precise control of rolling shutter line speed

Started by SydM107, November 24, 2014, 09:34:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SydM107

Hello,

I'm studying the vibrations of vertical interference lines from a Michelson Interferometer. I wanted to know if there is a way to control the FPS and rollingshutter speed of my 5d mk2 in order to minimize the gap in time between the last line read of one frame and the first line of the next frame. I've calculated that there is about 1/100 of a second between the end of one frame to the beginning of the next. For my purposes this is just too big.

Can anyone tell me if this gap is due to a physical limitation of the camera, or is there a way make time/line*#lines = 1/fps?

SydM107

I'm sorry, but I can't figure out what that equation represents. and unfortunately this doesn't answer my question about if the gap between 1/fps and lines*seconds/line is able to be minimized. so far the smallest gap I can find is 0.008 seconds.

dmilligan

http://wiki.magiclantern.fm/userguide#fps_override

If you can't use FPS override in ML to get to the values you want/need, then you can assume that it's a physical limitation.

SydM107

Would anyone know why the camera is limited in this fashion? if only it were possible to increase the seconds/line without changing the fps I would be golden.

I know everyone wants to minimize jello effects, but I need it to be maximized in order to ensure continuity between frames.

dmilligan

QuoteHigh Jello: maximize the jello effect and enable fast shutter speeds. You can use this mode for recording slit-scan frames (distorted images like these, which use the extreme jello effect in creative ways).

SydM107

Hello,