Author Topic: Canon 550D / T2i  (Read 229229 times)

andrewlogan

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #225 on: August 13, 2017, 05:56:25 AM »
Hey All,
First off amazing work, I am about a week into using ML and it has turned my ailing 550D into a workhorse imho.
One thing I noticed in testing is, and I only have one test to confirm this, but while it seems the *650D* closes files when it runs out of card space, my 550D does not close the file and leaves a big ugly unclosed hunk of MOV in the folder... not sure if this is Canon firmware or ML though... ideas?

John Smith 65

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #226 on: August 31, 2017, 06:14:44 PM »
Thank you for your amazing work, I've using Magic Lantern from several years
ago with great success.

About Continuous AF during video

I've been searching for an answer to this request, I've find many answers but not a definitive one
now that electronic focusing lenses are available.

Is not possible to do a hack to use AI SERVO without having to keep pressing button all the time?

I know that many lenses are hard, slow and noisy, but now I have an electronic focusing lens (10-18mm), very fast and silent, and I think it could be great if the feature was available.

Thank you.


ursamajor

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Build a school and you'll close a prison - V. Hugo
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #227 on: October 27, 2017, 05:57:36 PM »
Hello, I tried to use Silent picture feature and I have a problem. I selected in Q menu "full resolution/DNG", but when I half press shutter, the display become black. If I change to "Simple" it works, but the saved resolution is only... 1734x1156. Is there a fix, or these are limitations of ML/550D camera?

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3613
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #228 on: October 27, 2017, 06:05:57 PM »
I think it takes the image, then stays black, next you half press the shutter button again and it goes back into live view.

ursamajor

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Build a school and you'll close a prison - V. Hugo
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #229 on: October 27, 2017, 06:48:10 PM »
No, only in "Simple" mode take pictures. Tested many times.

dfort

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2322
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #230 on: November 03, 2017, 05:39:13 AM »
I don't have access to a 550D but it does work great in QEMU so just for fun I thought I'd try porting a firmware update on it without the camera. Well, I did get some help from qqluqq to get a ROM dump and he also did most of the work, all I did was to change a few stubs and got it running in the emulator. Here's how we did it: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=19417.msg192667#msg192667

Of course the real test is running it on the camera so I posted a test build on my Bitbucket downloads page. Please report back with your feedback. If it is working on the camera I'll put in a pull request.

[EDIT] I forgot to mention that since this is a test build for the firmware update it doesn't have a .FIR file so make sure to set the camera boot flag before updating your firmware. Basically, you need to install ML in 1.0.9 before running the Canon 1.1.0 firmware update.
5D3.* 7D.* 700D.115 EOSM.* EOSM2.103

darko-a7

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #231 on: November 25, 2017, 11:31:59 AM »
Hi everyone!

My first post here :)
I am really impressed by ML for some time now.

I wish to jump into DSLR world, and I'm kind of split between 550D and 600D. The main reason is video mode, and the fact that 550D has ~7x crop mode in 640x480, and 600D more useful (at least in my case) ~3x 1920x1080 FHD mode. Now, I have searched a lot of topics and read some, but they mostly discuss more expensive models like 5D MKIII, 7D etc. The price difference is not that big, but then again, I can get another lens with 550D... and don't really need articulated lcd screen.

So, does ML (with official or nightly build and/or experimental modules) can provide different crop video modes, just like in 600D and higher recording resolutions, just like in 600D - or not?

I have looked at the download pages here:

http://builds.magiclantern.fm/550D-109.html
http://builds.magiclantern.fm/600D-102.html

but the changelogs show only latest commits, not complete list of features. Is there somewhere a page with all the changes/features listed for each model/firmware revision (search failed me again).

Thanks!

domo94

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #232 on: November 28, 2017, 08:35:35 AM »
I wish to jump into DSLR world, and I'm kind of split between 550D and 600D.

I was going to jump into this thread (I haven't in a long time) to just kind of recap why I really fell in love with the 550d to begin with, and also falling even more in love with it when I put on magic lantern.

I hope I can assist you in your decision between the 550d and the 600d, which I quite frankly would go towards the 550d because there seems to be more development and attraction towards this camera. I'm on the same boat as somebody who can pass on a fancy screen. I think the 550D produces incredible results, even still to this day. Outdated camera? Yes. Great camera overall for anything you want. Especially for learning and development purposes with magic lantern.

I don't have the fanciest set up. Just a kit lens, 24mm, 50mm, and a sigma 17-50mm. I have an 85mm rokinon on it's way soon.

But this image right here is a snippet of what I was able to record with the 550D using 14 bit raw. It was 960x420 or whatever. (ML Raw can give you funky resolutions). With a decent focus, and patience in post, I colored and upscaled the image to 1080p and tada. This. (PS. I use a 21:9 monitor, I believe I used a 2.20:1 ratio when recording, if not 2.35:1)





So this image right here is 2560 x 1080, from a 960x540 resolution, with an 8 year old camera and a kit lens.

I love it.

The 7D just blows my mind, too.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10720
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #233 on: November 28, 2017, 11:31:48 AM »
So, does ML (with official or nightly build and/or experimental modules) can provide different crop video modes, just like in 600D and higher recording resolutions, just like in 600D - or not?

No, it doesn't.

Just FYI, 550D has an old-style LiveView implementation (same group as 450D/500D/5D2/50D/7D, and much harder to reverse engineer), while 600D has new code (like all D4 starting from 60D and all D5 models). Guess why there's no 10/12-bit raw video build for 550D, but there is one for 600D. In any case, all DIGIC 4 SD models are limited to ~20MB/s SD interface.

For the main nightly builds: http://builds.magiclantern.fm/features.html
For experimental builds: http://builds.magiclantern.fm/experiments.html
Raw video capabilities (old, 14-bit only, do the math for others): http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=6215.0

darko-a7

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #234 on: November 28, 2017, 06:35:27 PM »
@a1ex

Thank you, a1ex!

Yes, I have found raw spreadsheet from a forum post here, I know that raw video is great, but I don't need it right now, because it requires post processing etc.

Anyway, now your answer has brought me to a new question:
So, what does crop_rec module do in reality in ML then? Sorry, I am now more confused about it than before, thought I understand it's function. If I have to guess, it only lowers the resolution (scanned lines from sensor, or pixel readouts), so that camera's CPU can keep up (e.g. for RAW, data flow, as I read some of your other posts). In that case, I get it now. But, maybe I'm wrong.

Quote
For the main nightly builds: http://builds.magiclantern.fm/features.html
For experimental builds: http://builds.magiclantern.fm/experiments.html

Yes, thank you, I have already seen these matrix tables and have them bookmarked. But, they did not answer my question, so I had to ask it here (there is a mention of CROP_MODE_HACK for 650D/700D/EOS M, but they are only un-hiding the feature by Canon). Thanks!

...

Btw, I have read some of your posts, just can say that Canon should've hire you looong time ago (but then we probably wouldn't have ML in this form with all the features :D)



@ domo94

Thank you, domo94. Yes, 550D is practically identical to 600D for most ordinary and even moderate/advanced users, and especially beginners. I actually know a lot about both cameras, specs, etc. That is not an issue. But, the video crop feature is really important to me and kind of a deal breaker.



600d it is, oh, well... :( :)

Regards

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10720
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #235 on: November 28, 2017, 10:00:01 PM »
crop_rec does exactly what you expect, but was not yet ported to 550D (follow this thread if you want to help with that).

darko-a7

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #236 on: November 28, 2017, 10:50:23 PM »
Got it, thanks!

parkay909

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #237 on: December 18, 2017, 10:02:18 PM »
Hello,
I'm new here.
I want to use ML to make longer movies. I wanted to install ML, but i had to update. The only available firmware(@Canon) is 1.1.0. We i try to install ML i get an error;
"Incorrect firmware version.
Expecting a Canon 550D
with firmware version 109."

Then i formatted the SD card on the camera(low-level).
On the forum i found a link to a dowload of the firmware 1.0.9, but when i try to "upgrade" (in the menu of the camera)  i get an error.
"Firmware update program
Update file cannot be found. Please check the memory card and reload the battery and try again."

Did this several times, but it doesn't work.
Can someone help me please??

I have the exact same problem.  Low level format the SD card.  Put the 1.0.9 firmware on it.  Get the "Firmware update program
Update file cannot be found. Please check the memory card and reload the battery and try again." and have to take the battery out.

Also tried using the EOS utility same thing...

Any help other than "format card, downgrade firmware" would really be appreciated. 

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5877
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #238 on: December 18, 2017, 11:29:39 PM »
Format card, copy Canon firmware file to card (name is e8kr7109.fir) and retry.
If it is not working, try another card with less capacity (<32 GB)

dfort

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2322
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #239 on: December 19, 2017, 12:01:56 AM »
Hum, looks like the page with the link to the Canon firmware updateer isn't working in the Nightly downloads "Useful Links" button. You can find 1.0.9 firmware update on my downloads page. Look for "550D Canon Firmware for Testers.zip"
5D3.* 7D.* 700D.115 EOSM.* EOSM2.103

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5877
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #240 on: December 19, 2017, 12:06:03 AM »
Available via Canon.jp: http://web.canon.jp/imaging/eosd/firm-e/eosdigital7/firmware.html
And via Webarchive:
Code: [Select]
https://web.archive.org/web/*/http://pel.hu/down/e8kr7109.exe

Plane Delta

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #241 on: January 19, 2018, 04:25:16 PM »
Format card, copy Canon firmware file to card (name is e8kr7109.fir) and retry.
If it is not working, try another card with less capacity (<32 GB)


Wow so simple but thankfully it worked... I can't believe it!!!  Used a 2GB card instead of 64GB card.  Thank you wish I had found and read this about 5 hours ago :)

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10720
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #242 on: Yesterday at 03:33:30 PM »
The issue is that EXFAT is case-sensitive, and so is Canon's FIR loading code. Furthermore, FIR files must have 8.3 names on EXFAT (but there's no such restriction on FAT16/32).

Short answer: rename e8kr7109.fir to e8kr7109.FIR (or E8KR7109.FIR or ANY8char.FIR).