Author Topic: 5d mark III freeze with zoom button in raw  (Read 8271 times)

MonteNero

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 63
5d mark III freeze with zoom button in raw
« on: November 09, 2013, 08:46:45 PM »
Hi, just installed ML! And right away I ran in to a problem. If I press "Loupe" (zoom) button while recording, camera freezes and I can't even turn it off. Is that a bug? Or may be I have some wrong settings? Please help me!

mrnv45

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
Re: 5d mark III freez
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2013, 09:24:05 PM »
i know zooming past 5x will fee live view...
and will force a battery pull (turn off, pull battery, replace)

you have to turn it off in the menu LIVEVIEW ZOOM settings.. 5x and 10x will be on.. just turn off 10x or which ever is causing a freeze

also make sure you have the latest build.

MonteNero

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: 5d mark III freez
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2013, 09:56:16 PM »
Thank you so much mrnv45! I'am glad there is a workaround. I use the latest build. Hope that problem will be fixed someday.

hjfilmspeed

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 479
  • 5D III and IV
Re: 5d mark III freez
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2013, 06:26:45 AM »
i know zooming past 5x will fee live view...
and will force a battery pull (turn off, pull battery, replace)

you have to turn it off in the menu LIVEVIEW ZOOM settings.. 5x and 10x will be on.. just turn off 10x or which ever is causing a freeze

also make sure you have the latest build.

I might be wrong but if your cam ever freezes you should never turn it off with the off switch. you should only pull batt. never turn off the cam if something doesnt look right. when in doubt pull out the batter. Also i dont think your supposed to zoom while recording. right? even so why would you want to?

coolerinc

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: 5d mark III freeze with zoom button in raw
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2013, 01:51:57 PM »
My 5DM2 freezes too  :-\ and when I'm trying to stop RAW recording got this message "data corruption at slot 0" (using this build 2013/11/16 d84b9cd9e86f) 5DM2

you have to turn it off in the menu LIVEVIEW ZOOM settings.. 5x and 10x will be on.. just turn off 10x or which ever is causing a freeze

This not helped. Any suggestions?

Midphase

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 712
Re: 5d mark III freeze with zoom button in raw
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2013, 10:54:18 PM »
FYI there's a setting where you can skip 5X and go straight to 10X when you press the zoom function.

coolerinc

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: 5d mark III freeze with zoom button in raw
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2013, 10:36:49 AM »
FYI there's a setting where you can skip 5X and go straight to 10X when you press the zoom function.
it's not working for me. anyway freezes

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: 5d mark III freeze with zoom button in raw
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2013, 12:25:37 PM »
It is not possible to zoom while recording so dont do it.
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

coolerinc

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: 5d mark III freeze with zoom button in raw
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2013, 03:41:38 PM »
It is not possible to zoom while recording so dont do it.
It's not zoom during recording it's zoom before hitting Rec for Crop Mode

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: 5d mark III freeze with zoom button in raw
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2013, 04:46:53 PM »
Hi, just installed ML! And right away I ran in to a problem. If I press "Loupe" (zoom) button while recording, camera freezes and I can't even turn it off. Is that a bug? Or may be I have some wrong settings? Please help me!
Do not press zoom while recording
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

g3gg0

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3154
Re: 5d mark III freeze with zoom button in raw
« Reply #10 on: November 21, 2013, 01:25:22 PM »
My 5DM2 freezes too  :-\ and when I'm trying to stop RAW recording got this message "data corruption at slot 0" (using this build 2013/11/16 d84b9cd9e86f) 5DM2

This not helped. Any suggestions?

you talk about mlv_rec?
Help us with datasheets - Help us with register dumps
magic lantern: 1Magic9991E1eWbGvrsx186GovYCXFbppY, server expenses: paypal@g3gg0.de
ONLY donate for things we have done, not for things you expect!

coolerinc

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: 5d mark III freeze with zoom button in raw
« Reply #11 on: November 21, 2013, 05:53:09 PM »
you talk about mlv_rec?
nope, I talk about raw_rec. Decided to switch to Nightly Build - it's more stable for me

larry 777

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: 5d mark III freeze with zoom button in raw
« Reply #12 on: December 02, 2013, 01:14:50 AM »
which nightly build is more stable for you on 5Dmark 3 ?

hope

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: 5d mark III freeze with zoom button in raw
« Reply #13 on: May 31, 2015, 02:20:29 AM »
Enable Global draw in Raw video MLV for zoom function while recording in raw