Movie Restart in RAW Video

Started by Adamdes, June 09, 2014, 08:49:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Adamdes

I am using RAW Video with a low FPS (ex. 0.2 fps) on a 600D (T3i) and would LOVE to be able to record RAW Video for over 30 minutes.

A1ex confirmed that although Movie Restart was not meant for raw video, it can be refactored to work with it.

p.s.: What I am looking for is a way to do timelapses for over 30 minutes without shutter actuations. There are instability issues with RAW Silent Pics on the 600D that rule this option out, so Movie Restart with RAW Video would be a good workaround.

p.s.2: I am not a programmer, but if someone is able to code+compile this, I would be happy to test it on my 600D.

a1ex

I gave you the solution in the other thread. Why are you opening another one on the same subject?

Adamdes

I just re-read your post, and you wrote yourself that "it could be refactored to work with it", so I understood that I needed to ask for this in the Feature Requests section.

The link you posted is a solution for continuous recording, but IMO a bad alternative for timelapse. An external recorder makes it possible to record video for over 30 minutes but has many downsides: extra hardware/cables/batteries($$$), lower resolution (than RAW Video or intervalometer+stills), quite heavy workflow (because it records video instead of single images). Far from ideal for timelapse. I guess it is an alternative, but not one that appeals to me.

Altough I use RAW Video for timelapses, I believe other people would also benefit of Movie Restart to record continuous RAW for over 30 minutes, especially people using faster cameras (5DII 5DIII) who can record at 24p/30p at a decent resolution (however I'm not sure how much memory 30+ minutes of RAW recording would require). I read of people shooting weddings, opera and such, I don't see why they would not be happy to be able to do it in RAW (again if they have enough memory available to do so).