is causing the issue. Also, I should mention, that when I tested the Mar07 and Mar14 builds, I didn't use the default settings - I turned off small hacks, allowed screen mirroring and used LV Digic peaking with sharpening (that's all, I think). I'll now test the Mar07 and Mar14 builds again, but with the default settings, with and without sound, and report back.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12317
  • Emergencies only
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3304 on: March 28, 2019, 07:06:47 PM »
Alright. I assume the sound recording feature works on 70D, otherwise it would have been reported many times.

Not sure what to recommend - maybe checking the same ML card in two different 70Ds, both reset to Canon defaults and running at exactly the same settings, to exclude a hardware issue?

Or, I could try to debug mlv_snd, but... remote debugging is going to be time-consuming for both of us. I might be able to do that on April 7/8 (unless unexpected stuff happens meanwhile), so please remind me then if you can't find what's going on.

mvrck

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3305 on: March 28, 2019, 07:16:58 PM »
I don't have another 70D to test on, but I'll continue testing the different builds with different settings and when I have something, I'll report back.

andy kh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 523
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3306 on: March 28, 2019, 07:55:38 PM »
I hv been shooting 14 bit lossless mlv lite with sound and hv no issues so far
5D Mark III - 70D

ArcziPL

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 135
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3307 on: March 28, 2019, 08:47:21 PM »
- ML defaults and only mlv_lite + mlv_snd - module clash error - no go
- ML defaults and only mlv_rec + mlv_snd - records for a few seconds and then Err70
- ML defaults and only mlv_rec (without sound) - I recorded 17 mins of raw footage, no problem (battery drained and I had to stop)
- ML defaults and only mlv_lite (without sound) - recorded raw footage, until my 128GB card filled up - a little over 51 mins - no problem
Hi mvrck, thank you for extensive testing! 1h of recording without an error is a pretty good indicator that there should be no problem with the hardware of your cam (but still not a real proof).

Regarding the sound itself it's interesting, as Mar07 and Mar14 builds are based on two different branches (crop_rec_4k_mlv_lite_snd and crop_rec_4k_mlv_snd), which implement sound support in different ways. And they both crash for you...

I have four ideas:
1. There should be some audio settings in Canon menu as well -> auto gain optimizer and wind filter, if I recall correctly. Try to play around with them and see if it has any effect on the crashes.
2. Use the camera without magic lantern, record normal h264 with sound (standard, official feature of this camera). Does it crash then?
3. Use the Mar07 or Mar14 builds with sd_uhs+lossless and disable sound by deactivating mlv_snd. I wonder if these builds also will stop crashing...
4. Restore camera factory settings over Canon menu.

Regarding the other camera settings: I used only 1080p/25fps setting from Canon menu, resulting in 1832x1024 RAW image size. Small hacks: in last year I used the default setting, in last days disabled. Screen mirroring: default. DIGIC peaking: sharpening.
70D.112 | M50.102 | M.202

rrosen1

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3308 on: March 28, 2019, 09:34:39 PM »
I actually have a 60d version 1.1.2.  The download for the 60d is 1.1.1.  I checked with Canon and they told me version 1.1.2 has been in use for at least 3 years.  I got my camera serviced by Canon in February.  I am sure at that time I had version 1.1.1 and I am sure the updated the software to 1.1.2.  I have tried the 70D version 1.1.2 but it never gets to the install. Do you know of any solutions?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6898
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3309 on: March 28, 2019, 09:38:41 PM »
Duplicate question, offtopic, already answered.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

mvrck

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3310 on: March 29, 2019, 01:28:08 AM »
OK, here are the results from my testing.

Mar07 Build

mlv_lite
1776x1000, 14-bit lossless, 16:9
Preview: Realtime
40 min. - OK
--------------------------------
mlv_rec
1792x716, 10bpp, 2.50:1
Global Draw: Allow
40 min. - OK
--------------------------------
mlv_lite + sd_uhs
1832x1024, 14-bit lossless, 16:9
Preview: Realtime
40 min. - OK
--------------------------------
mlv_rec + sd_uhs
1824x1026, 10bpp, 16:9
Global Draw: Allow
40 min. - OK
--------------------------------
mlv_rec + mlv_snd
1792x716, 10bpp, 2.50:1
Global Draw: Allow
Err70, after a few seconds
--------------------------------



Mar14 Build

mlv_lite
1776x1000, 14-bit lossless, 16:9
Preview: Realtime
40 min. - OK
--------------------------------
mlv_rec
1792x716, 10bpp, 2.50:1
Global Draw: Allow
40 min. - OK
--------------------------------
mlv_rec + mlv_snd
1792x716, 10bpp, 2.50:1
Global Draw: Allow
Err70, after a few seconds
--------------------------------

In all the tests I used ISO100, 24 FPS. A run the first test for 40 minutes and decided to run all other tests for as long, not just for consistency, but also to test the camera's stability. All tests were done back to back, using two batteries - one being used, while the other was being charged. The camera was pretty warm throughout, but didn't pass 58*C. According to Canon, Err70 occurs with prolonged use and supposed heat build-up, so I had to test for that. I don't know anything that heats up cameras and drains batteries quite like shooting RAW video, so I guess my 70D passed the test. Anyway, the result is that the mlv_snd module always produces Err70, when activated, unfortunately.

@ArcziPL
1. I tried setting the audio to manual and turning on and off the wind filter and attenuator, but it didn't help
2. There's absolutely no problem with the camera taking pics and shooting h.264 with or without ML loaded
3. I think my test results answer that one :)
4. Tried that, too - doesn't work

andy kh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 523
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3311 on: March 29, 2019, 05:51:33 AM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KtYcu_YeApI&feature=youtu.be
 here is a video showing of my test that mlv lite(lossless 14 bit) with sound works but get some error msg on screen when i record mlv with sound
i hope someone wil understand better by watching the video
5D Mark III - 70D

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5997
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3312 on: March 29, 2019, 05:53:39 AM »
If not tested yet I think the latest changes in mlv_snd together with mlv_lite from g3gg0 should be tested. I think it´s in this branch:
crop_rec_4k_mlv_snd. Not sure what branch is working with 70D or not though but anyhow.

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3739
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3313 on: March 29, 2019, 06:31:32 AM »
Something I noticed on the video is that you have both mlv_rec and mlv_lite modules loaded. Don't don't that! Turn on as few modules as possible when testing and definitely not two modules that do basically the same thing.

I believe that the latest commit for the 70D is this one on the crop_rec_4k branch.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

andy kh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 523
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3314 on: March 29, 2019, 06:54:36 AM »
thanks dford
now its working perfect. no more problem with audio in mlv rec.
i can find the audio setting in mlv rec after deactivating mlv lite module
5D Mark III - 70D

mvrck

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3315 on: March 29, 2019, 09:05:04 PM »
So, a funny thing happened. While doing some additional testing, the sound recording started working out of nowhere, as it seems. I did have some issues and I did get one Err70 out of all my extra tests and it was the strangest one yet.

Mar07 Build

mlv_lite + mlv_snd + sd_uhs

1832x1024, 14-bit lossless, 16:9
Preview: Realtime
Small hacks: ON
Auto Mirroring: Don't allow
15 min. - Video OK, sound OK, NO ERRORS!
Additionally tested later:
45 min. - Video OK, sound OK, NO ERRORS!
50 min. at ISO200 - Video OK, sound OK, NO ERRORS!
47 min. at ISO400 - Video OK, sound OK, NO ERRORS!

----------------------------
mlv_rec + mlv_snd + sd_uhs

1824x1026, 10bpp, 16:9
Global Draw: Allow
15 min. - Video OK, sound OK, NO ERRORS!
Additionally tested later:
15 min. - Video OK, sound OK, NO ERRORS!

The mlv_snd module was loaded and turned on, but the sound meter bars didn't show up.


Mar14 Build

mlv_rec + mlv_snd

1792x716, 10bpp, 2.50:1
Global Draw: Allow
15 min. -  Video OK, sound OK, but Err70

When I pressed stop at the 15th minute, the recording timer froze, the top display said "Busy" and a few seconds later.. guess what.. Err70! Had to take out my battery this time. The MLV file had sound, though.

mlv_lite + mlv_snd

1600x900, 14-bit lossless, 16:9
Preview: Realtime
Small hacks: ON
Auto Mirroring: Don't allow
15 min. - Video OK, sound OK, NO ERRORS!

Everything went as normal: audio meter bars showing up and working, camera reacting normally, when starting and stopping recording. I should mention, that I tried recording in 1776x1000 with everything alse the same, but the camera stopped after a couple of minutes. It stopped in a normal manner, like when the resolution is just too high - no unusual errors. When I tested that build before, with the higher resolution, it worked for 40 mins., but now with mlv_snd also loaded, it looks like it can't keep up.

Doesn't make much sense to me. In all tests I kept ML at default settings with only the modules, mentioned above loaded. I don't think Canon's menu settings have an effect on RAW recording, but most were kept at defaults (incl. audio), except: image recording set to RAW only, video recording format set to 24fps, IPB, colour profile set to Faithful (from Auto), Beeping turned off. Can't think of anything else. The way I switched from build to build for testing, was without uninstalling ML, just deleting one build's files from the card and copying the other build's onto it. I have both builds with my settings backed up in folders.

I'll keep testing. If anyone has any insight, please share.

ArcziPL

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 135
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3316 on: March 29, 2019, 09:28:09 PM »
I don't think Canon's menu settings have an effect on RAW recording, but most were kept at defaults (incl. audio), except: image recording set to RAW only, video recording format set to 24fps, IPB, colour profile set to Faithful (from Auto), Beeping turned off. Can't think of anything else.
That's the moment, when the bell rang in my head. Was beeping turned off also during your initial tests when sound didn't work at all?

If you take look at the first post in this topic:
What's not working:
Check also Changelog history below for all details and disabled features...

Every single detail might count. You are doing it very well, mvrck, testing and describing keeping all tiny details in mind!
70D.112 | M50.102 | M.202

mvrck

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3317 on: March 29, 2019, 09:40:18 PM »
That's the moment, when the bell rang in my head. Was beeping turned off also during your initial tests when sound didn't work at all?

If you take look at the first post in this topic:

Every single detail might count. You are doing it very well, mvrck, testing and describing keeping all tiny details in mind!

I think I still had it on, when I did the first tests. I can't remember exactly when I disabled it, though. I didn't think such a seemingly inconsequential setting could have such, well, consequences. I'll try enabling it back to see what happens.

EDIT: Yup, with "Beep" enabled, I get 5-20 secs. before an Err70. Thank you very much, ArcziPL, for pointing this out!

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3318 on: March 31, 2019, 06:56:03 PM »
So is variable FPS working? what setting and is there a build I can test.  Cheers.
T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 85 1.8 "Shoot Wide and Prosper"

andy kh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 523
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3319 on: March 31, 2019, 08:43:31 PM »
So is variable FPS working? what setting and is there a build I can test.  Cheers.

Reply # 3291
5D Mark III - 70D

andy kh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 523
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3320 on: April 04, 2019, 06:30:49 PM »
with the fps override enable now i can shoot 4k with my 70D
i wil share a video soon. i may not shoot in 4k but shoot in 3k since rendering takes so much time
5D Mark III - 70D

andy kh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 523
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3321 on: April 05, 2019, 07:20:49 AM »
5D Mark III - 70D

ArcziPL

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 135
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3322 on: April 05, 2019, 08:07:02 AM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_GCCJ2y7ch8&feature=youtu.be

fps override not jumping to default
Wow! Andy, how did you do that? Which build, which modules loaded, how do you manage to increase resolution to 3k and make FPS not jump back?
70D.112 | M50.102 | M.202

andy kh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 523
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3323 on: April 05, 2019, 08:31:57 AM »
Wow! Andy, how did you do that? Which build, which modules loaded, and make FPS not jump back?

its your build. i use sd_uhs and script from danne. i play around with shutter range and timer A. i have tested with different fps like 16,18,20,21 as per my need and all work fine without jumping

its in 5X Zoom mode so i can go upto 3.5k. little problem with the preview as the "framing" in preview dont work sometimes but "realtime" always work



5D Mark III - 70D

ArcziPL

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 135
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3324 on: April 05, 2019, 08:33:06 AM »
its your build. i use sd_uhs and script from danne.
Can you point me to this script please?
70D.112 | M50.102 | M.202