Author Topic: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2  (Read 390480 times)

dmilligan

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3126
  • 60Da / 1100D / EOSM
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #600 on: December 27, 2016, 07:11:33 PM »
You can't. Upload it somewhere else and post the link.

OlRivrRat

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #601 on: December 27, 2016, 10:28:57 PM »
                     @ Assocracer

       The Root Level of Your Card Should look something like this ~

https://www.dropbox.com/home/Steve%20and%20Dean
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML.111B(DEAD)

OlRivrRat

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #602 on: December 27, 2016, 10:32:35 PM »
       OK, So Why does only the link show up & not the actual Image as attachments do in other peoples Posts?
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML.111B(DEAD)

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 906
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #603 on: December 27, 2016, 11:46:45 PM »
The link doesn't contain a file with a picture ending like .jpg / .png / .gif.
Btw your link contains space characters and additionally wants me to "login" to dropbox which again is contraproductive as embedding images requires public access.
70D.112 & 100D.101

OlRivrRat

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #604 on: December 28, 2016, 12:51:19 AM »
                     @NikFreak

             I Agree 100% about it being CounterProductive but that is the Link that DropBox provided for me to Share & said that it would make the

image available to any one that had the Link. I'll try to find somewhere else to UpLoad to.

                                                                                                                  ORR ~ DeanB
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML.111B(DEAD)



reddeercity

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1225
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #605 on: January 03, 2017, 01:15:04 AM »
Happy New Year fellow 5D2 Users  :D
Don't mean to double post this but thought is was important everyone is up to dated .
Just wanted to inform all 5d2 uses that if you don't all really know there a 10-12bit raw video reduction discussion thread going on here
There is success with the 5D2 in Crop Mode @ 10bit but full frame has corruption still and not very functional
The issue is the liveview is still in 14bits and causes problems , but for some reason unknow (at least to me ) in works in 3xCrop mode  :o
Don't expect any nightly here for some time , if you want to try it out and help to get the 5d2 working in full frame go to the  12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video development discussion

I shot a quick green test that turned in to a quick talk/explanation of 10-12bit  ;D
quick facts , Filmed with my 5D2 @ 10bit 2144x1076 23.976p with mlv2.0+audio (11,190 frames) about 8:00 min
Write speed was about 65MB/s , more info at this post here


Edit: I uploaded this video as apple prores4444

Ilia3101

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #606 on: January 06, 2017, 09:34:23 PM »
@reddeercity You say in the video about the possibility of the crop frame being expanded? Possibility of 3K for 5D2! even if not 3k any expansion is welcome no matter how small... where on the forum can I read more about that? must have missed it in 10 days off before new year.
Also I just got a KomputerBay 128GB 1066x, and it constantly writes 75.8-76.2MB/s, much slower than my Lexar 32GB 1066x which is 76.8-77.3MB/s (sometimes hitting 77.4), so did I get a slow KomputerBay?
5D2

reddeercity

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1225
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #607 on: January 09, 2017, 02:58:15 AM »
@reddeercity You say in the video about the possibility of the crop frame being expanded?
Possibility of 3K for 5D2! even if not 3k any expansion is welcome no matter how small... where on the forum can I read more about that?
A1ex made a small statement here
Quote
Useful commits to watch: adtg_gui.c and qemu branch.
Tip: while doing this, you might understand interesting things, such as how to change the LiveView resolution, .
how to move the recorded area around, how to adjust the speed of your SD card or how to tweak picture style parameters (just some examples).
very interesting responds here by g3gg0 lead me to believe the possibility exists in theory .

spydoo

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #608 on: January 10, 2017, 11:42:36 AM »
Hi.

I'm a newbie to ML, and have installed it on one of my 600Ds. I'm looking at upgrading to a 5Dii or iii. A ii would suit my budget much better.

Can I shoot continuous RAW 1080p with a 5Dii and ML (or at least close to it) without being at expert videographer level?
Or would I need to go to a 5Diii?
Or are there other models cheaper then the mark iii that are still producing 1080p RAW without days of tinkering required?
Are there any other reasons why a 5Diii is compelling for video compared to a 5Dii?

Thanks for bearing with a newbie, sorry if it's a silly question.

Ultura

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #609 on: January 12, 2017, 03:31:42 PM »
Hi
With a decent cf card how many minutes can i record at 1920x818 24fps?

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5304
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #610 on: January 12, 2017, 03:47:51 PM »
Bandwidth required:
Vertical resolution * Horizontal resolution * Bit Depth * frame rate / 8 = Byte /s
1920 x 818 x 14 x 24 / 8 = 65963520 Byte/s
About 63 MByte/s and that will give you about 64 minutes using a 256 GByte card.

masorrentino

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #611 on: January 14, 2017, 05:17:54 AM »
I'm new to this so please forgive me if this is an ignorant post.
I tried this build and had an issue with translucent grey bars (letterbox-like) on video live view for the Canon 5D Mark ii.
Couldn't shut them off when using an Atomos Ninja via HDMI out.
Reverted to the December build and it was all good.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9559
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #612 on: January 14, 2017, 09:04:47 AM »
Screenshots?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9559
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #613 on: January 25, 2017, 10:33:38 PM »
Noticed the focus backend is broken on 5D2 since early 2016. In particular, follow focus commands are sent only once per second, at least with 24/2.8 STM.

Anyone else can reproduce on different lenses?

Ilia3101

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #614 on: January 26, 2017, 05:42:20 PM »
I think I can confirm, when holding down arrow the focus goes buzz, nothing, buzz, nothing... until infinity or minimum distance. Lens was a 19-35 Cosina, if that counts as one
5D2

domienz

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #615 on: February 12, 2017, 07:07:04 PM »
hi guys i have several issues,

i got lexar 64gb 800x card, test ruesults say im able to write around 60-65 mb/s

but, even 1600*900 24 fps no sound, i started to have frame loss. below this resolution it will be meaningless, i dont know somehow it crops the sensor right? whatever, raw video also takes huge storage, im not professional videographer,

i just wanted to record with high quality.

1- i made cbr 1,5x with sound : its okay.
2- whatever i make higher than 1.5 with sound, it stops.
3- if i mute sound i am able to capture 3.0x cbr.

is there any advice for me who has 800x lexar 64gb card? i dont have to much time to spend on raw video, just want to record my friends etc, and also i need global screen to see focus pick

what is the best pick_? THANKS

arboldeconfianza

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #616 on: March 20, 2017, 05:17:47 PM »
Hi!, i wanna recording dual iso with my camera, but i cant with last night!, what is the state of DUAL ISO ?...is possible share night link of dualiso old for 5d mark ii?

Ilia3101

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #617 on: March 20, 2017, 07:29:29 PM »
@arboldeconfianza 5D mark ii does have dual iso but only for photo officially. But dual iso for video on 5D2 was made a while ago: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=16854.0 It is not in the main builds cos it was crashy, sometimes when you zoom in to focus or just randomly it locks up and requires a battery pull, but can be used for the odd shot. Maybe it is easy to fix? ;)
5D2

 

courtesy