Author Topic: What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?  (Read 12668 times)

SuperYacht

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?
« on: February 15, 2014, 03:10:11 AM »
Hey guys I just started doing raw tests with 5D2 and love it so far just ordered a KB 64gb card but I'm wondering what has been the longest take anyone has gotten on 5d2 raw with highest frame size? I'm using 16gb Extreme pro card now but I can't seem to get past 1 minute? is it locked at 1 minute or has someone managed to go further.

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2303
Re: What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2014, 04:58:06 AM »
Minimum card for any length of time is a 1000x CF,
1872x936 23.976p 2:1 A.R. about 49GB, 17,294 frames + Audio
With hdmi Evf+hard drive recorder, 1856x928 23.976p + audio, 19,829 frames 55.9GB
Crop Mode, 2048x872 23.976p + audio, Continuous 20,227 frames, full card (64GB)
This is with a.d.'s hack crop veiw mlv raw from feb 4th & Lexar 1000x 64GB
https://bitbucket.org/a_d_/laboratory/downloads/2b804e8cdd3c.zip

SuperYacht

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2014, 05:32:45 AM »
At a risk of maybe sounding stupid according to your numbers would that mean I could potentially do a raw take for about 5 minutes? what does this translate into time wise?

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1251
Re: What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2014, 05:54:26 AM »
your 64gig card will give you from 14.5 minutes to about 15 minutes depending on the resolution you choose.

At 1728 x 972 16:9 it's a bit past 15 minutes of record time. With sound.
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

mrd777

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2014, 07:58:41 AM »
You can't get more than 1 min on the MK 2 - it has file limit, unlike the MK3

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1251
Re: What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2014, 08:17:26 AM »
You can't get more than 1 min on the MK 2 - it has file limit, unlike the MK3

what are you talking about? I've been recording 15 minute long mlv videos on my 5d and 7d for a while now. Get your info right before posting.
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

togg

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 431
Re: What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2014, 01:07:53 PM »
1880 x 1016 is continuous until filling the card, I can't remember exactly how much minutes this is but should be around 12-13

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1251
Re: What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2014, 04:43:06 PM »
1880 x 1016 is continuous until filling the card, I can't remember exactly how much minutes this is but should be around 12-13

that's about right due to the slightly higher res the frame size is slightly bigger.
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

mrd777

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2014, 07:05:33 PM »
what are you talking about? I've been recording 15 minute long mlv videos on my 5d and 7d for a while now. Get your info right before posting.
That's what other members have told me and on the RAW comparison chart it says there is not FAT file for the memory cards.

I would like to know how you can do it that long because I want to do it too! Thank you!

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1251
Re: What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?
« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2014, 07:30:09 PM »
5d2 is uses FAT32.

A 32gig CF card can record a continuous 7 minutes of Raw Video with Sound.
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

mrd777

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?
« Reply #10 on: February 15, 2014, 07:41:44 PM »
5d2 is uses FAT32.

A 32gig CF card can record a continuous 7 minutes of Raw Video with Sound.

Please tell me how I can do this. When I asked before around here, I was told you cannot get around the 4gb limit. Maybe I misunderstood something? I have a Mk2 and would love to be able to record longer than 1 min raw (that's currently all I can do before it stops)

Thanks!

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1251
Re: What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?
« Reply #11 on: February 15, 2014, 07:43:28 PM »
what cf card do you have?
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

mrd777

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?
« Reply #12 on: February 15, 2014, 07:55:37 PM »
what cf card do you have?

SanDisk Extreme Pro CF 90mb/s 64gb
Also I have the same model, but a 32gb

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1251
Re: What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?
« Reply #13 on: February 15, 2014, 07:59:34 PM »
That should do. You can use mlv raw and mlv sound with that card I think.

Test it at 1728 x 972 and see how long that gives you. just keep buffer method at 4.
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

mrd777

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?
« Reply #14 on: February 15, 2014, 08:10:36 PM »
I record in the highest resolution using 2:35 aspect ration. So i think its like 1800x750 or something close to that.

Are you saying my resolution is the problem as to why I can't get passed 1 minute? If so, I will try when I get home and see what results I get.

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1251
Re: What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?
« Reply #15 on: February 15, 2014, 08:14:18 PM »
1856 x 844 is also continuous I believe. That is based on a 1000x card. It could vary with yours.
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

mrd777

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?
« Reply #16 on: February 15, 2014, 08:35:11 PM »
1856 x 844 is also continuous I believe. That is based on a 1000x card. It could vary with yours.

And your files are larger than 4gb? Or is it making multiple files somehow?

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1251
Re: What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?
« Reply #17 on: February 15, 2014, 08:44:40 PM »
it will be spanned files. the first is xxxx.MLV the next is xxxx.M00 and so forth.

It would be better if you read up more on the first post here: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=7122.0

and continue following the 5D2 progress here.: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5533.0
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

mrd777

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?
« Reply #18 on: February 16, 2014, 05:33:08 AM »
So I tired testing again on the lowest resolution ML has to offer, and it still stops after about 1 min 15 sec.

I'm not sure why? It does not span files.

togg

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 431
Re: What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?
« Reply #19 on: February 16, 2014, 05:22:15 PM »
So I tired testing again on the lowest resolution ML has to offer, and it still stops after about 1 min 15 sec.

I'm not sure why? It does not span files.

Is your mirror going down?

mrd777

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?
« Reply #20 on: February 17, 2014, 12:36:59 AM »
Is your mirror going down?

Yes, the CHUCK sound you mean? I assume that's the mirror closing! Yes it just goes off!

BTW I'm using a Sandisk Extreme Pro CF 90 mb/s UDMA 6  and yesterday I noticed towards the end of the clip, it starts getting black/empty frames (dropped frames I assume) here and there towards the last 15 sec. So maybe my troubles are due to the card?http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?action=post;topic=10490.0;last_msg=102127

lolersk8ter

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?
« Reply #21 on: February 25, 2014, 10:51:13 PM »
I had this issue. I solved this by going into camera menu and disabling auto power off.
You'll may notice ur auto power off set to 1minute. Change the settings to ur desire

SuperYacht

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: What's the Longest take with highest frame size so far for 5D2?
« Reply #22 on: March 03, 2014, 01:44:30 AM »
I just recently got my lexar1000 and I'm doing 3 minute takes at 1800x800 2:35:1 and I get the spanned files Rawtest.R00, Rawtest.R01, Rawtest.Raw. When I put them into RAWMagic only the last of R01 has frames and when I convert that one. I get noised out distorted files. half through they become black. anyone have a lame man term explanation and solution to this? Also the camera is giving me green across the board.