Author Topic: Motion Detect  (Read 4393 times)

garry23

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2217
Motion Detect
« on: April 13, 2014, 12:55:09 AM »
I have been trying to get motion detection running on my 5DIII. I have never used this feature before.

I have set the exposure as normal and in the MD menu used difference, medium and tried different trigger levels.

When I come out of the ML menu the MD automatically goes to LV. So far so good.

The problem is the outer and inner boxes of the two boxes, which I can move around ok, are black. And MD doesn't trigger, eg when I move my hand in front of the lens.

I have tried exp sim on and off. The detection box remains black.

Can someone throw a little help my way?

Cheers

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3657
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: Motion Detect
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2014, 03:07:40 AM »
Confirmed.  The motion detect box is black, motion level = 0.  Regardless of other settings.

The other 2 detect modes work fine.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Motion Detect
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2014, 04:57:23 PM »
It should work with 1.1.3, but it's broken in 1.2.3.

lfitz

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Motion Detect
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2014, 02:25:51 AM »
Motion detection is the number 1 reason I wanted to use magicL... so how about down grading the canon firmware to 1.1.3 and then reloading ML? would that work?

colt

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Motion Detect
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2014, 06:47:29 AM »
Is Motion Detect working on any FW or ML version of 1100D?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Motion Detect
« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2014, 08:57:47 AM »
Nope; 6D is broken too.

This branch is an attempt to fix this problem: https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/branch/new-lv-buffer-detection

dsjstc

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Motion Detect
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2015, 09:51:44 PM »
This is my #1 feature as well (also 6D).  Anyone have a link to a bug report on this that I can subscribe to? 

Update: created a bug for this.
https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/issues/2418/frame-difference-motion-detection-always