Author Topic: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3  (Read 1097351 times)

itsDPmikey

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • 5D-Cinematography *_*
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1175 on: April 13, 2015, 09:41:15 AM »
Instead of formatting as exFAT?

IMHO, I feel more confident when shooting in 113 versus 123* only because I like to be able to squeeze every ounce of speed as much as possible and I also don't really need the clean HDMI out nor the F8 autofocus fix....

*Unless I'm using it on paid gig when field monitors are required.

That's JM2C!


Yeah I understand trust me I know its pretty ironic since everyone says "1.1.3 is more stable", but what can I say this is my personal experience and I even provided some proof of it.

I love this &^*$ MAN!

NSJ

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1176 on: April 14, 2015, 02:10:17 AM »
I'm having a frustrating problem with my 5D III ml 1.2.3. The intervalometer is not working constantly with CF Lexar 1066x 128g. Specially when used every 1, 2 or 3 seconds. ML is in a Sony SD class 10 16 gb.
¿Do anyone knows what is going on?

Im sorry if im not putting the post in the right place but I dont know how to do that. Any help is welcome too. ;)

Thanks.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7298
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1177 on: April 14, 2015, 02:15:41 PM »
Benchmark your CF-card first.
If results are ok (= not a faked card with inferior write rate) reset ML to defaults (backup ML\Settings).
Do not use Liveview. Disable "Image review". Just enable Intervalometer and start with 3 seconds interval. If running smooth you may try 2 and 1 seconds interval. Report results.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

extremelypoorfilmaker

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1178 on: April 14, 2015, 08:05:18 PM »
Just wanted to say, today i bought my brand spanking new 5D3 4 hours ago. It already has Magic Lantern on IT! :)

NSJ

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1179 on: April 16, 2015, 07:34:14 PM »
Thanks Walter, i run the card r/w benchmark test twice.  The result in the first one was 98.64 average and the second one 100.25. I think is ok ¿am i right? the .ppm file apearded on my sd intead of my cf im not shure ir i did it ok but i think i did.
Then i made the CF+SD write speed test and results were: SD: 28.8 MB/s and CF:122.1 MB/s
(sd card is supposedly 94MB/s) ¿Does the issue could come from the sd instead of the CF?

I tried the intervalometer below 3 seconds and i'm still having the problem . I'm not using live view and image review is deactivated...  ¿ any advices ?

Thanks a lot for your help.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7298
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1180 on: April 16, 2015, 07:51:56 PM »
Average tells nothing at all. Highest write rate for each card is interesting, however.
5D3's SD-card interface is limited to about 21 MByte/s write rate. You really got 28.8 written?

Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

NSJ

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1181 on: April 16, 2015, 08:13:18 PM »
I run it again: SD 19.8 CF 121.4
i guess it was 18.8 MB/s  i made a mistake ;)
I changed the sd to see if that was the problem but the problem still there. The weird thing is that burst in raw is working perfectly, the problem is only with the intervalometer.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7298
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1182 on: April 16, 2015, 08:18:20 PM »
Remove SD-card and run ML from CF-card only. Retry.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

johannsebastianbach

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 84
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1183 on: April 19, 2015, 07:10:44 PM »
Well I'm no expert and can't really be sure what the cause is but I don't think its the card because I have 3 of them and all 3 get the same results. I have 2x 32gb LEXAR 1066X UDMA7 65 and 1 128gb LEXAR 1066x

Also One more thing that makes me think its not the cards is that just last night I upgraded to 1.2.3 and used the latest 1.2.3 build and recorded bunch of diff FRAMERATES and resulutions up to 2.5k wide cinematic ratio and NOT 1 single drop of frame or pink frames or glitch effect(did not test on all cards, assuming would be same results)

Again this is my own personal experience and thoghts that 1.2.3 is more stable and reliable.

But I'd like to get more of your opinion on the defrag situation which I don't think I have ever done. I always format cards IN THE CAMERA when I'm done offloading the files.

Hey guys,

I had a couple of shooting dates and even, as it didn't make problems on the testing, I also got the bad frames problem. Interesting thing is, that it was not only on one frame, but even two frames.

Canon EOS 5D Mark III, EF 28mm f/1.8 USM
1/64 sec, f2.2, ISO 100
1920x490 60.003 fps
Bad frames on different 128 gb Sandisk 160mb/s cards
magiclantern-Nightly.2015Apr06.5D3113

Please I need help, I have more shooting days this week and need to know, if earlier versions were more stable in case of bad frames. Does anybody has experience? I would like to keep firmware 1.1.3 because I don't get contiguous 50p on 1.2.3



https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/24873307/weird%20bad%20frame/M16-2120_000012.dng
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/24873307/weird%20bad%20frame/M16-2120_000013.dng
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/24873307/weird%20bad%20frame/M16-2120_000014.dng
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/24873307/weird%20bad%20frame/M16-2120_000015.dng

goldenchild9to5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 534
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1184 on: April 19, 2015, 07:26:35 PM »
@johannsebastianbach All I can tell you right now is to check-out the 1.1.3 March 26th Nightly build been really really stable for & Zero Pink Frames in all shooting settings. 

jordanwalkert

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1185 on: April 19, 2015, 07:30:18 PM »

Hey guys,

I had a couple of shooting dates and even, as it didn't make problems on the testing, I also got the bad frames problem. Interesting thing is, that it was not only on one frame, but even two frames.

Canon EOS 5D Mark III, EF 28mm f/1.8 USM
1/64 sec, f2.2, ISO 100
1920x490 60.003 fps
Bad frames on different 128 gb Sandisk 160mb/s cards
magiclantern-Nightly.2015Apr06.5D3113

Please I need help, I have more shooting days this week and need to know, if earlier versions were more stable in case of bad frames. Does anybody has experience? I would like to keep firmware 1.1.3 because I don't get contiguous 50p on 1.2.3



https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/24873307/weird%20bad%20frame/M16-2120_000012.dng
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/24873307/weird%20bad%20frame/M16-2120_000013.dng
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/24873307/weird%20bad%20frame/M16-2120_000014.dng
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/24873307/weird%20bad%20frame/M16-2120_000015.dng

Is the frame rate in your Canon menus set to 720p60? I've noticed if I have the Canon menu on 1080p24 or 1080p30 while setting ML to 48 or 60fps I get some corrupted frames.

johannsebastianbach

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 84
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1186 on: April 19, 2015, 07:58:32 PM »
Is the frame rate in your Canon menus set to 720p60? I've noticed if I have the Canon menu on 1080p24 or 1080p30 while setting ML to 48 or 60fps I get some corrupted frames.

It's 720p, 60p. Squashed mode. - And btw, the bad frames are happening in about 20% of my clips. I recorded  about 50 clips of 12 seconds (until the frame skips) and 10 of my MLV clips were compromised.

Here again, two frames in a row (which doesn't look like it's the cards:



Thanks goldenchild9to5, I will downgrade and write about the differences :)

unfilmde

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1187 on: April 19, 2015, 08:01:55 PM »
Quote
Hey guys,

I had a couple of shooting dates and even, as it didn't make problems on the testing, I also got the bad frames problem. Interesting thing is, that it was not only on one frame, but even two frames.

Canon EOS 5D Mark III, EF 28mm f/1.8 USM
1/64 sec, f2.2, ISO 100
1920x490 60.003 fps
Bad frames on different 128 gb Sandisk 160mb/s cards
magiclantern-Nightly.2015Apr06.5D3113

Please I need help, I have more shooting days this week and need to know, if earlier versions were more stable in case of bad frames. Does anybody has experience? I would like to keep firmware 1.1.3 because I don't get contiguous 50p on 1.2.3

Are you guys shooting MLVRaw or just RAW?  If MLVRaw, try shooting in RAW and report if you get this problem.  I haven't seen the pink frames with the latest build of 1.2.3 shooting RAW.  I have MLVRaw turned off.

goldenchild9to5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 534
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1188 on: April 19, 2015, 08:12:22 PM »
@johannsebastianbach No Prob.. I would also recommend that you set your Shutter Speed to 1/120 - 1/125 for 60p it's a great rule, but unless you want more motion blur than it's clearly a creative choice.  Let me know how it goes Cheers..

derpuma

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1189 on: April 19, 2015, 08:25:31 PM »
Hello,

i am a new member here!
So first things first! Hi everybody and thanks for all the work on this wonderfull Firmware!

As a new owner of a used 5D Mark III wich I bought on eBay, I wanted to go for the Magic Lantern Installation
Actually I was on 1Ds Mark II before wich was not compatible with ML, so I am very exited to enjoy all the new Features ML will bring up!

I have one question due to the two Versions of ML for the 5D Mark III (5d.113 and and 5d.123).

The Download Page says the 5d.123 Version is supporting the new Autofocus Features of the 1.4x and 2x Televonverters from Canon.

Is there a major difference in the two ML Versions for the 5DM3? If yes, is there a side by side list of the differences, what is working and what isn't?
I have both Canon Converters and I work with both of them on my 70-200 2,8 IS USM Lens.

Is it good to go wit 5d.123 and have still all ML Features from 113?

Thanks for a quick guidance! I am new. :-)

BR,
derpuma

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7298
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

derpuma

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1191 on: April 19, 2015, 09:10:36 PM »
Thank you Walter... Looked everywhere on the Website but not in the Topic of the 5d.113 Thread...  :-X

Johannes

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1192 on: April 20, 2015, 04:12:55 PM »
Hey Gyus,

Quick Question is it possible to downgrade from 1.2.3 to 1.1.3?

Johannes

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1193 on: April 20, 2015, 04:16:19 PM »
oh it is ( I searched ) :)

itsDPmikey

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • 5D-Cinematography *_*
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1194 on: April 27, 2015, 01:45:30 AM »
Hey johannsebastianbach,

Thanks for sharing your experience It helps others to see my point.

One of the major problems with this frame issue is that you can shoot a long video and as you cut and edit it ITS very possible that you can miss the pink frames because they are like 1 or 2 frames out of hundreds maybe thousands of frames depending on the length of your video. They are spread out so you have to go frame by frame to locate them and delete them.

In one instance I shot and edited an 8 min video. After finishing and rendering the video and getting ready to upload to internet I watched it and noticed the pink frames and I had to delete the rendered file and re-work on the project again.

So if some of you haven't already I would recommend that you go back and slowly check the frames and make sure a pink frame didn't sneak up on you.

IF YOU ARE USING ML FOR SERIOUS PROJECTS*(JOBS)
I highly recommend using 1.2.3 because it is more stable(reliable). I understand that you might not get the same recording length results but at least you will get usable footage.
I love this &^*$ MAN!

Fireman77

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • I´m still learning...
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1195 on: May 03, 2015, 03:07:31 AM »
I got the same problems too, with my 5D3, using the last ML firmware at 720/60fps but only happens when i magnify the image at 5x with the SET button
at 1920x1080, what i´m doing wrong? is very annoying :(
 
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ubiyw0pobld8duy/Comp%201_01345.jpg?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ecqg0drfim9vrai/Comp%201_01408.jpg?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/4pdx9dtpz36gju9/Comp%201_01518.jpg?dl=0
Canon EOS 5D Mark III, Canon EF 24-105mm,
Canon EF 50 mm F/1.4

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3391
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1196 on: May 03, 2015, 03:19:13 AM »
That's because crop mode isn't suitable for slow mo's...

30fps is highest for crop mode otherwise you will get all kinds of crazy pink effects.

Is this what your referring to?
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

Fireman77

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • I´m still learning...
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1197 on: May 03, 2015, 03:31:07 AM »
I guess you right dude, i´ll try it again, i got here a docen of pink, drop and other annoying raw frames :(
Canon EOS 5D Mark III, Canon EF 24-105mm,
Canon EF 50 mm F/1.4

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3391
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1198 on: May 03, 2015, 03:33:30 AM »
If you tend to use 3x crop mode for RAW/MLV recordings then best to shoot in anything up to 30fps.
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

goldenchild9to5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 534
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1199 on: May 03, 2015, 07:06:14 AM »
Anything above 30fps is a no go.. shoot in regular mode.