can't sync audio to video with hn4 what am i doing wrong

Started by kforcool, September 01, 2014, 05:45:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

kforcool

the audio is much bigger than the video and it is impossible to sync audio is there a resolution to this I'm new to magic lantern and i can see the video quality is much better than canons normal firmware but for the life of me it is frustrating that i can not sync audio just docent happen it seems the longer the video the more out of sync it gets

Frank7D

Are you sure? It is normal for the audio to be longer than the video; it should still be in sync if you line up the front ends.

kforcool

yeah i lined up the clap and buy the end of the video the audio is way out I'm talking buy seconds so its rather significant I'm not sure if its to do with the video settings or what i can easily line up a go pro footage with external audio no problem but with magic lantern footage it is way of when i put it into FCP so i don't no if its cause my capture settings are of i have also noticed my mark iii  footage is not in true hd 1920 to 1080 its at 1916 to 1076 i was using raw magic lite to convert files to compressor but i recently got the full version. i scene a few post on this topic that  mentioning FPS override but when i use this my footage is ether to fast or very jerky whats the proper settings for video using external recorder?

kforcool

I'm using a 32gb cf lexxor card think its 1000 x and H4n with SD card but buy the end of video the audio is way out

reddeercity

Hi, I'm a FCPX ,5D2  user with 32 & 64 Lexar 1000x cards & I have a  Zoom H4n and I don't have a problem syncing audio .
I do record Audio in Cam with MLV @ 23.976p with frame over ride enable to exact ( That's important )
I  make ProRes 4444 XQ in Adobe A.E. sync audio from the cam,  off set the audio by 7 to 9 frame.
Sync the master Audio from H4n in FCPX with a project setting of 23.976p. That's it , I know early days in the development of Raw there was