Author Topic: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3  (Read 1275381 times)

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #500 on: May 23, 2014, 09:04:31 PM »
I can barely get 3 seconds at 40fps 1920x1080.

There is a bug if you use memory hack: it records at 38 fps. I'm surprised nobody noticed it.

Also, just noticed that if you record on CF, you are more likely to get dropped or corrupted frames (in both raw and h.264). Yesterday I did all my tests on a SD card, and it seems a better choice when pushing FPS to the maximum value.

Can you confirm?

Untitledphoto

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #501 on: May 23, 2014, 09:16:09 PM »
I can barely get 3 seconds at 40fps 1920x1080.

There is a bug if you use memory hack: it records at 38 fps. I'm surprised nobody noticed it.

So, everything is in its place :)...
It's supposed to be that way

Thank you sir.

(i'm not using memory hack)

Fioritura

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #502 on: May 23, 2014, 09:27:58 PM »
Also, just noticed that if you record on CF, you are more likely to get dropped or corrupted frames (in both raw and h.264). Yesterday I did all my tests on a SD card, and it seems a better choice when pushing FPS to the maximum value.

I thought only CF cards had the necessary write speed. Is that not so?

Cheers,

Andrew

Untitledphoto

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #503 on: May 23, 2014, 09:31:17 PM »
...

Also, just noticed that if you record on CF, you are more likely to get dropped or corrupted frames (in both raw and h.264). Yesterday I did all my tests on a SD card, and it seems a better choice when pushing FPS to the maximum value.

Can you confirm?
Sorry, don't have a good speedy SD card ! :-\

RowanMachine

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #504 on: May 23, 2014, 09:49:49 PM »
Hi there, I've been running a nightly build of ml 1.2.3 on my 5d since April 20th. Today I noticed that I was getting a lot of horrible crackling in my audio, I use a rode video mic pro. Interestingly the internal mic on the 5d doesn't get any crackling, only when I use the jack plug (even when the mic is turned off). I've tested different external mics and still have the same issue. Tested my mics on different cameras and they work fine. I tried taking ml off my camera and the problem was still there :/ also tried the most up to date version of ml but no good... Everything else works fine.

Just a note I think the nightly build I had installed was from 16th April.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #505 on: May 23, 2014, 09:53:55 PM »
I thought only CF cards had the necessary write speed. Is that not so?

I was talking about corrupted and dropped frames, not about write speed.

dia3olik

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #506 on: May 24, 2014, 04:04:51 AM »
a1ex,
thanks for the great work!
I tried 1.2.3 with great success!
just wanted to tell you the anamorphic stretch doesn't work in the HDMI output (not in mirrored, in normal "single screen")
If you need some test I can try to help! ;)

Simdub

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #507 on: May 24, 2014, 01:14:34 PM »
Alex,
Have just tried this 24 may Nightly Build (for 1.1.3).

Got max 3-4 seconds in 1080p MLV at 40FPS (exact FPS) with Komputerbay 1000x 64GB. Nevertheless, I've got approx. 50% "corrupted" files (which I have not with same setting execpt 30FPS). Three different patterns (first one is one of the 50% working dng):

     

Extracted with MLVBrowseSharp from g3gg0 (but same "looking" results with MLV viewer on 5D3).

Same results with or without memory hacks, or with any of preview modes (by the way, is it normal I have a preview of what I film with hacked2 preview mode?)

If I can test anything else, don't hesitate,
Simon

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #508 on: May 24, 2014, 01:40:04 PM »
See my post above. If you record on SD, you should not get these artifacts.

Also, if you have some slower CF cards, try to see if it helps.

I'll run some tests and recalibrate the max limits, most likely taking into account the selected card.

vitafab

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #509 on: May 25, 2014, 05:02:34 AM »
Hi there,
I'm on 5D MARK III 1.2.3
I've test the 40 fps both on slower CF and SD card but I still got drop frames on H264 . Considerably less then when I'm using a 1000x cf card but still there. Instead on MLV Raw i get 3-4 sec on on Lexar 32GB 1000X and 2-3 sec on Komputerbay 128GB 1000x with a lot of artefacts.
Alex do you have 100% drop free clips when using a slow sd?

Rutilicus

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #510 on: May 25, 2014, 03:04:15 PM »
Am I the only one playing Arkonoid all the time instead of testing the software??? :o

Thanks for the nice work anyhow. Very nice software again.

D.Stasinos

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #511 on: May 25, 2014, 05:00:08 PM »
Maybe a dumb question cause i don't really get this...I was testing the "timelapse through FPS override" scenario (ex. 0.25 fps) but this is the opposite. Are you trying to set FPS override to 40 fps while in Canon menu the video ia set at 24 or 30 fps...What's the meaning of 40 fps in this scenario?  I don't doubt anything, maybe it's just my ignorance concerning FPS override. Can anyone explain the goal?

HD Cam Team

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #512 on: May 26, 2014, 08:45:19 AM »
We have 40 fps in 1080p RAW, test it out!



Other frame rate limits: 38 fps in 1080p H.264, and 67fps in 720p, both RAW and H.264.

Technical info here.

Tests needed:
- push FPS to the maximum values and make sure you can record safely in RAW, MLV and H.264. If there are artifacts, that's a bug.
- try all the video modes (1080p, 720p, 480p, zoom, photo...)
- write down what you have tested, so others would be able to focus on untested modes.

The update will be also in 5D3.113, and it's been already there in 60D, 600D and 1100D for ages (with some lower FPS limits).

Hi Alex,

What exact memory card did you use for this (especially for RAW video)?

Thank you!
HD Cam Team
Web:
www.HDCamTeam.com | Twitter: @HDCamTeam | Facebook: HDCamTeam

pv25pv

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #513 on: May 26, 2014, 11:20:41 AM »
05-23 (1.2.3) - 40fps 1080p - lexar 800x 64
was able to get 47 frames (9 of them corrupted), memory hack OFF
5Dmk3
24-105mm f/4L _ 16-35mm f/2.8L II _ 50mm f/1.4 _ TS-E 90mm f/2.8 _ Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 EX

jarandov

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #514 on: May 26, 2014, 04:58:23 PM »
Hi guys, I'm wondering how to move the ML to another sd card. I've tried to format a new SD card  and then unpack ML to that but then I put the new card in the camera the ML does not works. It seems that ML is tied to the sd card I installed ML from.
Please any suggestions.

Stedda

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 504
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #515 on: May 26, 2014, 05:06:24 PM »
The card needs to be made bootable by setting the bootflag with EOSCard before ML will run...
5D Mark III -- 7D   SOLD -- EOS M 22mm 18-55mm STM -- Fuji X-T1 18-55 F2.8-F4 & 35 F1.4
Canon Glass   100L F2.8 IS -- 70-200L F4 -- 135L F2 -- 85 F1.8 -- 17-40L --  40 F2.8 -- 35 F2 IS  Sigma Glass  120-300 F2.8 OS -- 50 F1.4 -- 85 F1.4  Tamron Glass   24-70 2.8 VC   600EX-RT X3

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8254
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #516 on: May 26, 2014, 05:17:40 PM »
Or run firmware update again using this card.

jarandov

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #517 on: May 26, 2014, 06:41:43 PM »
Steda, how can i sett boot flag on the new card?

jarandov

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #518 on: May 26, 2014, 06:43:25 PM »
Walter, can i just run update without any problem on my 5dm3 when ML is already installed?

Stedda

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 504
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #519 on: May 26, 2014, 06:59:02 PM »
by setting the bootflag with EOSCard

Or like Walter said... either way works.
5D Mark III -- 7D   SOLD -- EOS M 22mm 18-55mm STM -- Fuji X-T1 18-55 F2.8-F4 & 35 F1.4
Canon Glass   100L F2.8 IS -- 70-200L F4 -- 135L F2 -- 85 F1.8 -- 17-40L --  40 F2.8 -- 35 F2 IS  Sigma Glass  120-300 F2.8 OS -- 50 F1.4 -- 85 F1.4  Tamron Glass   24-70 2.8 VC   600EX-RT X3

MGerard

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #520 on: May 26, 2014, 08:30:33 PM »

We have 40 fps in 1080p RAW, test it out!

Tests needed:
- push FPS to the maximum values and make sure you can record safely in RAW, MLV and H.264. If there are artifacts, that's a bug.
- try all the video modes (1080p, 720p, 480p, zoom, photo...)

Tried it out very quickly with the latest Nightly, 1080p h264 seems to work at max fps so far, camera movement (panning) results in freeze frames.

Thanks for unlocking yet another marvelous possibility!

AlexDK

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #521 on: May 26, 2014, 10:46:18 PM »
Hi there, I've been running a nightly build of ml 1.2.3 on my 5d since April 20th. Today I noticed that I was getting a lot of horrible crackling in my audio, I use a rode video mic pro. Interestingly the internal mic on the 5d doesn't get any crackling, only when I use the jack plug (even when the mic is turned off). I've tested different external mics and still have the same issue. Tested my mics on different cameras and they work fine. I tried taking ml off my camera and the problem was still there :/ also tried the most up to date version of ml but no good... Everything else works fine.

Just a note I think the nightly build I had installed was from 16th April.

This is very worrying, any others with this problem? And or a solution?

Markus

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 338
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #522 on: May 27, 2014, 02:53:32 AM »
preamp distorsion? are you sure it's not the microphones own pre-amp causing the distortion? +20 dB setting can easily cause this.

Maddoxfotos

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #523 on: May 27, 2014, 09:24:00 AM »
Man it's sound like you might have something loose in your camera and it not grounding properly. I have a similar issue when I use a recorder and I use a cheap USB adapter to power it. I get a lot of noise in the camera out and line out.

Steve_Brule

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III 1.2.3
« Reply #524 on: May 27, 2014, 02:05:09 PM »
Can you choose to boot into the original Canon 1.2.3 firmware after installing ML?
Can you go back and forth between them?
thx, looking forward to trying this out!