Author Topic: Canon 1200D  (Read 244378 times)

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11902
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #400 on: November 01, 2016, 08:39:03 PM »
Skip one line will solve this problem.

Here, the problem was different: skip_left was 145, must be even. Fix committed and tested in QEMU:



To fix existing pictures:

Code: [Select]
exiftool *.DNG -ActiveArea="52 142 3516 5344"

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3105
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1 / M2
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #401 on: November 02, 2016, 06:22:35 AM »
and I definitely did NOT see this one coming @a1ex. Thanks for sharing the temporary fix and to @Greg for jump starting this!
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101 • EOSM2.*

bakersdozen

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 67
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #402 on: November 02, 2016, 08:04:18 AM »
Here, the problem was different: skip_left was 145, must be even. Fix committed and tested in QEMU:



To fix existing pictures:

Code: [Select]
exiftool *.DNG -ActiveArea="52 142 3516 5344"
Great, thank you so much @a1ex! Does committed mean that this fix will be automatically picked up for next port?

I have contacted @mk11174  but I've yet to hear back about the next stage of porting 1200d.

Is it also possible to drag multiple files onto this command in exiftool rather than use *.dng?

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk
EOS M + 5D3

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11902
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #403 on: November 02, 2016, 08:43:14 AM »
Next stage is waiting for a 1200D owner who has the skills, time and motivation to continue and maintain the port. If that describes you, feel free to jump in.

rickmc3280

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #404 on: November 05, 2016, 03:18:32 AM »
What is the "Update" for this @Alex?

I just recently purchased the T5, and already have the T5i. 

I contacted Canon and recieved the SDK, and wanted to begin to understand how the programming works as far as what all is involved with the  Magic Lantern Hack.  What does it change as far as software etc.  Does having the SDK help at all for programming the T5?  I know many basic commands are the same, and in many of the files it gives you the codes for things like ISO settings (many of them are statically defined across all cameras from what the documentation says). 

I have just started learning C++ over the last few years, but have recently started a class in it.  I have been going over the code a few times a week trying to udnerstand it (because all of the names are trash and they werent coded to make sense, either that or they were roughly translated from Japanese).   

Anyways, I will try to help how i can but it would help if we can get an update  with an accumulation of facts about what has happened, and where we are at this current state.

What are the risks of locking the camera etc. 

mrnewba

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #405 on: December 09, 2016, 03:09:33 PM »
I have a t5 and 12 years of experience in software engeneering, and 8 with C. The problem is that my t5 is on warranty and I don't want it to be voided. Till november 2017 I'll be studying magic lantern code. Is there any place to get started?

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6384
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #406 on: December 09, 2016, 05:09:31 PM »
Think it over about waiting/warranty: Top of page -> User Guide -> FAQ

hthstudios

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #407 on: December 21, 2016, 12:03:49 AM »
attempted to install magic lantern on canon 1200D T5. on mac osx 10.10.5 using both the july 30th firmware or .fir file with autoexec.bin and ML folder. All attempts leaves the camera with
error:

Please wait...
ROM Backup...
EnableBootDisk...
:)

from there the firmware is unsuccessfully installed and the camera returns to normal stock functions.
I have preped the card using MACBOOT.class

used 3 SD cards all C10 8GB, 16GB, and 32GB (lexar and sandisk)

attempted multiple .fir firmware downloads files from multiple sources. Issue is persistent.

please advise on what i am doing wrong, as i do no see where I have made a mistake(s).


Thank you,

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6384
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #408 on: December 21, 2016, 08:49:50 AM »
What happens after installation and reboot? Have you tried to press trashcan button after startup?

hthstudios

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #409 on: December 22, 2016, 08:24:45 PM »
Yes I have. I restored factory settings on the camera too, removing custom configurations. After doing so, when attempting to install ML. The same:
Please wait...
ROM Backup...
EnableBOOTdisk...
🙂
I then press the trash button, nothing happens. Not until the menu button, playback button or shutter button does the camera return to the stock layout.

However after the restore, the "auto off" feature has been turned on resulting in auto off after the attempted install.
Please advise on what you or anyone may think the issue is!

Thank you in advance for your assistance and clarification!
Best,

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3352
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #410 on: January 02, 2017, 06:09:13 PM »
Nice progress on the 1200D/T5.

@ItsMeLenny is looking for someone who can send him a test CR2 file from the various camera models and it looks like he's still missing this one.

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=18452.0
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103

omnesilere

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #411 on: January 05, 2017, 03:42:19 AM »
Well I got in installed properly last night. Thanks for your efforts! I wish I had some clue when it came to programming to be of assistance, it's really remarkable the time put into making this all work as well as it does. Let's hope this year is good for Magic Lantern :)

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6384
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #412 on: January 05, 2017, 08:46:39 AM »
@hthstudios: Make a video showing installation procedure. Smartphone quality should be fine.

webcatcher

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #413 on: January 06, 2017, 12:01:16 PM »
Hi Guys,

I cant find the download link for the Canon 1200D Software.
Please, can anyone help me to find the LINK?

Konversato

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #414 on: January 08, 2017, 03:15:37 PM »
I make this video in italian but you can understand the passage and this is work for me in 2017: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lQTYuo4onUI

gtrikk

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #415 on: January 12, 2017, 04:02:50 AM »
Is there a reason why i cant play back audio on the camera when using Magic Lantern? i still cant hear audio when i import video files on my computer...

briansong

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #416 on: February 12, 2017, 10:02:58 PM »
Hi, I'm new to this forum and I've been trying to follow along but I have 0 clue about coding and stuff like that. I'm very interested in testing magic lantern and providing feedback on any bugs that I find. I downloaded the July 30th build onto my 1200d and these were my results: It says "Please wait.... ROM Backup... EnableBootDisk... :)" and then nothing happens. Any help?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11902
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #417 on: February 12, 2017, 10:52:01 PM »
Just added a complete test build here: http://builds.magiclantern.fm/jenkins/job/1200D.101/

The installer is untested, and I'm not sure what exactly works and what not. Therefore, please write down a menu walkthrough (see e.g. 70D and 100D for models).

I'm also looking for logs from stubs test (selftest.mo) and api_test.lua (lua.mo). These tests were updated since last time they were run.

Bug Reporting (fill in OK / Not OK {e.g. screen flickering or camera crashed while taking a shoot or ........}:
http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html
Don't report bugs on the official issue tracker. We can only do so after being rest assured we got a stable release and the necessary source code changes are merged in officially.
Keep in mind: We need to list bugs in a readable and provable way.

  • Overlays
    -Zebras: ____
    -Focus Peak: ____
    - ....
  • Shoot
    -Intervalometer: ____
    -Bracketing: ____
    -.....
  • Included Modules
    - Raw_rec: ____
    - autoexpo: ____
    - ....
  • Other issues:
    _______________________________________
    ....

What's working:
  • You tell me. Don't forget to report like instructed above (fill in OK)
What's not working:
  • You tell me...

Onyx1640

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #418 on: February 13, 2017, 04:06:27 PM »
Just added a complete test build here: http://builds.magiclantern.fm/jenkins/job/1200D.101/

The installer is untested, and I'm not sure what exactly works and what not. Therefore, please write down a menu walkthrough (see e.g. 70D and 100D for models).

I'm also looking for logs from stubs test (selftest.mo) and api_test.lua (lua.mo). These tests were updated since last time they were run.



New to the forum, but I've been keeping an eye on ML since I got my T5/1200D in 2015 hoping a build would come up. I'll give it a try and write up a report when I get home from work tonight.

Matthewken

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #419 on: February 14, 2017, 03:33:48 AM »
This is awesome and I've been hoping for a build for the t5. I'd be happy to help with testing/troubleshooting. I do know VBA code but I don't know C++ but I've been looking for a reason to learn more code

is there a way to make a back up of the camera's operating system if something should go horribly wrong?

JG1399

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #420 on: February 18, 2017, 08:09:54 PM »
Congratulations for the awesome work you're doing!. Magic lantern is great.
Just installed it, and I noticed that the modules section only displays the details after each one has been hovered over. Later I'll provide the full bug report.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11902
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #421 on: February 19, 2017, 02:37:41 PM »
is there a way to make a back up of the camera's operating system if something should go horribly wrong?

The installer should do that (not tested on 1200D, but it's working on all other models).

I noticed that the modules section only displays the details after each one has been hovered over.

That's by design; a while ago, we were very tight on RAM. Can be changed, as storing the name of each module is not going to take a lot of RAM; however, this has a low priority.

Torkie

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #422 on: February 19, 2017, 03:45:21 PM »
@a1ex: thanks for creating this. Most of the things I've tried so far do work.

I worked through the Overlay menu and tried out all settings, except for the ones involving RAW. I had the following findings

Global draw OK, all 4 settings
Zebras
- color space all 3 OK
- Under exposure  OK
- Over exposure OK
- When recording OK
- Use raw zebras
- Raw zebra under exposure
Focus peak
- Filter bias OK
- Threshold OK
- Color OK
- Grayscale image OK
Magic zoom
-Trigger Mode OK
- Size OK
- Position OK
- Magnification OK
- Focus confirm OK
Cropmarks Going into menu with Q gives error 'Duplicate menu Cropmarks (2)'
Changing settings does work when camera is restarted
- Bitmap OK
- Show in Photo mode OK
- Show in Play mode OK
Spotmeter
- Spotmeter Unit OK
- Spot position See no difference between Center and focus box
False color OK
Histogram
- Histogram type OK
- RAW EV indicator ?
- Scaling OK
- Clip warning OK
Waveform OK
Vectorscope Going into menu gives error 'Duplicate menu Vectorscope (2)'
Changed setting do work after restarting camera

What doesn't work

When I go into the Cropmarks or Vectorscope menu, I get errors 'Duplicate menu Cropmarks (2)' or 'Duplicate menu Vectorscope (2)' which are shown in a box in the bottom left of the screen. When I then switch to Live mode a box fills the left of the screen with lots of these messages and a message 'Save configs...' and the overlays don't appear. After restarting the camera it works fine again.

nfollmer

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #423 on: February 21, 2017, 10:17:38 PM »
I plan on doing some extensive testing with this tonight, but just wanted to let you know everything I tried while shooting video worked pretty darn good. Here is what I turned on and played with (even all at the same time):

Vectorscope
Waveform
Zebras
False Color
Histogram
Focus Peak

You'd never use all these at once, but it worked :)

Also, and this is the only reason I wanted ML for this camera, I was able to go up to 3x CBR. I only recorded some trees for 1 minute and moved around to try and pull the need for more bits, but my buffer never went above 80%. Now, I did notice though, I got almost the exact same bitrate with 2x and 3x (2x was 84Mbps, 3x went to 85Mbps), I even went to ISO 6400 to try and generate more noise, but it never went above 85Mbps. I don't really care though, 85Mbps is fine, especially when you are considering this is a sub $400 camera. I'm using a SanDisk Extreme 90MB/s card. I'll try my 'cheap' cards later and see if I can pull 2x. This is awesome! Thanks to all who pulled this off!

Torkie

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #424 on: February 24, 2017, 09:42:43 PM »
I have done some more testing

I performed the API test in LUA, and have the output attached.
The  battery stuff could be caused because I have the camera on a powersupply

The selftest.mo was not among the modules. I have built ML from the 1200D branch, and the selftest.mo was included.
Enabling it gives an error on booting the camera:
Code: [Select]
Scanning modules...
Load modules...
  [i] load: SELFTEST.MO
linking..
tcc: error: undefined symbol 'bv_toggle'
  [E] failed to link modules

Also enabling other modules in my own build gave errors while loading them.



Code: [Select]

===============================================================================
ML/SCRIPTS/API_TEST.LUA - 2017-2-24 22:22:25
===============================================================================

Strict mode tests...
Strict mode tests passed.

Generic tests...
arg = table:
  [0] = "API_TEST.LUA"
camera = table:
  shutter = table:
    raw = 0
    apex = -7.
    ms = 0
    value = 0
  aperture = table:
    raw = 75
    apex = 8.374999
    value = 18.2
    min = table:
      raw = 45
      apex = 4.624999
      value = 4.9
    max = table:
      raw = 88
      apex = 10
      value = 32
  iso = table:
    raw = 0
    apex = -4
    value = 0
  ec = table:
    raw = 0
    value = 0
  flash_ec = table:
    raw = 0
    value = 0
  kelvin = 5200
  mode = 0
  metering_mode = 3
  drive_mode = 0
  model = "Canon EOS 1200D"
  model_short = "1200D"
  firmware = "1.0.1"
  temperature = 165
  state = 0
  reboot = function: p
  burst = function: p
  shoot = function: p
  bulb = function: p
event = table:
  pre_shoot = nil
  post_shoot = nil
  shoot_task = nil
  seconds_clock = nil
  keypress = nil
  custom_picture_taking = nil
  intervalometer = nil
  config_save = nil
console = table:
  hide = function: p
  write = function: p
  show = function: p
  clear = function: p
lv = table:
  enabled = false
  paused = false
  running = false
  zoom = 1
  wait = function: p
  info = function: p
  resume = function: p
  stop = function: p
  start = function: p
  pause = function: p
lens = table:
  name = "EF-S18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 III"
  focal_length = 0
  focus_distance = 14080
  hyperfocal = 0
  dof_near = 0
  dof_far = 0
  af = false
  af_mode = 771
  focus = function: p
  autofocus = function: p
display = table:
  idle = true
  height = 480
  width = 720
  pixel = function: p
  print = function: p
  notify_box = function: p
  rect = function: p
  screenshot = function: p
  draw = function: p
  load = function: p
  circle = function: p
  on = function: p
  off = function: p
  line = function: p
  clear = function: p
key = table:
  last = 10
  wait = function: p
  press = function: p
menu = table:
  visible = false
  close = function: p
  set = function: p
  open = function: p
  new = function: p
  block = function: p
  get = function: p
movie = table:
  recording = false
  start = function: p
  stop = function: p
dryos = table:
  clock = 39
  ms_clock = 39453
  prefix = "IMG_"
  dcim_dir = table:
    exists = true
    create = function: p
    children = function: p
    files = function: p
    parent = table:
      exists = true
      create = function: p
      children = function: p
      files = function: p
      parent = table:
        exists = true
        create = function: p
        children = function: p
        files = function: p
        parent = nil
        path = "B:/"
      path = "B:/DCIM/"
    path = "B:/DCIM/100CANON/"
  config_dir = table:
    exists = true
    create = function: p
    children = function: p
    files = function: p
    parent = table:
      exists = true
      create = function: p
      children = function: p
      files = function: p
      parent = table:
        exists = true
        create = function: p
        children = function: p
        files = function: p
        parent = nil
        path = "B:/"
      path = "ML/"
    path = "ML/SETTINGS/"
  ml_card = table:
    cluster_size = 32768
    drive_letter = "B"
    file_number = 84
    folder_number = 100
    free_space = 14400608
    type = "SD"
    _card_ptr = userdata
    path = "B:/"
  shooting_card = table:
    cluster_size = 32768
    drive_letter = "B"
    file_number = 84
    folder_number = 100
    free_space = 14400608
    type = "SD"
    _card_ptr = userdata
    path = "B:/"
  date = table:
    yday = 55
    wday = 6
    isdst = false
    day = 24
    month = 2
    year = 2017
    hour = 22
    sec = 27
    min = 22
  rename = function: p
  call = function: p
  directory = function: p
  remove = function: p
interval = table:
  time = 10
  count = 0
  running = false
  stop = function: p
battery = table:
function not available on this camera
stack traceback:
[C]: in ?
[C]: in for iterator 'for iterator'
ML/SCRIPTS/LIB/logger.lua:125: in function 'logger.serialize'
ML/SCRIPTS/API_TEST.LUA:32: in function <ML/SCRIPTS/API_TEST.LUA:31>
[C]: in function 'globals.xpcall'
ML/SCRIPTS/API_TEST.LUA:31: in function 'globals.print_table'
ML/SCRIPTS/API_TEST.LUA:77: in function 'globals.generic_tests'
ML/SCRIPTS/API_TEST.LUA:832: in function 'globals.api_tests'
ML/SCRIPTS/API_TEST.LUA:855: in main chunktask = table:
  create = function: p
  yield = function: p
property = table:
Generic tests completed.

Module tests...
Testing file I/O...
Copy test: autoexec.bin -> tmp.bin
Copy test OK
Append test: tmp.txt
Append test OK
Rename test: apple.txt -> banana.txt
Rename test OK
Rename test: apple.txt -> ML/banana.txt
Rename test OK
File I/O tests completed.

Testing half-shutter...
half-shutter...