Author Topic: Failing to install on 550D - am i missing something?  (Read 3665 times)

muller027

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Failing to install on 550D - am i missing something?
« on: August 24, 2014, 08:55:44 AM »
Hi,

I have downloaded ML Stable Release v2.3 to install on my 550D 1.0.9.
After i select Firmware update then "ok", the firmware update screen appear, then goes black with the card LED flashing. Nothing seems to happen from here on.
Is there anything i am missing here.
Thanks in advance.

ItsMeLenny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 928
  • 550D
Re: Failing to install on 550D - am i missing something?
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2014, 03:03:14 PM »
is your battery fully charged, and did you copy all files over? (autoexec.bin and ML folder)

muller027

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Failing to install on 550D - am i missing something?
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2014, 06:10:27 PM »
is your battery fully charged, and did you copy all files over? (autoexec.bin and ML folder)

The battery was near on full but maybe not 100% full. Will this actually stop the firmware from installing? I thought it was just a precaution.

ItsMeLenny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 928
  • 550D
Re: Failing to install on 550D - am i missing something?
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2014, 03:25:49 AM »
The battery I think it's just a precaution.

However you do need the autoexec.bin and ML folders copied over.

muller027

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Failing to install on 550D - am i missing something?
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2014, 04:44:10 AM »
Ok i thought so.
Yeah both autoexec.bin and ML folders are on there as well.
I only assume that its not working because videos i'v seen show it installing in seconds and my screen stays blank much longer. In panic of killing the camera i just turned it off after a minute or so  :)
How long roughly does the install take?
Thanks again.

Rewind

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
Re: Failing to install on 550D - am i missing something?
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2014, 04:51:38 AM »
You should update canon firmware first. Even if it's version is already marked as 1.0.9.

ItsMeLenny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 928
  • 550D
Re: Failing to install on 550D - am i missing something?
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2014, 07:36:43 AM »
You should update canon firmware first. Even if it's version is already marked as 1.0.9.

That's a good point. 550D usually comes with 1.0.8, so you have to update it using canon firmware.
The .fir that ML provides is not actually firmware, it's just a thing to enable to bootflag in the camera.