Author Topic: Canon 70D  (Read 1752830 times)

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1400 on: July 16, 2015, 06:11:45 PM »
It would be nice if work-arounds became sticky posts in the thread.
T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 85 1.8 "Shoot Wide and Prosper"

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3391
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1401 on: July 17, 2015, 09:05:38 AM »
Finally some test feedbacks:

Shot features
 - advaced bracket:
 - default params (auto and constant frames) - ok
 - default + iso shifting (auto frames) - ok
 - default + DOF + constant frames - ok
 - default + flash + (auto/constant) frames - ok
 - intervalometer:
 - interval 2s -> real interval for 5 pictures: 3, 1, 3, 1 (confirmed this works)
 - trigger - all seems ok
 
 
Image review
  - play mode exposure adjust - ok
  - timelapse play - ok both directions (confirmed)
  - trigger key - all ok
  - image review - ok
  - quick zoom single press -> 100% - ok (but sometimes it quick zoom button would become unresponsive and battery reboot to fix)
  - fast - ok
  - full zoom on AF - error (zoom on center) <--- although it seems to be working ok with 10-18 STM lens so not sure about others?
  - f zoom on last pos - ok
   
Auto ETTR
   - in Av sometimes only changes ISO and time with constant exposure (400, 50 ) -> (100, 13), or (400, 50) -> (12800, ?) trigger mode <--- (confirmed but still not sure why and will investigate some more)
   - set - ok
   - halfS dbl - mostly not triggered (confirmed it randomly works but then it would become unresponsive and battery reboot would fix)
   - auto snap - sometimes takes more pictures (3 pictures with different exposure or 4 pictures with identical exposure) <--- I seem to get all identical exposure so not sure what I need to do to duplicate inconsistence?
   
 
Expo lock
  - Off/Tv,ISO/Tv,Av - ok
  - off/ISO,Tv/Tv,Av - ok
  - off/Tv,ISO/Av,Tv - ok
  - iso,Av/Tv,ISO/Av,Tv - ok
  - iso,Av/off/Av,Tv - ok

Dual ISO
  - 100/800, 100/1600 - ok
  - alternate frames - ok
  - custom file prefix - ok
  - Need to use latest cr2hdr binary to work with 70D files.
  - Movie Dual-ISO for both RAW/MLV still broken.

Expo presets
  - Press Info - OK
  - Press Set - Error (canon action, but if i use set for ettr, it works but don't use often since I rather use by eye)
  - white balance only in K mode works ok
 
Overlay (all in photo mode)
  - Zebras
     under, over - ok
     color space - ok

Focus peak
  - greyscale - ok (although I don't use it much)

Crop marks
 - show in photo mode - ok
 - show in play mode - photo topleft+metadata -> cropmark on whole display (confirmed)
 
Ghost image
 - play with photo topleft+metadata -> overlay photo only on topleft in LV
 
Spotmetter
 - spotmeter unit - imo ok (but i can't verify right values -- confirmed not working)
 - spot position - ok
 
LV with ML overlay
 - randomly hide focus box ( I can confirm this but it may be related to the 3-4 sec limit? )
 
False color
- original image on spotmeter position
- banding detection - BW noisy image in LV (confirmed)
- green screen - only BW image without something green (confirmed but unsure)

Waveform
- all modes do work but sometimes flicker (like as if CPU was running too high?)

Vector scope
- ok


Histogram
- works well for the most part. (sometimes it would freeze and become unresponsive reboot battery helps)

Level indicator
- freezes after I left magiclantern overlay LV page (confirmed it freezes up sometimes but I don't use this)

DOF settings
- ok (wish I could see it in Feet as oppose to Meters -- maybe Im forgetting to change something but don't use this much either)
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

X-STATE

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1402 on: July 17, 2015, 09:26:22 AM »
@DeafEyeJedi
What about hot pixels?
In your opinion, which version works better? Alpha6b or Alpha5b?
Body: Canon EOS 70D Lenses: Sigma 18-35mm f1.8 DC HSM Canon EF 85 f/1.8 USM
70D.112

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3391
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1403 on: July 17, 2015, 09:48:21 AM »
Great question @X-STATE, however, am still investigating on that and will post Video with MLV comparisons soon.

Expecting to see dancing colors @ ISO 1600 or 2000 & up for RAW/MLV recordings.

So far it seems that 6b is slightly more stable than previous build. Good progress @nikfreak!
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

X-STATE

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1404 on: July 17, 2015, 08:27:01 PM »
well...
Alpha6b not suitable for shooting RAW video
a lot of hot pixels across the frame on any of ISO 100 to 1600
Immersed pixels strange shape of a cross https://yadi.sk/i/YmnEW8f-hvvr6
I went back to Alpha5b
Body: Canon EOS 70D Lenses: Sigma 18-35mm f1.8 DC HSM Canon EF 85 f/1.8 USM
70D.112

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1405 on: July 18, 2015, 05:31:02 PM »
My initial investigation shows its not good for hot pixels for video. 
I was getting 20 or so at ISO 100, 1600p @ 2.39 (in about 30s).
I expect long exposure photography to also have the same issue.
For raw video shooting, I would suggest 5b. 

I was wanting to check out more before I reported back,
but Ive been taking a course so I haven't had as much time
T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 85 1.8 "Shoot Wide and Prosper"

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3391
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1406 on: July 18, 2015, 07:50:19 PM »
@Everyone --

Today's finally the day I'm going to do a major test thoroughly aiming to determine what's causing the hot pixels that many of you are reporting.

Though I admit I have a few questions...

- Is this due to long recording times on certain ISO's (100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, etc) or does it not matter how many seconds is being recorded?

- Does it matter which resolution you guys want to record in terms of aspect ratio?

I'm going to put together a quick sample footage as soon as I hear back from you guys in this particular matter.

Will be doing the same for not only 6B but as well as previous builds just to be sure.

Thoughts?
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1170
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1407 on: July 18, 2015, 10:26:24 PM »

Will be doing the same for not only 6B but as well as previous builds just to be sure.

Thoughts?

sounds good to me. We have two alternatives: using another write channel if your tests indicate (like X-STATE's) there's a difference compared to 5b.
5b hasn't edmac_raw slurping enabled. But atm I would like to keep it enabled but as a last resort I would ofc disable it again if there's no other way to get rid off the reported hot pixels. But first let's confirm it again by your test. I guess comparing 5b and 6b should suffice
70D.112 & 100D.101

hashwood

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1408 on: July 18, 2015, 11:09:49 PM »
can someone please help me?
does anyone have the original firmware for d70, I think mine got corrupted and I need to overwrite.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7294
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1409 on: July 18, 2015, 11:17:23 PM »
Please describe error.
Remove battery, remove card, insert battery and startup without card. If cam starts up without error (well, obvious one: No card found) you most likely have a corrupted card. If so: Format card in cardreader, format in cam and install ML once again.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3391
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1410 on: July 19, 2015, 08:46:51 AM »
Alright here's what I've got so far...

First here are the settings I used within ML:  Shot in 23.97 fps (sometimes it changes to 23.98 randomly) 1/48th in 1728 x 972 for Take 1 & 1824x764 for Take 2 @ ISO 100-3200 (f4.5 - f18 depending on scene) w GD on during recording. Also set card to exFAT and card warm-up (256mb).

Post workflow as follows:  MLVFS > AE (Cinelog-C Rec_709 Wide DR v.2) > FCPX

5b Take 1 (warning! I pushed the Exposure up by +1.00 via ACR for each clip on this one):

6b Take 1:

5b Take 2:

6b Take 2:

Seems to confirmed with @X-STATE's comments regarding HP being more prone with 6b versus 5b.
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1411 on: July 19, 2015, 09:26:45 PM »
A few more 6B tests video centric

General video (H264 & RAW)
- variable fps - not working
- Manual mode: Auto Exposure - ISO working and Auto Exposure Range, be careful to set EC parameters to cover the range.
- variable bit rate not available
- dual iso video _not working
- hdr video (not tested)
- focus peaks _ yes
- zebras - over/under _yes.
- rgb histogram _ looked good.

Raw Video
Tried ISO 100 1600p @ 2.39, 23.97fps - within 10sec too many hot pixels (20+)
Same result at 1728p @ 2.39.
At this rate I did not even bother with the higher 3X crop mode or shadow noise tests.

In looking a Defeye's test shot's I would suggest EV=0, and ISO=800+, as a number of those shots are underexposed,
which puts less light on sensor hence not stressing as much.

Really interesting is that when I played back 5b recorded ML raw video, on the 6b, I would see hot pixels???  Regardless of which view I choice.
Yet when I played using 5B on playback they weren't there???  This made me think its the player or reading of the raw file that's a potential problem???. 
** Others with hp in 6b please confirm if your 5b raw videos have more hp on 6b playback **
No hot pixels on record or playback for H264. 


ML grey scale view still is unacceptably slow / unusable.  The others are OK.

Some progress was made the recording and playback were smoother and faster with 6b than 5b.
Only anecdotingly it looked like the recorded panning was smoother (need to do much more testing to be accurate
but it sure looked smoother in camera playback).


 



T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 85 1.8 "Shoot Wide and Prosper"

sergey

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1412 on: July 20, 2015, 11:08:17 AM »
File     .DNG (size 35 MB)  received in mode    -Intervalometer-  Silent Picture - maximum resolution ---    does not open (Adobe DNG Converter 9.1 , LR 6.1 ).
Faststone display only preview 128 x 84  = 0,01 MP
It should be possible  converting  ?  than?
 
70D_111A

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1170
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1413 on: July 20, 2015, 08:23:29 PM »
Thx to DeafEyeJedi, X-STATE and ShootMeAlready for their video related test. I would like you to test more. Please follow the link below. You will see 2 folders each containing a test build for 70D.111A and 70D.111B. Now read carefully:

  • Alpha 5b doesn't have raw slurping enabled (you reported few hot pixels, right?)
  • Alpha6b from 1st post uses edmac raw slurping (write channel 1)
  • Link-Folder 70D_EDMAC_33 uses edmac raw slurping (write channel 33)
  • Link-Folder 70D_NO_SLURP doesn't have raw slurping enabled (like 5b)

If you have time please do some measurable test (only look for hot pixels, nothing more) and tell me which of the zip in the folder works best for you. According to your upcoming report I will push the source-code of your recommended build to bitbucket and it will be part of the next release. Thx for participating:

https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B9Mu66yg5QzRfkxkYXgtSkVoaVlDazZ4TmswV1d1eU1GLW9zQldWSk1FdVR0XzkyV3NsQ2M&usp=sharing

Hope to get 2 equal resulting feedbacks (one would probably be less to convince me)
70D.112 & 100D.101

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3391
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1414 on: July 20, 2015, 08:32:58 PM »
Thanks for the PM @nikfreak!

Today I am off work and would be glad to jump on board with this measurable test of yours for HP.

Downloaded both 70D_EDMAC_33 & 70D_NO_SLURP files for 111.B and will report back.

*agreed*
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

satriani

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1415 on: July 20, 2015, 09:17:07 PM »
70D_EDMAC_33



70D_NO_SLURP


No comment ;)

EDIT: Link from Dropbox is not a good idea  ::)
Cameras: Canon EOS 70D, Canon EOS 650D
Lenses: 2x CanonEF-S 18-135 IS STM, Sigma 50mm f1.4 DG HSM Art
Daily builds

pontius

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1416 on: July 20, 2015, 09:28:05 PM »
Just tested (with ISO 200) and the results are:
NO_SLURP
EDMAC_33
70D.111B

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3391
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1417 on: July 21, 2015, 12:16:26 AM »
Here are the test results per your request.

Shot in 23.97fps 1824 x 764 (2.39) w 10-18mm ISO 100-3200 @ 12mm closed down to f25 (w exFAT recording & card warm-up enabled).

Workflow as follows: MLVFS > AE (no grade) > FCPX

70D_EDMAC_33:

70D_NO_SLURP:

Screenshots from EDMAC_33 DNG files via ACR:
ISO 100 -
ISO 200 -
ISO 400 -
ISO 800 -
ISO 1000 -
ISO 1250 -
ISO 2000 -
ISO 3200 -

EDMAC_33 obviously has HP whereas NO_SLURP doesn't seem to have any.
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1170
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1418 on: July 21, 2015, 12:58:28 AM »
ok can you please check again "Exposure presets / Press SET". Seems to work for me. I can toggle via INFO and SET button.Maybe I understood it wrong.
I also re-checked dualiso for movie mode. CMOS registers are ok, too. Nothing wrong in code and adtg module confirms it, too. Could it be workflow related? I never tried out on my own though - just checked it thrice in code. Additionally found a wrong address for 70D.111A regarding quickzoom in play mode and trying to re-produce the other reported bugs by you (yellow / remarkings). I can confirm broken "Full Zoom on AFPoint". You can follow it here:

https://bitbucket.org/nikfreak/magic-lantern/pull-request/1/70d-merge-finalize/diff#comment-None

Some of the reported bugs are hard to read and understand but I am keeping m best on trying to reproduce
70D.112 & 100D.101

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3391
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1419 on: July 21, 2015, 01:06:04 AM »
Sure, will do. I often ask myself if I make sense in understanding what I'm trying to troubleshoot or reproduce & encounter because I don't seem to understand myself at times.

Though I'll keep trying my best, as always.

Before I go ahead and do that -- do I just use NO_SLURP build or use the latest 5b/6b?
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1170
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1420 on: July 21, 2015, 01:21:52 AM »
you use the NO_SLURP build please  8)
70D.112 & 100D.101

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3391
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1421 on: July 21, 2015, 01:28:50 AM »
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1422 on: July 21, 2015, 06:21:57 AM »
Played around quite a bit with auto exposure, and got it to keep the set ISO range.  So Manual Mode, AUTO ISO being limited by a range works. 
Its tricky, as the 5s exit from ML bug, really makes it hard to edit the many curve parameters.
I am by no means an expert on this ML feature, and would love a clear tutorial on each parameter.

Here's the ML thread I found most helpful.
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=7208.0
T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 85 1.8 "Shoot Wide and Prosper"

lojzik

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1423 on: July 21, 2015, 07:51:17 AM »
ok can you please check again "Exposure presets / Press SET". Seems to work for me. I can toggle via INFO and SET button.Maybe I understood it wrong.
I found what is problem. Exposure presets /Press SET works only If I disable  Canon settings for this button (C.Fn III -> Custom controls). But Auto ETTR /Press SET overrides this Canon settings. I don't know what is feature and what is bug, but it's inconsistent.
C.Fn III SET:OffC.Fn III SET: flash...
Exposure presetsSET -> change presetSET -> flash...
AETTRSET -> AETTRSET -> AETTR(edit: precisely, shows flash exposure compensation, but immediately starts LV with AETTR)


Some of the reported bugs are hard to read and understand but I am keeping m best on trying to reproduce
What bugs from me are hard to read and understand? (sorry, I don't speak English, but I can try to rewrite it)
70D.112

Nonac

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1424 on: July 21, 2015, 11:38:48 PM »
Intervalometer problem [111B] Alpha 6B Version

I set the camera to take pictures per 15 seconds but the camera took instantly (picture after picture) (in long exposure mode 15'')
tried with 20 seconds = same result
tried with 30 seconds = ok

Zoom Problem

When i press the zoom button it zooms to the maximum .



Thats all for me :)
Keep doing your lovely work!
70D.111B