Author Topic: Do I have to use always manual mode?  (Read 4012 times)

3dbybrunolopes

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Do I have to use always manual mode?
« on: February 16, 2014, 10:09:19 AM »
Hello,

Just a noob question, for installation puroposes we have to dial our cameras to manual mode, but after installation, can we use other modes, like Av, or Tv?


Thanks

Stedda

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 504
Re: Do I have to use always manual mode?
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2014, 10:10:29 AM »
Is this a joke?

Of course you can...
5D Mark III -- 7D   SOLD -- EOS M 22mm 18-55mm STM -- Fuji X-T1 18-55 F2.8-F4 & 35 F1.4
Canon Glass   100L F2.8 IS -- 70-200L F4 -- 135L F2 -- 85 F1.8 -- 17-40L --  40 F2.8 -- 35 F2 IS  Sigma Glass  120-300 F2.8 OS -- 50 F1.4 -- 85 F1.4  Tamron Glass   24-70 2.8 VC   600EX-RT X3

3dbybrunolopes

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Do I have to use always manual mode?
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2014, 11:15:44 AM »
LOL

It's not a joke...just a discharge of consciousness :)
because the camera is still under warranty...



Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6873
Re: Do I have to use always manual mode?
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2014, 11:18:21 AM »
because the camera is still under warranty...

Don't get the concept here, too.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

Stedda

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 504
Re: Do I have to use always manual mode?
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2014, 11:33:44 AM »
So you've read and are aware of the explicit warnings/risks that come with using ML or the even more risky 3rd party builds (TL) and are still worried about your warranty?
5D Mark III -- 7D   SOLD -- EOS M 22mm 18-55mm STM -- Fuji X-T1 18-55 F2.8-F4 & 35 F1.4
Canon Glass   100L F2.8 IS -- 70-200L F4 -- 135L F2 -- 85 F1.8 -- 17-40L --  40 F2.8 -- 35 F2 IS  Sigma Glass  120-300 F2.8 OS -- 50 F1.4 -- 85 F1.4  Tamron Glass   24-70 2.8 VC   600EX-RT X3

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3565
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: Do I have to use always manual mode?
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2014, 03:44:00 PM »
So you've read and are aware of the explicit warnings/risks that come with using ML or the even more risky 3rd party builds (TL) and are still worried about your warranty?

I was too  ;)

Then I decided that the benefits of ML outweighed the benefits of  warranty.   ;D

Stedda

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 504
Re: Do I have to use always manual mode?
« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2014, 03:49:56 PM »
Ok, but were you worried about turning the dial? ;) ;D
5D Mark III -- 7D   SOLD -- EOS M 22mm 18-55mm STM -- Fuji X-T1 18-55 F2.8-F4 & 35 F1.4
Canon Glass   100L F2.8 IS -- 70-200L F4 -- 135L F2 -- 85 F1.8 -- 17-40L --  40 F2.8 -- 35 F2 IS  Sigma Glass  120-300 F2.8 OS -- 50 F1.4 -- 85 F1.4  Tamron Glass   24-70 2.8 VC   600EX-RT X3

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3565
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: Do I have to use always manual mode?
« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2014, 03:56:27 PM »
heh, no.  But I've done plenty of other things that could easily be considered more stupid  ;)

I give the OP some credit based on 2 things.  First, s/he was aware it was a noob question.  Second, s/he asked before braking things and then spamming the forum with, "I did something wrong, HELP MEEEEEeeeeeeeeeee!"

 :P

3dbybrunolopes

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Do I have to use always manual mode?
« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2014, 12:27:21 AM »
thank you...Audionut! :)

toze777

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Do I have to use always manual mode?
« Reply #9 on: February 24, 2014, 12:28:55 PM »
You dont have to use only M mode ...

mad.eos

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: Do I have to use always manual mode?
« Reply #10 on: February 24, 2014, 12:47:47 PM »
Doesn't the warranty (in MOST cases) only analyze the product hardware-wise rather than if it was "tampered" with software, I mean, ML isn't even a Firmware per say and not some kind of hack, it's more like a "Original Firmware Unlocker" or "Firmware Add-on" if you will...

Just curious about how Canon support will act upon a situation where it is detected a 3rd party bootflag on the camera.
Canon EOS 1100D w/ 18-55mm | ML Nightly Build Tester

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6873
Re: Do I have to use always manual mode?
« Reply #11 on: February 24, 2014, 04:47:33 PM »
Just curious about how Canon support will act upon a situation where it is detected a 3rd party bootflag on the camera.

Has happened before. No action at all until now.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!