Author Topic: Canon 1200D  (Read 222450 times)

Mr_Propane

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #525 on: December 09, 2017, 08:40:24 PM »
Rebel T5- Does magic lantern help fix the terrible autofocus of the official firmware? Also, I noticed the audio is silenced during video? Is that an option that can be turned back on so the audio can be recorded?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11208
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #526 on: December 15, 2017, 08:07:55 PM »
Got a very easy coding task (trial and error, but the issue is likely hardware-specific, so it can only be solved with the camera in one's hands):

https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/issues/2821/green-display

It works fine in QEMU, so I'm unable to fix this error myself; please find some things to try on the issue tracker.

@Mr_Propane: all the audio options on this camera are in Canon menu.

violao

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #527 on: December 24, 2017, 01:19:29 AM »
Hi, I'm new here and have a question for testers/users of ML on 1200d. Did anyone manage to record  longer than 12min videos by lowering H.264 bitrate below 1.0 under movie settings?

I consider buying this camera and I need to shoot continuous videos with 1920x1080/30p for at least 20 minutes.

Thanks a lot!

BrokenSyntax

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #528 on: January 04, 2018, 02:56:58 PM »
I bought one of these secondhand today for £100 for shooting B-roll in some silly little video projects me and my buddies are doing.

I've installed ML successfully, benchmarks show this as capping out at 21MB/s, my temp 16GB Sandisk Ultra card doesn't write fast enough to saturate that but I assume with the 21MB/s read speed cap that this camera can't exceed 20MB/s write speed? Therefore it is suited for sub-720p ML Raw.

Has anyone had any experiences contrary to my assumption above?

vanbov

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #529 on: January 07, 2018, 09:47:02 PM »
Hmm, about issue with black screen after silent full-res pictures with review off:

I was able to fix it by appending ResumeLiveView(); under cleanup section of `silent_pic_take_fullres`

Code: [Select]
gui_uilock(UILOCK_NONE);
ResumeLiveView();  // here
return ok;

Probably this is not corret, and the general idea was to do some other things to return back to live view, also it may brake something, but it should be enough to work on hyperlapses - after returning to liveview we can use cropmarks to hold somepoint. Thats great.
If someone need binary firmware with a fix here it is - https://maketips.net/tip/495/magic-lantern-for-1200d-with-silent-no-black-screen (I hope this is not rules violation or something like this). Here is also detailed steps how I built that thing if someone wants to repeat https://maketips.net/tip/420/build-magic-lantern-firmware

vanbov

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #530 on: January 07, 2018, 09:58:37 PM »
Hi, I'm new here and have a question for testers/users of ML on 1200d. Did anyone manage to record  longer than 12min videos by lowering H.264 bitrate below 1.0 under movie settings?

I consider buying this camera and I need to shoot continuous videos with 1920x1080/30p for at least 20 minutes.

Thanks a lot!
Hi,
I am able to set CBR under values less then 1 (e.g. 0.5) and record something, but I can't find 1920x1080/30p. Do you mean 30 fps? If yes then there I have only 1920x25, 1920x24, 1280x50, 640x25 modes. I am not working with video staff here but can test something if needed. Probably 30p can be achieved by some haks in ML.

BrokenSyntax

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #531 on: January 10, 2018, 09:02:14 PM »
Hi,
I am able to set CBR under values less then 1 (e.g. 0.5) and record something, but I can't find 1920x1080/30p. Do you mean 30 fps? If yes then there I have only 1920x25, 1920x24, 1280x50, 640x25 modes. I am not working with video staff here but can test something if needed. Probably 30p can be achieved by some haks in ML.

This can be achieved by setting your region settings in the canon MENU to NTSC instead of PAL.

vanbov

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #532 on: January 13, 2018, 07:06:34 PM »
Ok, Then looks like I was able to record 1920x30 .MOV 20-minute video with 0.5 CBR (took 3.7 Gb).

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11208
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #533 on: January 21, 2018, 12:44:18 PM »
While reviewing the 1300D code, I've noticed a few things that may need double-checking on 1200D, in internals.h:

- Display filters are likely to work out of the box:
Code: [Select]
#define CONFIG_CAN_REDIRECT_DISPLAY_BUFFER_EASILY
#define CONFIG_CAN_REDIRECT_DISPLAY_BUFFER
#define CONFIG_DISPLAY_FILTERS

(this will enable fisheye correction, anamorphic preview, raw video preview with correct framing and a few others)

- CONFIG_EXPSIM: I expect this to work (in LiveView, this should disable exposure simulation, so the brightness you see on the screen will no longer match the dialed exposure)

- CONFIG_FPS_AGGRESSIVE_UPDATE: not sure if needed. With FPS override turned off, open the submenu and write down the timer values in all video modes (including photo mode and x5 zoom). The same test was done for 1100D.

- CONFIG_MOVIE_AE_WARNING: there are manual video controls, but they are disabled by default; this should probably be enabled.

If any of you can compile from source, can you try to switch the above options and report back?

vanbov

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #534 on: January 23, 2018, 09:59:14 PM »
I am able to build and test, but unfortunately, I am not familiar with all that magic staff here because I have been using only silent picture and intervalometer. So, unfortunately, it hard for me to determine detailed test flow for all items. But I feel a duty to help this awesome project at least with those small things that I can do.
So at least I was able to run firmware with updated constants.
Here is changeset that was used for build


Here is binary firmware https://maketips.net/media/uploads/2018/01/23/G5ya4deuWd3eh4QuJze7oU-magiclantern-Nightly.2018Jan23.1200D101.zip if someone else wants to test on 1200D.
RAW MLV preview works for me: https://maketips.net/media/uploads/2018/01/23/PDMwpB3KuEPX5SWJHJeegm-VID_20180123_221307.mp4
Liveview looks like this:
https://maketips.net/media/uploads/2018/01/23/7fAK4YiqpZfZWgynTtp3LQ-image.png
About CONFIG_FPS_AGGRESSIVE_UPDATE - I found FPS override and turned off, but I am not sure I got correctly where are teh timer values and how to switch the mode to run through all modes, sorry for that. Probably someone here who uses ML a lot can support me with detailed guidelines - where to go what to click - then I will able to run these guidelines and provide photos.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11208
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #535 on: January 23, 2018, 10:18:08 PM »
"Liveview looks like this:" -> that's a bug; ML shouldn't print things over Canon's overlays. To solve it, one has to find a property that tells us when these overlays are turned on or off; however, I have a feeling it's just a simple tweak. Try this patch:

Code: [Select]
--- a/src/propvalues.c
+++ b/src/propvalues.c
@@ -239,3 +239,3 @@
     hdmi_vars_update();
-    #elif defined(CONFIG_60D) || defined(CONFIG_600D) || defined(CONFIG_1100D) || defined(CONFIG_50D) || defined(CONFIG_DIGIC_V)
+    #elif defined(EVF_STATE) || defined(CONFIG_50D)
     lv_disp_mode = (uint8_t)buf[1];

That makes the code path with buf[1] available to all models using EVF_STATE (recent DIGIC 4, all DIGIC 5 and also newer models); these are likely similar, but it's something I'm unable to test in QEMU for now.

To test: press INFO/DISP a few times. ML overlays should appear only when Canon overlays are turned off (not both at the same time, fighting over the screen).

Raw video preview: mlv_play does not use display filters (previously, it should have worked in the same way). There's an option in the submenu to change the preview mode - you'll notice it right away, as it has low frame rate and looks ugly. Or, try the fisheye correction, which is the most demanding preview option (memory hungry).

FPS timers are in the submenu (timer A and B). Just write down their values. To change video modes, use Canon menu (1920x1080 24/25/30 fps, 1280x720 50/60 fps, x5 zoom etc).

Some related stuff that wasn't done for 1200D: VRAM dumps in all video modes.


vanbov

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #536 on: January 28, 2018, 02:30:45 PM »
Hm, unfortunately for me looks like after the patch overlays still are clashed. Probably as you said it should be another variable.

Thanks, found timer values here: Movie -> FPS Override -> Advanced:

For NTSC modes (Canon menu in Video mode -> Second tab -> Video System -> For NTSC):
1. 1920x1080 30fps
Timer A 546 (+0)
Timer B 1760 (+0)
2. 1920x1080 24fps
Timer A 546 (+0)
Timer B 2200 (+0)
3 1280x720 60fps
Timer A 546 (+0)
Timer B 880 (+0)
4. 640x480 30fps:
Timer A 546 (+0)
Timer B 1760 (+0)

For PAL modes (Video System -> For PAL):

1. 1920x1080 25fps
Timer A 576 (+0)
Timer B 2000(+0)
2. 1920x1080 24fps (same as for NTSC)
Timer A 546 (+0)  (same as for NTSC)
Timer B 2200 (+0) (same as for NTSC)
3 1280x720 50fps
Timer A 576 (+0)
Timer B 1000 (+0)
4. 640x480 25fps:
Timer A 576 (+0)
Timer B 2000 (+0)

I keep searching for video preview option, hope will find it soon. Currently, I found only Display ->Defishing -> Panini/Rectilinear in ML menu but did not notice any changes in live preview or in video playback. But I am not sure that it is exactly what we are trying to test.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11208
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #537 on: January 28, 2018, 03:08:04 PM »
Forgot to #include <platform/state-object.h> - can you try with that? Or otherwise make sure the branch with buf[1] is the one that gets compiled for 1200D (e.g. you should get a compiling error if you write some nonsense there).

FPS timers look well-behaved (unlike 1100D), so we don't need CONFIG_FPS_AGGRESSIVE_UPDATE. Other than slightly lower CPU usage, it won't really make a difference though.

If you don't see anything with defishing or anamorphic preview, that means the display filters are not working, for some reason. I'd like to see an EDMAC screenshot in LiveView (edmac.mo, show channels) and all possible addresses for channels #2 and #3 (hold the down arrow pressed to see the address changing faster).

vanbov

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #538 on: February 03, 2018, 12:04:02 AM »
Yep, really, without that include buf[1] path was not included so my previous change had no value.
And now it looks fixed:

Here are channels:

The second picture is unfocused so here is address:
2nd channel address is 4000080
3nd channel address is d07800

parkerlreed

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #539 on: March 01, 2018, 09:16:56 PM »
Forgot to #include <platform/state-object.h> - can you try with that? Or otherwise make sure the branch with buf[1] is the one that gets compiled for 1200D (e.g. you should get a compiling error if you write some nonsense there).

I can confirm that works here. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8jLuoNtovfI

Canon still likes to draw over if changing values but the ML overlay does hide when the Canon is enabled.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11208
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #540 on: March 02, 2018, 04:54:21 AM »
Thanks - the buf[1] trick is working, but the bottom bar hack is not.

You could try one of these:

1) CONFIG_LVAPP_HACK_RELOC in internals.h (as used on other recent D4 models)

2) experimental "one size fits all" bottom bar hack
Code: [Select]
hg merge cleaner-lvapp-hack

3) figure out a better hack (hard, many edge cases)

Raov

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • #Full1200DPortWhen
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #541 on: April 12, 2018, 01:21:30 PM »
anyone porting 2018-02-28 release? kinda want new features introduced in the updates

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2789
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #542 on: April 15, 2018, 01:01:59 AM »
What features do you kinda want?

Looks like it is working, at least in QEMU.





I've been doing some firmware updates and the 1200D is on my list. Changing the firmware on a port that isn't complete yet might not be the best thing to do but some old bugs were found on other cameras by doing an update. This would require getting a firmware dump for 1.0.2. If someone could get that please PM me.

I put up a "1200D Canon Firmware for Testers" package on my downloads page that has both Canon 1.0.1 and 1.0.2 firmware updaters so you don't have to go searching for them. Use the Portable Dumper linked at the bottom of the Nightlies download page. Here's the forum topic with way too much information about the Portable Dumper.
5D3.* 7D.* 700D.115 EOSM.* EOSM2.103 500D.112